We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel in Siena”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was our second visit to Hotel Duomo. The view of the Duomo and over the city is lovely. Its a small clean hotel within the walls so you can walk to anywhere in the city easily. Rooms are a reasonable size and the breakfast is fine. The staff are very helpful and friendly and even got my gloves returned for me when I left them in the taxi!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Duomo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful. We arrived by car and were easily able to find the hotel. It is in a good central location. We had a great view of the Duomo from our window. Breakfast was average.

I recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel was great for us! Good location, nice breakfast everyday. Great views from our room. Rooms are more than adequate for the price we paid. Staff was helpful and friendly. Overall, enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at Hotel Duomo for one night recently. Although the name leads one to imagine that it is situated right next to the Duomo, it's not. My room had an obstructed view of the beautiful church, though. The desk and breakfast staff were kind and very accommodating. The room was not luxuriously furnished, but was acceptable and clean. To be honest, it wasn't much of a step above other less expensive places I've stayed in Siena. Breakfast was served in the basement (a nice setting except with no windows) and was plentiful and tasty.

The hotel is easy to find and is not far from Il Campo. It's about a 15 minute walk from Piazza Gramschi, the main bus station. Apparently, there is parking for automobiles.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

If you’re looking for a fairly inexpensive hotel close to the action, the Hotel Duomo is a step-up from a hostel at only a fraction of the cost more than a hostel private room (less than 60 Euro a night for my off-season, lone traveler stay). The hotel is on the same road as most of Siena’s shops and restaurants bordering the Piazza del Campo, and obviously just minutes away from the Siena Cathedral (Duomo). The lobby is small, but both employees I met at the desk spoke great English and were very friendly. There is not an over-abundance of tourist literature, just some random brochures, or any tour guide sales pitches. There is a desktop computer right in the small lobby, but I did not see a printer and I did not try to use it.

The hotel offers free WiFi which was fast enough to FaceTime home to my kids and easy to connect (you have to ask the front desk for a 24-hour username and password, but it’s included in your stay). There is also a small breakfast of croissants, crackers, yogurt, cereals, jelly, cheese, meats, and fruit. They also offer espresso and coffee drinks.

From the lobby, there is a tiny elevator that takes you to a small sitting area and the second floor rooms (the stairs from the lobby to second floor are for emergency use only). From the second floor, there is another staircase that leads to four third floor rooms and small balcony. I would imagine the small balcony would be a wonderful spot to enjoy a short break from the city on a warmer day, but at 30 and 40-degree Fahrenheit temps, I didn’t find a good reason to sit there. My room was just opposite the balcony, a small single room with a twin bed, small desk, large wardrobe, and a window facing the old city. The bed was firm. The bathroom was modern and clean with a heated towel rack and walk in shower. There was only one spare electric outlet (2 or 3 prong in-line 220v European outlet) at the foot of the bed, but there were two lamps plugged in between the bed and desk (so you can unplug one if you need another outlet).

If I want to be nit-picky, there are only things a few things I can complain about. The walls are pretty thin; there was a child in the room next door and their bathroom was just on the other side of the wall from the bed so I heard plenty of chatter, water running, and slamming doors. The towels had a funny smell to them. And that’s about it. It was 55 Euro a night; I wasn’t expecting the Ritz.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the old city, you should be able to request them in advance and have a great...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel is located on the major shopping street and within easy walking distance of the duomo and city center. Front desk during day was helpful and efficient but the desk man at night was very warm and terrifically chatty. Not a lot of luxury or high-end amenities and there was no rug on my bedroom linoleum floor. You will find a clean and comfortable bed, a huge shower (!) with plenty of hot water, room heat you can control, a large bath sheet and a fresh and tasty breakfast, all at a fair price.

Room Tip: If you want a view do ask for one - 42 opened onto the neighbors' walls but the window provided...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had three great days in Siena in a brilliant location within the old town. Great to be able to leave the car in the capable hands of the staff to park for the three days. More than happy to pay the € 20 per night for the parking. Excellent location and rooms more than adequate. Breakfast fresh and plentiful. We really recommend this hotel to any travellers.

Room Tip: We had a triple room which was all available at the time but great as we had loads of luggage
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerralie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £62 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing