We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good staff, but not really a three star hotel anymore”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good staff, but not really a three star hotel anymore”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I had a good experience from start to finish with the staff at Hotel Duomo. The two or three different front desk employees that I interacted with over the course of my stay were very accommodating, friendly, and welcoming. The lady who worked in the breakfast room was equally pleasant and helpful.

The breakfast service was pretty good from the standpoint of an American staying in an Italian hotel. There was no hot food, but there were plenty of cold options, including cereal, pastries, bread, fruit, yogurt, cold cuts, cheese slices, and several juices (though I do not think there was any plain old orange juice).

The location of the hotel is very good, especially if you plan to see the Duomo or the Piazza del Campo, or shop along the main street.

The front desk gave us a great dinner restaurant recommendation.

Now for some negatives:
They advertise that it is in a 12th-century mansion, and that sounds quaint and charming, but in fact the interior of the hotel does not bespeak 12th century at all. The interior, in fact, is in rather run-down condition. The carpets in the hallways are dirty and worn down. In my bathroom there was black mold on the walls above the shower. The decor of the room was plain and otherwise dated. The water temperature in the shower fluctuated constantly and after a couple of minutes it just went cold.

There were no easily-accessible power outlets in the room. To plug in our devices we had to move the desk, unplug the television, and then take over that plug.

In the end, I felt as if the fairly high rate that we paid was more due to the location than due to the quality of the hotel. I WOULD stay there again -- if I got a much lower rate, commensurate with the quality of the facility.

According to the European star-rating system, this hotel is currently rated at 3 stars. The service was 3+ stars, but the rooms and overall atmosphere were definitely not. I would rate it 2 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanLivingInRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    552
    172
    31
    13
See reviews for
306
521
54
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

First impressions are always very important and Sergio at the front desk makes a great one. He is the ultimate Inn keeper. I mean right out of Central Casting. He acts and certainly looks the part. He is excellent. The room I was in; not so much. It was stark, peeling wall paper and all. That said, it was very clean and the bed was very comfortable The hallways have some bad red carpet that should have been changed 10 years ago. They are scary. The breakfast was middle tiered, as in average. Good value, with the location and Sergio elevating this to a 3 dot. "But should I stay here Steve?" Depending on your budget, I say yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quantumts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Perfect location. This is a 10$ ride from the Siena train station. We took a train from Rome to Chiusi and then got on a bus to Siena. Loved the view from our room. The room over looked a garden and had a view of the Duomo, which was especially beautiful at night. The Breakfast was excellent. The Front desk VERY helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Siena at it's best

Room Tip: Ask for the view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel was wonderful. Beyond the great location, clean room, beautiful views of the Duomo and surrounding hills, the staff were excellent! They were so helpful and accommodating with all of our requests. We arranged a ride with Alessandro to and from the Tuscan countryside, he was very timely both times - what a great service, for people who don't want to rent a car, but still want to get out and explore areas off the beaten path. We would definitely stay here again, when returning to Siena!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This hotel was so nice to stay in. Very quiet and centrally located made for a pleasant stay. The staff was very helpful and nice. They helped with directions to where we wanted to go. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magic2uu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Hotel Duomo is awarded instant acclaim for its wonderful location. Slightly raised above the Piazza del Campo you are awarded a wonderful panorama of the Duomo if you seek out a room on the top floor! The reception and breakfast room have a mythical quality about them due to the way both appear almost chiseled out of the granite - it was akin to enjoying your morning coffee in the bat cave - but in all the right ways! We enjoyed supper on the roof terrace one evening, most recommended. Svetlana was a delight, yet all the staff made us most welcome. Siena is a wonderful city and the Hotel Duomo befits such an elegant place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is another hotel that I'd like to give a 3.5 to - average is too low but very good is too high, considering the cost (148 Euro/night) - I would rate it "good". The location is terrific and the staff was excellent, especially Svetlana. The room was serviceable and clean. We had a terrific view when leaning out the window.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing