We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Siena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning Siena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The position of Hotel Duomo is simply amazing - close to the Duomo and the Campo, with fabulous views over the surrounding countryside. The atmosphere of the old palazzo is charming and the staff were the most helpful I have ever come across, making our short stay there a delight. Their help with onward rail bookings and recommendations of restaurants serving great local dishes was much appreciated. The breakfast selection could do with a little more variety but still a great hotel in a fabulous city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    529
    164
    30
    13
See reviews for
296
499
52
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is surely the ideal hotel for those who want somewhere really central in Siena: it is literally just around the corner from the Duomo and only a few minutes further to the famous Campo. Originally a twelfth-century building, and rebuilt as a palazzo in the eighteenth, it has twenty rooms – two of which (61 and 62) have balconies with wonderful vistas that take in the nearby Cathedral and Palazzo Publico bell-towers. Reception staff, Toni and Paolo, are unfailingly helpful – with the former going to some trouble to chill our bottle of wine quickly on arrival and present it to us in an ice-bucket on our balcony table. Note too that they provide an efficient service for securely parking and then returning your car when you next want it – a service that removes the potential stress of driving, lost, through the crowded narrow streets of the pedestrianised city-centre. The continental-style breakfast was as good as we have recently had in much more pretentious establishments, and is delightfully looked after by Lucia and Caterina – who remembered our idiosyncratic requirements after only one day and generally enhanced our stay. To pass on a couple of staff recommendations: for dinner, try the traditional Antica Trattoria Papei in Piazza del Mercato (see separate review); and for a restorative trip out after cultural surfeit in the local museums and hill-towns, go to the beautiful ruined Abbey of San Galgano (c. 30 kms. south).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Listergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

the house has a history, built first in medieval, rebuilt on the old basis in renaissance style.
You feel as a guest, the personel of the desk is allways helpfull. The room was confortable, after having a shower you have a bit a wet bath room. Location is perfect, near the highest point of Siena. It is also very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heinzjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent location, probably one of the best in Siena! Unbelievable views from the windows... We were on honey moon and they left us a botlle of wine as a compliment!

The bathroom is a problem that could be fixed in order to improve even more the hotel. Our shower did not have a box to avaoid flooding the room...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the old town of Siena. We found the front desk staff to be very helpful with all aspects of our stay including checking in, recommending restaurants and calling for reservations, storing our bags and calling for taxis on check out. The rooms were old but very clean. The included breakfast was very nice. Overall, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We loved our one night stay at the Hotel Duomo. We stayed in the quadruple room at the top of the tower. What an unbelievable view from the windows! The Duomo and the Tuscan countryside were laid out before us. We never drew the curtains closed. The room was comfortable, with the third and fourth persons each having a private alcove for their single beds. I do wish the room had a safe. Breakfast was adequate, continental style, nothing to write home about. The manager parked our rather large van in the hotel's private parking and the van was ready and waiting for us at the requested time when we checked out. You can't beat the location of this property when visiting Siena. I loved Siena and hope to return soon, and when I come back, I hope to book my room with a view at the Hotel Duomo again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Almagetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Hotel Duomo. We arrived by car without a map of the city and got hopelessly lost trying to find the hotel. After calling the desk twice, the staff person actually came to find us and direct us to the hotel! There didn't seem to be a hotel parking area, but the staff person parked the car for us in a mysterious location. Our room was quite small and functionally furnished, but we had a spectacular view of the Duomo. The room was clean and quiet. Easy walking distance to main attractions. The breakfast buffet was very attractively laid out and the food was of good quality. All the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing