We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Athena(Siena)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chiusarelli(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Siena(Siena)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Caterina(Siena)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garden(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Italia(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveller rating
323
384
147
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
384
147
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer conventyogurtthe bussmall balconysan domenicost catherinean amazing viewhotel entrancepiazza gramscisingle roomtop floorconvenient locationfantastic locationcommon roomincluded breakfastminute walkcakes
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 915 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Siena is an absolutely charming place and the hotel Alma Domas only added to the charm. The location can't be beat and when we opened the window from our 3rd floor room, the view took our breath away. The rooms were clean and simply furnished which allowed us to concentrate on each other and the place we were in. The restaurant at the top of the steps had a great evening view of the Domas all lit up. The food here was delicious and reasonably priced. Speaking of food, you can't go wrong with the breakfast served at the hotel. Croissants hot from the oven were main stay! Can't say enough about the friendly staff. One of our favorite things was hearing the bells from the church tower in the morning, the most beautiful alarm clock, ever!

Room Tip: Book early to get a good view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bontempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Hotel Alma Domus is in the heart of Siena. Easy access to transportation and free parking is a short 10 minute walk away. The hotel was a former retreat. We had made reservations, but hadn't confirmed, so we were lucky to get a room with single beds and big windows overlooking two of the cities major cathedrals over the rooftops. Breakfast was super and staff pleasant. Room very clean with large bathroom and shower. One afternoon we enjoyed a lightning storm from the safety and comfort of our room...as did a dove who took refuge in the window's overhang. Wi-fi not free, but nominal. Price was right and we'd return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NomadYuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Our 21-day Italian adventure continues and we find ourselves in Siena at Hotel Alma Domus for our 34th wedding anniversary. It was a short walk from the bus station to the hotel. After walking down a brick paved lane, we arrived at the front gate of the hotel. Once inside the enclosed courtyard, we recognized this cool and inviting space as the ideal spot to have a cold drink while catching up on some postcard writing. The hotel desk staff was courteous and quickly got us checked in and oriented to the property. Besides the lovely courtyard, there was a very nice indoor common area. Here you can sit and read, use their computer for a small fee, and enjoy some art displayed in the room. As for the room itself, well, as our headline reads..."Another very nice room with a fabulous view!" The room was simple, the bathroom clean, and it met our needs just fine. But the view of the city from the small balcony was amazing by day and dazzling by night! Breakfast is served in a separate lovely and airy dining room and consisted of plenty of fresh and tasty breads, yogurt, cereals, and other traditional goodies. All the coffee and juice you need is there as well. The breakfast was substantial enough to get you going for the day. Hotel Alma Domus proved to be an excellent choice for our two day stay in Siena. We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit this great town. Tim and Susan - Arizona

Room Tip: Ask for the best view room available.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimBob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here in April 2010, not July. Just late in getting the review in. Of all the places we booked for our Italy trip of 3 1/2 weeks, this is the one place that concerned me the most. I knew it was a very basic place but thought the location and price would make up for it. It may not be for everyone, but over all, we enjoyed it.
The only thing that we were disappointed in was the balcony. We love to sit out on the balcony after a long day and unwind. They are so narrow, that this was impossible..
There are a lot of "rules" posted about the room, but they are reasonable. Just gives you the impression of a strict environment. But it was more amusing than anything.
For breakfast, they seat you with other guests. Can't sit by yourself. This actually worked out very well, as it forced us to interact with the other guests and we meet some awesome people.
Had to leave your room key with the front desk if you left the hotel. Bathroom was odd with the shower in the middle of it, but this is a very old building, so we just worked with it. No wireless internet, but a computer was available if you need to be connected.
We had no problem with any of this, but certainly different than staying at a regular hotel.

In the end, this all kind of added to the charm. I had a hard time rating it, because one should not compare a place like this with the Ritz.
The pluses are the location and the view from your room. It's overall charm as well. There are a number of good restaurants in the area, and a pleasant walk to the Campo.

My wife smokes and I like to enjoy a cigar, and we were able to do this on the charming patio, and spent a fair amount of time there.
The staff may seem not overly friendly, but were actually quite fine and accommodating. If you're not looking for luxury and are adventurous, this may be the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzyKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This was a Rick steves recommended and I was really happy with the place. It was clean and cute. The rooms are a little noisy from the hall and other guests and the showers were a little small but the room was big for an Italy hotel and it was good. If you book early enough request a room on the 3rd or 4th floor with a view. It's on the side of a hill and they have a great view with baconies if you can get a room on that side. The other side just looks on a stone wall. They advertise that they have wifi, and they do, but you hAve to pay for it (e1 = 1/2 hour or e5=3 hours when I was there.). I thought that was a little missleading. We would go again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erinhepner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews