We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Certosa di Maggiano
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2008

On our ninth visit there, we at last found Siena's perfect hotel. First class service, tranquil surroundings, yet within easy reach of the Campo (you can walk it unless it is just too hot), a view of the Palazzo Publico from our bedroom, good food. Real value for the cost of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 73david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2008

This was my second stay at this hotel. I hope to have more. There is something magical about this place that I can't quite describe. The property doesn't strive for the sort of glossy resort perfection so common at today's higher end hotels. Rather, the place has a feel of legitimacy and balance that appear effortless. The service during both of my stays (the earlier was 10 years ago) was perfect. The staff is unobtrusive but available. You can't snap your fingers (It's just not that kind of place.) but someone with a smile and genuine desire to please is nearby. The dinners under the arcade were magical. The food was excellent and the waitstaff cared deeply about our enjoyment of the meal and experience. Yes, there is a formal feel (stiff, if you must), but after some Prosecco and Brunello, life could not be better.
We walked in to Siena everyday, although that might not be for everyone - the side of the road can get very narrow. Still, we found it nice to be free of a car or taxi. The hotel staff made excellent dinner suggestions. Going to Siena? Stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LRswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

I stayed in Siena at the Certosa di Maggiano.
stayng in this hotel was unforgetable experience.
We explore both the city and the hotel, we were surronded by art and history, so our 3 days in Siena vere very special.
Siena is a medieval jiewel and our room was the same.
The food was also fantastic, as were the staff, who were kind and professional. Oru room was spacious and comfortable and we hope to go back to Siena soon and to stay again in Certosa.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Travel0843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed at the Certosa di Maggiano for 2 fabulous nights at the beginning of our honeymoon trip to Tuscany. We are very choosy when it comes to hotels and this one by far exceeded our expectations!

The rooms are stunning and the hotel is exactly what we were looking for; small, beautiful, friendly, convenient, etc. The restaurant “Il Canto” serves some of the most delicious food we have ever tasted. The staff was absolutely wonderful, very warm, friendly and helpful.

The service from the housekeeping staff to the Reception was extremely attentive. We felt like honored guests.
The hotel is also a member of Relais & Chateaux hotels and truly deserves it.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, regardless of how fussy they are, it is perfect. I can't wait to stay at the Certosa again!

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank AMJChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2008

Last September I planned a trip to Tuscany and I was recommended by a Greek Travel Agency to stay at Certosa di Maggiano. What an excellent choice it was!!!. The hotel was really remarkable situated 10 minutes by foot outside Siena. The hotel used to be a monastery and the view over the hills towards Sienna was breathtaking. We took our breakfast in the garden each morning enjoying a very friendly service. Our room was also a very nice surprise since it was wonderfully decorated, with a large bathroom. The view from our room across old buildings and vineyards was also remarkable. Finally I have to mention the lovely restaurant "Il canto" which has 1 star Michelin excellent!!!! It is a must. Definitely must revisit the place.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AthensKea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

We stayed at the Certosa di Maggiano last September - we heard about it through friends in California. They were right - this was our favorite part of our trip to Italy. The dinner at the restaurant, Il Canto, was to die for - we now recommend it to all of our Tuscany-loving friends.

The hotel itself is beautiful - Siena is great because it is not overun with tourists, and when you stay at the Certosa, you get high end service that is hard to find in a lot of the tourist-trap hotels in Rome/Venice. This was a perfect stop if you want to experience true Italy with all of its pleasures, in a low key setting with all of the bells and whistles.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank khapka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

During my travel in Italy, I had taken rest and restore in the Certosa di Maggiano in Siena. So I discovered a charming and historical building and... I had eaten a tasty dinner at michelin starred Restaurant "Il Canto" .
what beautiful days! I wan't forget it!

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Tripbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#15 of 40 in Siena
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental - Starhotels Collezione
0.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzetto Rosso
Hotel Palazzetto Rosso
#20 of 40 in Siena
50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Certosa di Maggiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Certosa di Maggiano

Address: Strada di Certosa 82/86, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £300 - £1,300,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Certosa di Maggiano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Tuscany, 1 Km from Siena immersed in an uncontaminated countryside you find a XIV century Carthusian monastery, La Certosa di Maggiano turned into a Relais et Chateaux Hotel in 1978. An enchanting place, a light and natural luxury masterfully interpreted by the famous architect and interior designer, Renzo Mongiardino. A clear architecture with interiors rich in history dressed with impalpable silks and ornamental paintings & skillfully integrated within the natural and cultural environment. In line with this life born for silence and prayer, la Certosa di Maggiano offers today a set of services and activities aimed to improve your overall state of physical and spiritual wellness. A state of mind so well interpreted by the restaurant "Il Canto" and its Chef Paolo Lopriore, whose cuisine is another multi-sensorial journey which perfectly match our quest for life style, beauty & nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Certosa di Maggiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Certosa Di Maggiano Hotel Siena
Certosa Di Maggiano Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing