We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
334
391
150
38
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
391
150
38
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt the bus small balcony san domenico st catherine an amazing view hotel entrance piazza gramsci single room convenient location top floor fantastic location common room included breakfast minute walk cakes superior room
Filter
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2011

If all you're looking for is a place to park your carcass each night in Siena, you can't go wrong with Hotel Alma Domus. It's a good, basic hotel, clean and safe. The staff are polite and helpful, and the location is relatively convenient to Siena's historic centre, though certainly not in the heart of it.

However, if you're looking for those extra touches that make a stay memorable, you won't find them here. The hotel is owned by the church and it shows; the rooms reminded me of monk's cells in some respects. The bathrooms have those showers that are only enclosed by a curtain rather than a complete separate stall--so you can expect to get the entire floor of the bathroom wet when you shower. The views are okay, but not breath-taking.

In other words, this is definitely a step up from a hostel, but a step down from most other hotels (though not, I grant, in terms of cleanliness or safety). Whether you enjoy your stay depends on what you want from a hotel; if it's just the basics, you'll be perfectly satisfied; if it's something more, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed at Hotel Alma Domus in April of this year. The rooms were very clean, decently sized, with their own bathrooms. The hotel was quiet and clean, tucked away beside a large church. The staff was incredbibly helpful and welcoming. Curfew is 1, which was wonderful as we managed to get lost our first night in Siena. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others. The price, location, and comfort of the rooms can't be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank asoh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

It is a simple hotel. Clean, comfortable and quiet when it counts. We pushed the singles together and towards the balcony window so we could easily enjoy the view of the Duomo from bed. The view we had of the Duomo and Siena was a gift each day that we savored and took WAY TOO MANY pictures of. Breakfast was a nice selection of pasteries, breads, yougurts and cheese and nutella. Juices and fruits and the coffee which I found to be very good. The woman who served breakfast and cleaned our rooms was warm, friendly and smiled a welcome to us each day. The front desk offered great suggestions for dining, both of which we took and enjoyed. Shower is on the smaller side for a tall or broad person but doable. I liked the closet with shelves which made it easy to keep things neat and in order. I'd definitely recommend room 25 or any along that side on the 3rd floor. Best view in and of Siena.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Great location near Church of St Dominic (Chiesa San Domenico) but a little hidden. Ask someone if you get lost- we walked right past without noticing it. If driving into Siena you have to park outside the walls of the city so pack lightly. You may have to drag your luggage a distance up and down hills.
Beautiful views, great price, good breakfast and service. Clean rooms with comfy beds.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okitsme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Get a room with a balcony for a breathtaking view of Siena (the duomo and battistero) across a valley to the next hill. The swallows dart about in the morning and evening, and it's lovely. It is well-located for arrival by bus (5 minutes walk) and for all city sites, with lots of good eateries nearby. The only drawback is incredibly thin walls. Our neighbours chatted with each other til 2:15 in the morning and we heard to every word til we bought good earplugs. Still, the historic origin of the site and the fabulous view pretty much make up for the noise. Bring earplugs and you'll be right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view/balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews