We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Views, and Value!”
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was a wonderful little hotel. It's within a 5 minute walk to major sites and great restaurants. We stayed in room 8 which incorporated fantastic views. I would definitely upgrade to the rooms with a balcony. I say balcony, it's not much bigger than a Juliet balcony but still worth the upgrade. We slept with the window open to enjoy the fresh air, but do beware of road noise etc. it is a city after all. The breakfast was slim at best but something we got used to traveling through Italy. They provided coffee, to-go croissants, fruit and cereal. I'm rating this hotel a 5 stars because of the convenience, value, and the incredible views of the city. It was absolutely fantastic. Another perk was free wifi. We did have to go up go up to the front to get another login code but that was a big deal at all. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Get the upgraded room with balcony that faces the duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent two nights here during Easter week. We were in room #10 which had a balcony and the most spectacular view of Siena's Cathedral and Torre del Mangia. Not all rooms have a view so be sure to ask for a "view room" when booking. The location seems out of the way but once we oriented ourselves to the city it was actually closer to everything than we initially thought. The rooms are efficient, clean and no nonsense. Breakfast was a rather uninspired so we opted out day two and picked up breakfast at a great coffee house called Torrefazione Fiorella. Price, location, comfort, cleanliness all made this a great selection. By far, this is the best one star hotel I've ever experienced!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Although we visited Siena during Easter (it's pretty crowded everywhere), we were surprised to find a really quiet place, yet in the center of the city.
The view was amazing, the room spacious, clean and modern, the stuff really friendly, and the breakfast, oh boy, there were so many different delicious homemade cakes, that it was so difficult to decide!
The only negative remark is the single dose packets of gel shower, it was difficult to open. And the plastic plates and glasses during breakfast, really not for the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laumiere19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

beautiful rooms with a wonderful view, the lower price rooms were not good so there are significant differences between the rooms, the room was very spacey and the shower was fine, but they could be more generous with the supplies in the shower, not everyone brings everything, secondly, the wi fi was not very easy to connect. they give you a password that available for only 12 hours, take a while to connect, the breakfast was enough But the use of plastic containers was very disturbed. i do recommend the place after all mainly because of location and view

Room Tip: the simpler rooms has no view. no feeling of air and space shower very small , so not worthy of taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taltal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the fourth floor rooms with a balcony view of old Siena. The room was spotlessly clean, each morning there is a great breakfast, and there is wifi and TV.

The front desk is staffed 24 hrs, and they were very helpful in how to get around as well as the best way to continue to our next destination. In our case one most helpful suggestion was: we were going to Venice by rail, the recommendation was to take bus to Florance, and pick up the train there. The benefits of this approach were twofold. Much shorter walk to bus than train in Siena, and shorter travel time because the bus goes non stop after last pickup in Siena, vrs local train with many stops to Florance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConradConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The renovated Alma Domus is truly a very pleasant surprise after numerous visits during the last... 40 years. Our room was very clean, large enough for a 3-nights' stay, a modern spotless bathroom and had a wonderful view over "Siena's red roofs", the Torre della Mangia and the Duomo. Excellent location next to San Domenico. Free Internet, requiring a daily visit to the reception desk for a new access code. Very efficient, courteous employees.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasanjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This simple hotel - built into S. Catherine's sanctuary - is conveniently located, features picture-postcard views of Siena, and is simple and spotless. Good breakfast buffet; five minute walk to the main sites. And the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms face the city, but ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yog-Sothoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#12 of 40 in Siena
1,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £48 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing