We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Certosa di Maggiano
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It is a beautiful establishment wjth numerous public rooms which don't seem to have focus. There are no lifts and most of the bedrooms seem to be upstairs. Ours was a bit spartan without in room wifi or a useable desk. There is a pool and lawns and a very attractive central courtyard with a well with, well, water. Beds were comfortable and the bathrooms roomy and good. Service is slow but gracious.
The expense is not just the room price, but services. A glass of squeezed orange juice is 10 Euros, most of the wines over 100 Euros and laundry a whopping 16 Euros per shirt for 24 hour service. The cost of cabbing into Siena for a superior meal in an excellent restaurant with better wine was less than half our small in house dinner the first night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, it is always important for us to analyze the opinion of our guests.
You are right , there is no lift.
The reason for this is that the hotel Certosa di Maggiano is located in a Carthusian monastery of the XIV century protected by the fine arts.Exactly for the same reason we don't have yet wifi in the rooms but we hope to be able to solve this problem soon,depending on how quickly technology advances !
I am sorry that you found your room spartan,I didn't understand if the consideration arise from the lack of wifi or because you didn't like the tapestries and the furnitures.
For sure instead of holding a small table very valuable but useless'll put a desk.
Concerning the prices certainly we are not a cheap hotel but I pretend to say that we also offer a high level of service.
You have chosen a bottle of wine for Euro 100 but in the wine list we have more than one bottle at Euro 40,00 - Euro 50,00 or - of course - more.
Just to specify that the bottle that you have chosen is a Curtefranca Chardonnay Ca' del Bosco not a simple white wine.
You say that "The cost ...for a superior meal in an excellent restaurant with better wine was less than half our small in house dinner the first night".
I am very happy for you. Considering that the total cost of your dinner for two persons was Euro 104,00 including an appetizer of red prawns for which the cost the last week was Euro 60,00/Kilo is clear to me that you have absolutely not appreciated the quality of our products.
I look forward to welcoming you again at the Certosa di Maggiano and in the magical city of Siena !
With my best regards,
Anna Claudia Grossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We visited this hotel with my older relatives who are both in their 70's and need assistance with mobility, we had just finished a brief visit to Siena and after dinner in the city wanted to visit this hotel for an evening coffee and to enquire if there was accommodation available at the hotel to suit older people with disabilities for later in our trip to tuscany. The reception we received on entry to this hotel was extremely rude and unwelcoming. We were advised at the door that we could not have coffee and could only visit the hotel for dinner if we were not guests staying there. Im unsure what the hotels motivations are for this policy or if it had anything to do with traveling with disabled family members. I have never been effectively refused entry to a hotel in my life and have stayed at a number of the relais and chateaux establishments across Europe which welcomes disabled travelers. In the end we did not get past the door and told to come back another day, needless to say that day will never come ! I would encourage this hotel to review its policy and adopt a welcoming atmosphere for any person that visits their hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Sebocero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, General Manager at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Madam or Sir,
We are really sorry to read that you had a bad impression of the Hotel Certosa di Maggiano.
With reference to your experience on Monday evening, we would like to point out that it was impossible for us to welcome anybody on that day, since we had a private event at the Hotel.
In this particular case the Guests had reserved the structure for their exclusive use, asking for their privacy to be assured. As you may imagine, we were obliged to refuse any visit at the Hotel, including yours.
What is even more important and you were not certainly aware of, it is the fact that the Hotel is located in an ancient monastery dating back to the XIV century: it means many and important architectonical barriers which can be a problem for disabled people. We do not have, in fact, the actual and objective possibility to welcome people with wheelchair or with walking problems. Anyway, we can exclude that the receptionist on duty could have seen that there were elder or disabled people, because he was busy at that moment with some Guests.
Moreover, it makes a strange impression to read such a review from someone who evidently does not know neither the Hotel, nor has experienced our service.
Finally, the management runs the Hotel adopting the most appropriate policy and this should not be questioned.
We hope to welcome you on another occasion so that you can enjoy the stay and the atmosphere of the Hotel Certosa di Maggiano.

Anna Claudia Grossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I had stayed at the Certosa di Maggiano 25 years ago and loved every minute. After reading a few negative reviews we got a bit apprehensive, but decided to go back anyway, as I think very often your get treated in response to your own attitude. And you cannot always expect to have what you get at home. There is a very old saying:"When in Rome do like the Romans..."
We arrived with our grown up daughter for our 4 nights and were greeted in the most friendly and charming way. We absolutely loved our rooms and the grounds, and felt like we were coming home every afternoon after our excursions to nearby little delightful villages.
Anna and ALL her staff could not have been more helpful and friendly in every way, helping us with maps and directions, always smiling.
We never ate at the hotel - except for the breakfasts outside in the beautiful garden - as we wanted to try little restaurants in Siena where the locals go. I do speak Italian, so reading the menu in Italian was no problem. Instead of trying to talk us into dining at Il Canto, they happily gave us addresses to the most charming little restauants, and we were delighted with our experiences.
We spent 2 weeks in Italy and Certosa di Maggiano was our favourite beyond any doubt. It is such a beautiful and delightful place and we couldn't think of a better place to stay while exploring Siena and the countryside around. Thank you for giving us once again such a wonderful and friendly experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tita51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you !!! I can assure you that is a pleasure for us but please..... do not wait another 25 years to come back and visit us!
With my very best regards
Anna Claudia Grossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We are revisiting with our children after spending time here on our honeymoon many years earlier. The staff are impeccably polite, professional and discrete. The dining is superb and exactly the standard you would expect for a Relais and Chateaux property. We have all been upgraded to suites that are immaculately maintained and we particularly love all of the beautifully furnished common areas of this truly divine establishment. A great change from those big city hotels. The perfect Tuscan family experience for us and our teenage children. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Madame ,
It was a great pleasure for us and particulary for me to welcome you again after sixteen years.
I really hope to have the chanche to welcome you back at the Certosa di Maggiano soon!
Warm regards,
Anna Claudia Grossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My beloved, Cathee N, and I stayed at the Certosa for 3 nights.
Our trip to Paris and Italy, over two weeks, had a highlight, and it was
staying here. The staff was just wonderful, every single person was helpful and kind. Our meal in the small dining room was formal; I was glad I had a suit, the food as simple and exquisite. The hotel's public spaces just seem to go on and on, lovely rooms with surprising and charming ammenities. The gorunds are sumptious and yet somehow very low-key. Because there are only 17 rooms, we were hardly aware of other guests. We were very sad to leave, and look forward to returning. This was a "peak experience" of the hotel type!

Room Tip: Room 7, a small two room suite, has views in two directions, one of the cloisters and the other of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, General Manager at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your review ! We really appreciate taking a bit of time to write us your feelings.
We try to fully satisfy each single guest by making their stay unique and personalized.
We look forward to have the chanche to welcome you back at the Certosa di Maggiano soon!
Warm regards,
Anna Claudia Grossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We chose the Certosa from this site, and admittedly we were a bit apprehensive because of a few reviews. However, after being warmly welcomed by reception, and escorted to our third floor suite all reservations went out the window, literally. One side of our suite looked out over the spacious courtyard and the distant Tuscan countryside, and the opposite side looked out on the neighbouring olive groves, farmers fields and the walled city of Siena, a 15 minute walk away. The suite was beautiful and comfortable.
We dined one evening in the restaurant both of us choosing the tasting menu. The food was fresh and local, simple but expensive. Our second meal was pasta, so good we ordered a second serving, and was served outside by the courtyard.
There are many common rooms and outdoor seating areas as well as the extensive manicured grounds, swimming pool etc. It was easy to find a plush room or an outdoor nook and be left undisturbed, summer breeze flowing, piano music drifting by. Peaceful and exquisite.

Room Tip: We had suite 7, top floor. no need for air conditioning with the cross breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, General Manager at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Madame, Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your review,it was a pleasure for us to welcome special Guest like you !
I really hope to have the opportunity to see you again soon at the Certosa.
With my very best regards
Anna Claudia Grossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is a lovely hotel, with enormous beautiful grounds, pleasant walks in the olive groves with interesting discoveries along the way: the underground cellars, a shrine. The gardens are enchanting, full of flowers and fruit trees, and a different fruit from the garden is left in your room every day.

There was a service being held at the church two rooms away from ours on Sunday morning - they were very courteous and didn't ring the bells until later in the morning. We found it charming.

Our room was small, as you would expect from a monastery, and the bed was small - in fact in was two singles pushed together. The room was put together very well, the cupboards were huge so suitcases could be hidden from view. The bathroom was a fair size but I found having only lace at the windows a little disconcerting at night.

So we loved the hotel, but actually didn't feel free to enjoy it. The atmosphere was so stiff and formal that we felt constrained all the time we were there, which was a shame, because we were hoping for three days of rest and relaxation after a weeklong house party.

We enjoyed the games room, but when we asked to take the backgammon to an outside table we were told it wasn't allowed. Sitting in the lounge on a sunny day was a shame, comfortable though the lounge was.

Our evening restaurant experience was awful. I can only refer you to reviewers Tonybru and Chrisco79, amongst others, rather than repeating the bitter litany of disasters that eating in Il Canto entailed.

The rest of the food wasn't much better. The poolside snacks consisted of two radishes sliced thinly over ice, three small wedges of cheese, some olives and crisps.

Breakfast was very good, although it wouldn't have been if we hadn't supplemented the buffet included in the room price with a la carte. I had superb poached eggs every morning - a sure sign of an excellent kitchen.

What a shame then that they don't go all out and deliver big, beautiful quantities of delicious Italian food as well as the tiny exquisite tastes currently on offer. And a bigger shame that the management and staff don't just relax and allow their visitors to enjoy the beautiful, excellent hotel that they are running. A little relaxation of the reigns would go a very long way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runsandjumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#14 of 40 in Siena
431 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental - Starhotels Collezione
0.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzetto Rosso
Hotel Palazzetto Rosso
#20 of 40 in Siena
50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Certosa di Maggiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Certosa di Maggiano

Address: Strada di Certosa 82/86, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £300 - £1,300,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Certosa di Maggiano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Tuscany, 1 Km from Siena immersed in an uncontaminated countryside you find a XIV century Carthusian monastery, La Certosa di Maggiano turned into a Relais et Chateaux Hotel in 1978. An enchanting place, a light and natural luxury masterfully interpreted by the famous architect and interior designer, Renzo Mongiardino. A clear architecture with interiors rich in history dressed with impalpable silks and ornamental paintings & skillfully integrated within the natural and cultural environment. In line with this life born for silence and prayer, la Certosa di Maggiano offers today a set of services and activities aimed to improve your overall state of physical and spiritual wellness. A state of mind so well interpreted by the restaurant "Il Canto" and its Chef Paolo Lopriore, whose cuisine is another multi-sensorial journey which perfectly match our quest for life style, beauty & nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Certosa di Maggiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Certosa Di Maggiano Hotel Siena
Certosa Di Maggiano Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing