We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“September2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“September2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I spent one night here and found the hotel to be very comfortable - staff were friendly and location is very central. Considering it is so close to Il Campo Piazza, there was no real noise and breakfast was delightful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    537
    166
    30
    13
See reviews for
298
506
53
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nearby from the Duomo and piazza del campo. Hôtel little bit passe but clean. Staff very helpful, breakfast hearty and varied. No parking, you must park your car out of the town or in the costly parking inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micheeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Fantastic stay (5 nights) - location is right around the corner from the Duomo - just a short walk from Il Campo Piazza - keep in mind that all streets go uphill in Siena - Take a taxi - do not attempt to walk from Train or Bus Stations with luggage. Could see The Duomo from our room, wonderful view at sunset.

Beds were hard but the more we walked the steep streets, the softer they became. Internet was awful, worked the first day then quit - Staff were good but could not sort out the WIFI problems. Breakfast was good, standard fare. Found an outstanding place to eat just down the street "Ristorante Pizzeria Quattro Cantoni" - Piazza Postleria, 5 Siena - Good prices, very good food, family run - can be very busy but were always able to get a table - Sea Food Pasta and Veal in Wild Lemon Sauce was delicious. Try the fried fresh mushrooms - and their Tiramisu -

Even with the hard bed - we would probably stay here again - location, friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandMary42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I had one night here at the busiest time of summer, and would have no hesitation to return.

The hotel is located within Siena central, and is a bit of a trek if you're walking with luggage. But walking through the cobbled streets of a place like Siena, regardless of luggage, is a pleasure almost any time.

The hotel is small, and the decor a bit tired, but the location is fantastic. Reception staff were consistently friendly, helpful and welcoming. They appreciate if you attempt Italian, but speak very good English.

There is a tiny elevator, and upon arrival at the room we had our doubts because some of the furnishings looked a bit tired. However once we opened the window shutters to the astounding view across the valley, gardens, rooftops and towards the Duomo, all doubts were forgotten.

The room itself was adequately sized, with room for a couple of seats in front of the window to enjoy the view and a bottle of wine. The bathroom and shower rooms, while small, were clean and well supplied. The bed was comfortable and the linen fresh and clean.

From the hotel you can walk to the Campo, and pretty much anywhere else in Siena, very easily. After a stroll, some lunch in a bistro at the Campo (very tourist but also very enjoyable) and more strolling, we bought a bottle of wine and went back to the hotel to enjoy the lovely view from the room. We were provided with two very elegant crystal wine glasses by the Manager, and sat watching the sun sink in late afternoon over the town and the Tuscan countryside. Gorgeous.

As it was a warm night, we left the windows open and the shutters open so we could enjoy the breeze and the sunrise in the morning. As the window was about 30mt above the garden below, it was perfectly safe, and quiet.

The breakfast buffet was very good, and the staff make very good espresso! Check out was at a reasonable time and was very easy.

Overall this was a lovely experience for our first trip to Siena, and very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building, overlooking the garden and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel was lovely and the guy at the concierge was very helpful in giving us train times - bus times/ arranging tours etc. the room size was perfect, just the bathroom was a bit small. Overall good loaction(uphill if you're walking so make sure you get a cab from the station if you have a very large suitcase!!)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rq22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Hotel is close to most popular locations in Sienna.Service is outstanding,and price is very reasonable.Parking is close and hotel staff parked our car which we could use whenever we wanted.Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didier J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

A huge thank to Sergio who has been so kind and helpful. The hôtel is at 5 min walking distance from il Duomo. Buffet breakfast very good. A great 3 star hotel. No safe in the room but not a big deal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLA81221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,103 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing