We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Certosa di Maggiano
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just spent the last 4 days at the extraordinary hotel of Certosa di Maggiano which was both charming and delightful. Our bedroom was large and breezy and there are many rooms downstairs which are beautifully furnished in the style of an old country home. In addition there is a chapel adjoining the hotel which is actively used every Sunday by the parish and again is wonderfully decorated which just adds to the whole mystique of the establishment. All of the staff were absolutely brilliant....nothing was too much trouble and everyone from the front desk, Benjamin and Irene (who were so helpful and attentive ) to the restaurant and general staff made us feel very special.I can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dears,
many thanks for your kind review.
My personal thanks for the words about the customer service, a positive note that put in evidence the daily efforts and training organized indoor with only one target: give the best and excellent service for a magic holiday away from home, having the impression to be at home.

I look forward to welcoming you again at the Certosa di Maggiano and in the magical city of Siena !
With my best regards,
Anna Claudia Grossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    20
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
15
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Quite an extraordinary place to stay! The breakfast was the best one i had ever, all fresh fruit produced i the monastery, the bread, the butter, .... , top quality, and the vue from the breakfast patio , beautiful. This was in 2011.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedroparracho7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, General Manager at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review , I hope to see you soon again at the Certosa di Maggiano !
My very best regards
Anna Claudia Grossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
272 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Certosa di Maggiano is set in an old monastery on a hillside about a 20 minute walk from the historic old town of Siena (or a seven minute cab ride). The rooms are on the small side for a luxury hotel (formerly part of the Relais e Chateau group) and decorated in a traditional Italian style, with a decent-sized and well equipped bathroom. The hotel's public rooms are marvellous: spacious with high ceilings, thick walls and beautiful furnishings. Contrary to some reports, we found the staff to be quite welcoming and professional. Note that the hotel is closed during the winter and only reopens toward the end of March.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your words. We are delighted you really enjoyed your stay at the Certosa.
Your words are the best prize for our job !
We cannot wait to welcome here again, with a small simple advise which will make you stay even more special: during the warmer season we serve the breakfast on the garden.
A small heaven with a patio over Tuscany!!!!
With my very best regards
Anna Claudia Grossi
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
373 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It is a beautiful establishment wjth numerous public rooms which don't seem to have focus. There are no lifts and most of the bedrooms seem to be upstairs. Ours was a bit spartan without in room wifi or a useable desk. There is a pool and lawns and a very attractive central courtyard with a well with, well, water. Beds were comfortable and the bathrooms roomy and good. Service is slow but gracious.
The expense is not just the room price, but services. A glass of squeezed orange juice is 10 Euros, most of the wines over 100 Euros and laundry a whopping 16 Euros per shirt for 24 hour service. The cost of cabbing into Siena for a superior meal in an excellent restaurant with better wine was less than half our small in house dinner the first night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, it is always important for us to analyze the opinion of our guests.
You are right , there is no lift.
The reason for this is that the hotel Certosa di Maggiano is located in a Carthusian monastery of the XIV century protected by the fine arts.Exactly for the same reason we don't have yet wifi in the rooms but we hope to be able to solve this problem soon,depending on how quickly technology advances !
I am sorry that you found your room spartan,I didn't understand if the consideration arise from the lack of wifi or because you didn't like the tapestries and the furnitures.
For sure instead of holding a small table very valuable but useless'll put a desk.
Concerning the prices certainly we are not a cheap hotel but I pretend to say that we also offer a high level of service.
You have chosen a bottle of wine for Euro 100 but in the wine list we have more than one bottle at Euro 40,00 - Euro 50,00 or - of course - more.
Just to specify that the bottle that you have chosen is a Curtefranca Chardonnay Ca' del Bosco not a simple white wine.
You say that "The cost ...for a superior meal in an excellent restaurant with better wine was less than half our small in house dinner the first night".
I am very happy for you. Considering that the total cost of your dinner for two persons was Euro 104,00 including an appetizer of red prawns for which the cost the last week was Euro 60,00/Kilo is clear to me that you have absolutely not appreciated the quality of our products.
I look forward to welcoming you again at the Certosa di Maggiano and in the magical city of Siena !
With my best regards,
Anna Claudia Grossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We visited this hotel with my older relatives who are both in their 70's and need assistance with mobility, we had just finished a brief visit to Siena and after dinner in the city wanted to visit this hotel for an evening coffee and to enquire if there was accommodation available at the hotel to suit older people with disabilities for later in our trip to tuscany. The reception we received on entry to this hotel was extremely rude and unwelcoming. We were advised at the door that we could not have coffee and could only visit the hotel for dinner if we were not guests staying there. Im unsure what the hotels motivations are for this policy or if it had anything to do with traveling with disabled family members. I have never been effectively refused entry to a hotel in my life and have stayed at a number of the relais and chateaux establishments across Europe which welcomes disabled travelers. In the end we did not get past the door and told to come back another day, needless to say that day will never come ! I would encourage this hotel to review its policy and adopt a welcoming atmosphere for any person that visits their hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Sebocero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, General Manager at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Madam or Sir,
We are really sorry to read that you had a bad impression of the Hotel Certosa di Maggiano.
With reference to your experience on Monday evening, we would like to point out that it was impossible for us to welcome anybody on that day, since we had a private event at the Hotel.
In this particular case the Guests had reserved the structure for their exclusive use, asking for their privacy to be assured. As you may imagine, we were obliged to refuse any visit at the Hotel, including yours.
What is even more important and you were not certainly aware of, it is the fact that the Hotel is located in an ancient monastery dating back to the XIV century: it means many and important architectonical barriers which can be a problem for disabled people. We do not have, in fact, the actual and objective possibility to welcome people with wheelchair or with walking problems. Anyway, we can exclude that the receptionist on duty could have seen that there were elder or disabled people, because he was busy at that moment with some Guests.
Moreover, it makes a strange impression to read such a review from someone who evidently does not know neither the Hotel, nor has experienced our service.
Finally, the management runs the Hotel adopting the most appropriate policy and this should not be questioned.
We hope to welcome you on another occasion so that you can enjoy the stay and the atmosphere of the Hotel Certosa di Maggiano.

Anna Claudia Grossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I had stayed at the Certosa di Maggiano 25 years ago and loved every minute. After reading a few negative reviews we got a bit apprehensive, but decided to go back anyway, as I think very often your get treated in response to your own attitude. And you cannot always expect to have what you get at home. There is a very old saying:"When in Rome do like the Romans..."
We arrived with our grown up daughter for our 4 nights and were greeted in the most friendly and charming way. We absolutely loved our rooms and the grounds, and felt like we were coming home every afternoon after our excursions to nearby little delightful villages.
Anna and ALL her staff could not have been more helpful and friendly in every way, helping us with maps and directions, always smiling.
We never ate at the hotel - except for the breakfasts outside in the beautiful garden - as we wanted to try little restaurants in Siena where the locals go. I do speak Italian, so reading the menu in Italian was no problem. Instead of trying to talk us into dining at Il Canto, they happily gave us addresses to the most charming little restauants, and we were delighted with our experiences.
We spent 2 weeks in Italy and Certosa di Maggiano was our favourite beyond any doubt. It is such a beautiful and delightful place and we couldn't think of a better place to stay while exploring Siena and the countryside around. Thank you for giving us once again such a wonderful and friendly experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tita51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you !!! I can assure you that is a pleasure for us but please..... do not wait another 25 years to come back and visit us!
With my very best regards
Anna Claudia Grossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We are revisiting with our children after spending time here on our honeymoon many years earlier. The staff are impeccably polite, professional and discrete. The dining is superb and exactly the standard you would expect for a Relais and Chateaux property. We have all been upgraded to suites that are immaculately maintained and we particularly love all of the beautifully furnished common areas of this truly divine establishment. A great change from those big city hotels. The perfect Tuscan family experience for us and our teenage children. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACG187902, Owner at Hotel Certosa di Maggiano, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Madame ,
It was a great pleasure for us and particulary for me to welcome you again after sixteen years.
I really hope to have the chanche to welcome you back at the Certosa di Maggiano soon!
Warm regards,
Anna Claudia Grossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.9 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#12 of 40 in Siena
397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#8 of 40 in Siena
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,051 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzetto Rosso
Hotel Palazzetto Rosso
#22 of 40 in Siena
38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Certosa di Maggiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Certosa di Maggiano

Property: Hotel Certosa di Maggiano
Address: Strada di Certosa 82/86, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Certosa di Maggiano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Tuscany, 1 Km from Siena immersed in an uncontaminated countryside you find a XIV century Carthusian monastery, La Certosa di Maggiano turned into a Relais et Chateaux Hotel in 1978. An enchanting place, a light and natural luxury masterfully interpreted by the famous architect and interior designer, Renzo Mongiardino. A clear architecture with interiors rich in history dressed with impalpable silks and ornamental paintings & skillfully integrated within the natural and cultural environment. In line with this life born for silence and prayer, la Certosa di Maggiano offers today a set of services and activities aimed to improve your overall state of physical and spiritual wellness. A state of mind so well interpreted by the restaurant "Il Canto" and its Chef Paolo Lopriore, whose cuisine is another multi-sensorial journey which perfectly match our quest for life style, beauty & nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Certosa di Maggiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Certosa Di Maggiano Hotel Siena
Certosa Di Maggiano Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing