We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my..”
Review of Hotel Antica Torre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Antica Torre
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh my..”
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel in June 2009. My room was at the very top of the tower. It was hard to climb all of those stairs after a day of sights. The room was small, as I expected. What I did not expect was the room's relative uncleanliness. The shower had random hairs in it. I could tell that the shower was probably never cleaned. The foot of the bed had sand in it, which was quite bizarre. Air conditioning was advertised, yet it was turned off and could only be turned on by the front desk. Here is the catch: the desk person leaves at 6:00PM and locks the doors. So, I had no way of turning on the air. Fortunately, I was so high up that mosquitoes were not a problem. The owner was a bit crazy and did not offer to make breakfast on the second day of my stay. Luckily she called a taxi for me to get to the train station. The hotel was out of the way and I got lost and found myself walking to the town wall next to some random hospital. Not a good use of 85 Euros a night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redbaron01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    46
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
17
67
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Friendly and nice owners. Good room service. It's Siena, so it's noisy and hot and full of fume and cigarette smoke even at night. Ok if you want to stay in Siena.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linconnue9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Ok, so it's not the anodyne, safe-bet of a large chain - it's an Italian back street tower which has rooms to sleep in - more of a B&B, sure, and I'd certainly not pay the 'list' price, but we rang up way before our trip, got a great deal, and decided (sensibly) not to buy the breakfast at 7 euros. That said, the rooms were clean, decor was stylish (a pleasant change after the dump we'd been in in Florence) and it was handy for the Campo, while not being over-run by crowds/noise. The owner was pleasant and helpful, though I would agree that the lass who did the day shift was certfiably bonkers, and had clealy trained at the Basil Fawlty College of Customer Satisfaction. We quickly decided she was as mad as a hatter, but as we only needed her to pass us our keys on entry/departure, we didn't let it spoil our stay.

My advice would be to try it, if you fancy something more authentic than a Best Western, and as long as you can broker a good price for yourself!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyMadragora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

My wife and I stayed here on the first night of a walking holiday. It was adequate but hardly exciting as a hotel. Our room was off the first landing, with a quirky small bathroom and a window that opened onto scaffolding in a courtyard. Some sort of building work was in progress. The room was comfortable and did the job but we wouldn't stay there for longer. The lady owner/caretaker evidently smokes and her smoke came up the stairs and under our door; for a smoke-free hotel this was hardly encouraging. Breakfast was minimal, taken in a small basement room. Since it is a torre (tower) the verticality of the hotel is understandable, but it is strictly a bed and breakfast place.

  • Liked — Its position close to the centre of Siena
  • Disliked — The whole hotel is sub-standard, catering to a captive audience who need to stay in Siena
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accidentaltourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

expected a small, friendly and charming hotel but was disappointed. we requested and got the top floor based on other guest recommendation that it had good views. First impression - musty/wierd smell in the room that we could not get rid of even with windows open the entire stay. Scaffolding surrounds the backside of the building at present so no views are available- not a biggy as it will eventually be corrected. Bathroom was exceptionally small (even by euro standards) and required one to slide sideways to reach the shower (if you are an above average sized person - you definitely can NOT operate in this room). Hotel website indicated parking was available but failed to mention it is on-street parking located a quarter mile away and requires you to feed the meeter to the tune of $25/day (assuming you find a spot..). Website indicated internet was avail but front desk informed us it was not for guests - go figure... I think the owners try their best especially at breakfast - but breakfast is served in a window-less basement and close quarters with other guests made for eery quiet breakfasts. Really hard recommend this place - particularly with all the other options available nearby.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hugemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siena hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Definitely "antica", but nothing "torre" about this dump. It's basically a multifloor hotel, no higher or differently shaped than its neighboring building, so the "tower" denotation is just a ploy to pull in unknowing tourists.

We were prepared that this room would be small, but we barely had enough room to put our suitcase on the floor. The bathroom was filthy and the room smelled. We were put one floor up from the lobby and could hear every word downstairs.

Our "view" looked out onto the dark backside of the buildinh next door, which was covered in scaffolding for repair.

The beds were as good as stone slabs.

To top it off, the room was freezing with no way to adjust the temperature. The blankets were about as thick as 2-ply toilet paper.

The free parking is at an affiliated hotel so far away that there is plenty of free street parking in that area anyway.

At 95 euro a night, this was easily the worst value I encountered in Italy (I also stayed in Rome, Florence, Riccione, and Venice).

Antica Torre is a rip-off and a [-] and should be AVOIDED AT ALL COSTS. Places like this give Italian hospitality a bad name.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MJK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

We did not go to this hotel expecting five-star accommodations. After all, it is centrally located in a beautiful medieval city. We did, however, expect a certain level of cleanliness. More important, we expected to deal with staff who were not insane. When asking for simple directions as to where to park, we were greeted with shouts demanding why that was the hotel's problem. (We finally learned that we could park a quarter of a mile away in Antica Torre's sister hotel about a quarter of a mile away outside the city walls.) The woman who ran the desk in the morning was much nicer, but our friends who purchased the breakfast were none too appreciative of the cup of coffee and stale pastry that cost 7 Euros. We did enjoy the moment of bonding we had later in the evening when we met a Scottish couple who were also staying in the hotel and enthusiastically shared stories of the crazy desk staff.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank global07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#26 of 40 in Siena
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#20 of 40 in Siena
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#31 of 40 in Siena
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antica Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Torre

Property: Hotel Antica Torre
Address: Via di Fiera Vecchia | 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antica Torre 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to have a stay in Siena, reflecting the ancient traditions of Tuscany, the Hotel Antica Torre is the right choice. This hotel is in fact an old "tower house" of the 16th century located inside the walls to the south-east of Siena a few minutes walk from the famous Piazza del Campo. Its excellent position permits not only a complete visit to all places of historic interest but also most of the posts of the Sienese countryside such as the famous Chianti region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Antica Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Hotel
Antica Torre Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing