We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during the first week of July right after the Palio (horse race). The hotel was wonderful! We came in by bus and it is a very short walk from the bus station. Directions from the bus station - Head toward San Domenico Church, go down past the church to the left then down the stairs on the right in front of some restaurants. We had a double room with a view on the 3rd floor (room 29). The view is beautiful!!! The room had a small balcony where we were able to put 2 chairs on it and have a bottle of wine bought from a nearby shop. Definitely ask for a room with a view on the 3rd or 4th floor. The room was a good size and had a small closet, desk and 2 nightstands. The bathroom was clean and had a small shower. I've noticed from pictures that many rooms don't have a separate shower, just a curtain over the floor, but ours was separate stall and had shower doors so there weren't any problems with water on the floor. The staff here was very friendly and called a taxi for us when we needed to get to the train station.
Breakfast is fantastic! They have juice, coffee, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, danish, and croissants hot out of the oven. They also will make cappuccinos if you ask. Both ladies working breakfast were nice and there was plenty of seating. Most importantly, they have packets of nutella!!!! There are 2 computers available for guest use and internet access is very cheap. I think it cost 1 euro for 30 minutes. You have to go to the front desk to get a password and they add the cost to your final bill.
The Alma Domus is in a great location. There are restaurants right up the steps and you can easily walk to the Duomo and Il Campo. While we were in Siena, we took a wine class at the Tuscan Wine School near the Duomo. It was very informative and fun!
The Alma Domus is a great value. It would be silly to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the 3rd or 4th floor.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamaicagirlnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alma Domus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed in a quad room. Nothing fancy, but just fine, and very clean. Our room was facing il Duomo, and it is a spectacular view- amazing to wake up to. I know not all rooms gave this view, so try to get one that does.

Staff is very friendly and helpful, and this place is very secure-
always someone at the
Location is great- just down the road from the bus station, and taxi drivers know where this hotel is.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmaass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We had a nice stay in this quiet hotel adjacent to a convent. There are wonderful views to the heart of historic Siena. Our room was clean and comfortable, and it is easy to walk to Piazza del Campo and the cathedral. The buffet breakfast was quite large, and there are a lot of options.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelb0y2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Siena is an absolutely charming place and the hotel Alma Domas only added to the charm. The location can't be beat and when we opened the window from our 3rd floor room, the view took our breath away. The rooms were clean and simply furnished which allowed us to concentrate on each other and the place we were in. The restaurant at the top of the steps had a great evening view of the Domas all lit up. The food here was delicious and reasonably priced. Speaking of food, you can't go wrong with the breakfast served at the hotel. Croissants hot from the oven were main stay! Can't say enough about the friendly staff. One of our favorite things was hearing the bells from the church tower in the morning, the most beautiful alarm clock, ever!

Room Tip: Book early to get a good view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bontempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Hotel Alma Domus is in the heart of Siena. Easy access to transportation and free parking is a short 10 minute walk away. The hotel was a former retreat. We had made reservations, but hadn't confirmed, so we were lucky to get a room with single beds and big windows overlooking two of the cities major cathedrals over the rooftops. Breakfast was super and staff pleasant. Room very clean with large bathroom and shower. One afternoon we enjoyed a lightning storm from the safety and comfort of our room...as did a dove who took refuge in the window's overhang. Wi-fi not free, but nominal. Price was right and we'd return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NomadYuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Our 21-day Italian adventure continues and we find ourselves in Siena at Hotel Alma Domus for our 34th wedding anniversary. It was a short walk from the bus station to the hotel. After walking down a brick paved lane, we arrived at the front gate of the hotel. Once inside the enclosed courtyard, we recognized this cool and inviting space as the ideal spot to have a cold drink while catching up on some postcard writing. The hotel desk staff was courteous and quickly got us checked in and oriented to the property. Besides the lovely courtyard, there was a very nice indoor common area. Here you can sit and read, use their computer for a small fee, and enjoy some art displayed in the room. As for the room itself, well, as our headline reads..."Another very nice room with a fabulous view!" The room was simple, the bathroom clean, and it met our needs just fine. But the view of the city from the small balcony was amazing by day and dazzling by night! Breakfast is served in a separate lovely and airy dining room and consisted of plenty of fresh and tasty breads, yogurt, cereals, and other traditional goodies. All the coffee and juice you need is there as well. The breakfast was substantial enough to get you going for the day. Hotel Alma Domus proved to be an excellent choice for our two day stay in Siena. We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit this great town. Tim and Susan - Arizona

Room Tip: Ask for the best view room available.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimBob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here in April 2010, not July. Just late in getting the review in. Of all the places we booked for our Italy trip of 3 1/2 weeks, this is the one place that concerned me the most. I knew it was a very basic place but thought the location and price would make up for it. It may not be for everyone, but over all, we enjoyed it.
The only thing that we were disappointed in was the balcony. We love to sit out on the balcony after a long day and unwind. They are so narrow, that this was impossible..
There are a lot of "rules" posted about the room, but they are reasonable. Just gives you the impression of a strict environment. But it was more amusing than anything.
For breakfast, they seat you with other guests. Can't sit by yourself. This actually worked out very well, as it forced us to interact with the other guests and we meet some awesome people.
Had to leave your room key with the front desk if you left the hotel. Bathroom was odd with the shower in the middle of it, but this is a very old building, so we just worked with it. No wireless internet, but a computer was available if you need to be connected.
We had no problem with any of this, but certainly different than staying at a regular hotel.

In the end, this all kind of added to the charm. I had a hard time rating it, because one should not compare a place like this with the Ritz.
The pluses are the location and the view from your room. It's overall charm as well. There are a number of good restaurants in the area, and a pleasant walk to the Campo.

My wife smokes and I like to enjoy a cigar, and we were able to do this on the charming patio, and spent a fair amount of time there.
The staff may seem not overly friendly, but were actually quite fine and accommodating. If you're not looking for luxury and are adventurous, this may be the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzyKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#12 of 40 in Siena
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £44 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing