We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, with gorgeous views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming, with gorgeous views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I had one night here at the busiest time of summer, and would have no hesitation to return.

The hotel is located within Siena central, and is a bit of a trek if you're walking with luggage. But walking through the cobbled streets of a place like Siena, regardless of luggage, is a pleasure almost any time.

The hotel is small, and the decor a bit tired, but the location is fantastic. Reception staff were consistently friendly, helpful and welcoming. They appreciate if you attempt Italian, but speak very good English.

There is a tiny elevator, and upon arrival at the room we had our doubts because some of the furnishings looked a bit tired. However once we opened the window shutters to the astounding view across the valley, gardens, rooftops and towards the Duomo, all doubts were forgotten.

The room itself was adequately sized, with room for a couple of seats in front of the window to enjoy the view and a bottle of wine. The bathroom and shower rooms, while small, were clean and well supplied. The bed was comfortable and the linen fresh and clean.

From the hotel you can walk to the Campo, and pretty much anywhere else in Siena, very easily. After a stroll, some lunch in a bistro at the Campo (very tourist but also very enjoyable) and more strolling, we bought a bottle of wine and went back to the hotel to enjoy the lovely view from the room. We were provided with two very elegant crystal wine glasses by the Manager, and sat watching the sun sink in late afternoon over the town and the Tuscan countryside. Gorgeous.

As it was a warm night, we left the windows open and the shutters open so we could enjoy the breeze and the sunrise in the morning. As the window was about 30mt above the garden below, it was perfectly safe, and quiet.

The breakfast buffet was very good, and the staff make very good espresso! Check out was at a reasonable time and was very easy.

Overall this was a lovely experience for our first trip to Siena, and very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building, overlooking the garden and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    529
    164
    30
    13
See reviews for
296
499
52
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel was lovely and the guy at the concierge was very helpful in giving us train times - bus times/ arranging tours etc. the room size was perfect, just the bathroom was a bit small. Overall good loaction(uphill if you're walking so make sure you get a cab from the station if you have a very large suitcase!!)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rq22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Hotel is close to most popular locations in Sienna.Service is outstanding,and price is very reasonable.Parking is close and hotel staff parked our car which we could use whenever we wanted.Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didier J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

A huge thank to Sergio who has been so kind and helpful. The hôtel is at 5 min walking distance from il Duomo. Buffet breakfast very good. A great 3 star hotel. No safe in the room but not a big deal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLA81221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Turned up on first day of the Palio really late (9.30pm) with no booking and got great service at a great price. Room etc not exactly 5 star but adequate, right in the heart of the city. The guy was on his own and he parked the car, set us up with an extra bed in the room etc. Hard to get this kind of service in 5 star hotels I have been in.

Don't expect much from the hotel rooms but you can't go wrong really.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Nova de Famalicao, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Ideal location near everything just dont confuse, b&b and hotel because they are different hotels, but both perfect, i booked two rooms one on each... The palio was awesome and we saw the winners lap of victory!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fcastro1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our family of 4 (2 adults, 13 yo and 11 yo) stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed this hotel. Beautiful room with an amazing view of this lovely gem of a city. The best part was a toss up between the location (perfect) and the helpful and friendly staff. Sergio was very welcoming and helped us arrange a guided tour for the next morning. Good recommendations for dinner, tour company and things to do.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for the room with a double bed and two twin beds with windows on 2 sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing