We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for mone and good quality food”
Review of La Veranda

La Veranda
Ranked #74 of 530 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$23
Cuisines: European, Italian, Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
nendaz
1 review
“Excellent value for mone and good quality food”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We ended up in a hotel in the middle of nowhere but luckily found this excellent restaurant. The food was good quality, interesting and most importantly cheap in this expensive part of europe. Every night - total 7 nights, we were greated with a smile and interest in what we had done during the day. The restaurant is loved by the locals and we could understand why. The magic number for two people if you drink the local wine and eat a pizza is 20 euro. You could not eat in the uk for this price. We moved on to Florence and had a shock at the prices. Once again thank you to the staff for their friendliness and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    227
    72
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, New York
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

La Veranda was fine for what it is...a pizza restaurant and I don't think it claims to be anything other than this. We first sat on the actual veranda but it was far too hot and the bird poop spattered window was unappealing. We moved to the spare indoors which was fine but had no charm or ambiance.
We shared an adequate pizza and then had pasta with cingale and the pici. Decent but not great.With wine,beer and a shared tartuffo the bill was 29 euros.
We wished nonnanna's was open! A superb meal for the same money.
La Veranda left us with nothing to complain about but nothing to extol either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAD10977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Little ambiance but great food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Food and house wine excellent and good value for money. Very popular with locals but does lack ambiance unless you include the blaring TV on the veranda!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trickydicky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and value.”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Imagine you are on honeymoon and your new wife breaks her leg and is admitted to hospital. You find a restaurant near your hotel and like the atmosphere and that there are other solo diners, couples and groups. The first night you go for the Tuscan mixed starters which include stewed kidneys on toast, delicious meats and cheese and follow it with a delicious risotto. The next night pizza and a beer costs virtually nothing and the third night, when you really need cheering up, you have the best restaurant steak you have ever had with steamed spinach and a carafe of the house red.

I am so pleased to have stumbled upon the Veranda and I expect to have a couple more excellent meals here before I fly home with my poor wife who has been cared for at the Siena Iniversity Hospital.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desmo_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our experience at La Veranda”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

During a recent visit to Italy we dined at La Veranda on three occasions. On each visit we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful as well as efficient and professional. On each occasion the food was excellent and value for money. We dined both inside and out on the veranda and found the atmosphere and ambiance to be fantastic. All the diners were Italian ranging from families, couples and large groups of young people that all added to the friendly atmosphere. The outside veranda can get very busy in the evenings on certain nights and we recommend reserving a table in this area and we found the view very romantic. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone and will certainly be visiting it again ourselves. A real hidden gem in our opinion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Veranda also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing