We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Siena in March”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Siena in March”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Rooms fine with ours (no.44 having great view), breakfast good, friendly service by reception but beds very short narrow and hard. Difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: Great view from no.44 but beds too narrow, hard and short for a decent night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    536
    166
    30
    13
See reviews for
298
505
53
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Very kind and friendly staff, nice spacious and clean rooms right in the heart of the old city. Breakfast was mediocre but all in all a great place to stay...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stijn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel Duomo very much. The hotel staff was VERY helpful and friendly. The rooms were HUGE by European standards. We are a family with one young child and one baby, and we had MORE than enough space, and even an extra bed in our room! The decor is very simple and a little outdated, but everything was very clean. The location within Sienna is ideal. And free Wi-Fi is a definite bonus. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone; especially families with children! The only drawback is that the rooms are NOT soundproof.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VelaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

First the pluses: the location can't be beat -- right in the heart of the medieval city and within a 5 minute walk of the major sights (Campo, Pinacoteca and Duomo). The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was included in the price and was fairly standard Italian fare with good, fresh pastries and a toaster to make your own toast. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a lovely view of the Duomo from our winow.

But there was one big minus: there seemed to be no soundproofing at all between the rooms. We only had one room adjoining us (the other side was a cupboard or similar), but we could hear absolutely everything that happened in their room. When they had the TV on (which they seemed to do from before 9 am to after 11 pm, almost constantly), it was unbearable, even with earplugs in and the fans from the bathroom on as whiet noise. Due to the soundproofing issues, I'm afraid I would not recommend this hotel or stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_duomo_siena, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Customer,
We regret the inconvenience that is uncomfortably occurred. To assure about our attention, we'd love to notify that the chamber where you stayed will be under renovation at the end of the season, with the aim to further improve privacy and tranquility of our guests. I would like to underline however that when signaled, we proceed to find an appropriate solution to the needs of our guest, as usual I do to make their stay pleasant.
Thank you anyway for your opinion, so ask as soon as possible to remedy this small lack.
Greetings from Hotel Duomo
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This 12th century Rennaissance Antique Mansion, the former home of a nobleman, is now a 2 storey restored hotel on a cobbled street in the historical town centre.The rooms as very spacious and fitted with modern furniture. Bathrooms are large, well ventilated, light and bright..
In an end room on the 2nd floor, the room opened with french doors onto a balconey with expansive views of the Cathedral (Duomo) and Siennese hills. Such a romantic atmosphere sitting on the balconey at sunset sipping a red wine! A hearty breakfast is served in room on the the lower level which has exposed brick work and wooden beams. Reception staff were most welcoming and helpful. The free WIFI was not so efficient with some difficulty with connection. This is a conveneint location for walking to all the major places of interest and in close proximity to wonderful retail leather, silk and ceramic outlets. There many interesting eating places around plus small deli's for those gourmet treats.The Hotel Duomo is the perfect site from which to explore Sienna.

Room Tip: I would suggest that all 20 rooms would be quiet in this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I spent 3 night at this very unique hotel. We had a room on the top floor which opened up on to a balcony. For what we paid the value was tremendous...very affordable! Oh yes a terrific view. The owner, Alejandro, was so friendly and appreciative. We made the reservations from the US. Everything was as promised!

Warning: There is a beautiful church nearby which was quite confusing when looking for the hotel. Same name...Duomo! Take a cab! Do not take a rental car to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night while on a business trip to the city. The staff were very friendly and made checking in and out very easy. The breakfast was very good and the service at breakfast was excellent.

The room was good nice big tv (shame no english channels), nice bathroom. comfortable bed, lots of room and two windows (corner room of building. Views from windows included the tower and the cathedral and the Tuscan countryside.

Had a very comfortable stay. Only downside was some noise from adjoining rooms but this is down to loud occupants not anything else.

Would recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Corner room was very good (room 51)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian3Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing