We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This was a Rick steves recommended and I was really happy with the place. It was clean and cute. The rooms are a little noisy from the hall and other guests and the showers were a little small but the room was big for an Italy hotel and it was good. If you book early enough request a room on the 3rd or 4th floor with a view. It's on the side of a hill and they have a great view with baconies if you can get a room on that side. The other side just looks on a stone wall. They advertise that they have wifi, and they do, but you hAve to pay for it (e1 = 1/2 hour or e5=3 hours when I was there.). I thought that was a little missleading. We would go again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erinhepner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

Hotel was in a great location and very affordable. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was the best on the trip. The room was good sized. Only problem was the shower was tight and didn't drain very well, but overall I was happy. A/C and nice view.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dehonig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

If all you're looking for is a place to park your carcass each night in Siena, you can't go wrong with Hotel Alma Domus. It's a good, basic hotel, clean and safe. The staff are polite and helpful, and the location is relatively convenient to Siena's historic centre, though certainly not in the heart of it.

However, if you're looking for those extra touches that make a stay memorable, you won't find them here. The hotel is owned by the church and it shows; the rooms reminded me of monk's cells in some respects. The bathrooms have those showers that are only enclosed by a curtain rather than a complete separate stall--so you can expect to get the entire floor of the bathroom wet when you shower. The views are okay, but not breath-taking.

In other words, this is definitely a step up from a hostel, but a step down from most other hotels (though not, I grant, in terms of cleanliness or safety). Whether you enjoy your stay depends on what you want from a hotel; if it's just the basics, you'll be perfectly satisfied; if it's something more, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed at Hotel Alma Domus in April of this year. The rooms were very clean, decently sized, with their own bathrooms. The hotel was quiet and clean, tucked away beside a large church. The staff was incredbibly helpful and welcoming. Curfew is 1, which was wonderful as we managed to get lost our first night in Siena. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others. The price, location, and comfort of the rooms can't be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank asoh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

It is a simple hotel. Clean, comfortable and quiet when it counts. We pushed the singles together and towards the balcony window so we could easily enjoy the view of the Duomo from bed. The view we had of the Duomo and Siena was a gift each day that we savored and took WAY TOO MANY pictures of. Breakfast was a nice selection of pasteries, breads, yougurts and cheese and nutella. Juices and fruits and the coffee which I found to be very good. The woman who served breakfast and cleaned our rooms was warm, friendly and smiled a welcome to us each day. The front desk offered great suggestions for dining, both of which we took and enjoyed. Shower is on the smaller side for a tall or broad person but doable. I liked the closet with shelves which made it easy to keep things neat and in order. I'd definitely recommend room 25 or any along that side on the 3rd floor. Best view in and of Siena.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Great location near Church of St Dominic (Chiesa San Domenico) but a little hidden. Ask someone if you get lost- we walked right past without noticing it. If driving into Siena you have to park outside the walls of the city so pack lightly. You may have to drag your luggage a distance up and down hills.
Beautiful views, great price, good breakfast and service. Clean rooms with comfy beds.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okitsme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Get a room with a balcony for a breathtaking view of Siena (the duomo and battistero) across a valley to the next hill. The swallows dart about in the morning and evening, and it's lovely. It is well-located for arrival by bus (5 minutes walk) and for all city sites, with lots of good eateries nearby. The only drawback is incredibly thin walls. Our neighbours chatted with each other til 2:15 in the morning and we heard to every word til we bought good earplugs. Still, the historic origin of the site and the fabulous view pretty much make up for the noise. Bring earplugs and you'll be right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#12 of 40 in Siena
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £48 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing