We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star but price/quality is OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo dei Priori
Ranked #38 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
146 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not 4 star but price/quality is OK”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel is located outside the city of Siena, along the highway which has heavy traffic all day long. So don't count on staying a relaxing environment with Tuscan landscape when you open your window...
On the positive side, who arrives by car has ample parking space. Of course when you want to go into town you will need to use your car, hoping that you will find a place to park in the city.
The hotel's amenities are worthy of a 3-star rating, but you really wonder where that fourth star came from. Rooms are fairly standard, nothing special, and not particularly spacious, with a pretty basic bathroom. Breakfast is nothing special either.
On the other hand, prices are significantly lower that in the centre of Siena, so you get what you pay for I guess. Just don't expect it to be a 4-star hotel.

Room Tip: Try to secure one of the few rooms NOT facing the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyKingBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    104
    155
    100
    83
See reviews for
40
246
16
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

A best Western hotel out of town, helpful staff, found a fabulous Italian restaurant nearby, drove, but could have walked, nice buffet breakfast 10 min drive back to Sienna. Excellent value with plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Number7Kiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in September of 2011, the hotel is in a great location as long as you want to take a cab everywhere you go, as parking is very difficult in Siena. I found the hotel staff to be unprepared for any type of foreign visitors, they spoke very little English and didn't bother to try to communicate. They might have had a complimentary breakfast, however, the hot items (eggs & bacon) were cold everyday. I felt the hotel was way overpriced for the small dingy rooms. The group all agreed that this was the one hotel, on our stay, that we would never stay at again. Sorry!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siena hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
DXB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is just outside the exit of Siena-Ovest. Very easy to find.
We just spent one night at the hotel. The welcome from the stuff was execeptional. Very nice and friendly.
They immediately make us notice that there was a free buffet with fresh fruit, cakes, and drinks available all day!
Private parking is available (open).
In the room there is Minibar, TV LCD (just italian channels). All was clean. Very silent at night.
The double room was two beds attached to each other, so not so comfortable to sleep in the middle.
Breakfast (7-10) was included. Nice selection of typical continental breakfast also with fresh fruit available (which is always a plus!)
Next to the hotel there are even few restaurants, tried one and the food was good.
From the hotel you can reach the city of Siena in 2 minutes by car going to via Fontebranda, which is just below the city! There around there is even free parking available.

Room Tip: We were facing the highway and it was just earable at night. Maybe the other side of the hotel was e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simply_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed only 1 night.
Nice and clean rooms and helpfull staff.
Coffe, juice and pastries were avaiable for free.
Recomended for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crigolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
339 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed for one night at the Palazzo Dei Priori where the standards are good as we have found with most Best Western Hotels. The staff were accommodating and friendly. The rooms were spacious, quite and comfortable. There was no hostess tray in the room or bath which we have found in other BW hotels. However there were beverages and cake available early evening just at the side of the reception. The location is very near to Siena and just off the freeway, so was great for a quick get away in the morning. Good location if touring by car.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MORREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We have spent one night at this hotel and were sorry not to be able to stay longer. We rented 2 rooms to accomodate family of 4 and both rooms were comfortable, clean, nicely decorated. Bathrooms were spotless and relatively spacious. Everything (like plumbing, hot water, AC) were in perfect working order. Same applies to common areas. Breakfast was plentyful and delicious, fresh fruit, pastries, hot stuff, something for everyone. The dining room again was pretty, spotless and bright, with crisp white linens. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
We were travelling around Italy for 2 weeks, staying at different places and we can only say that this place is above and beyond. I am truly surprised that other reviewers did find some faults, but based on our experience, I highly recommend it and will use again when visiting Siena.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJZ154984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#26 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#14 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#9 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo dei Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo dei Priori

Property: Hotel Palazzo dei Priori
Address: Via Montalbuccio Selvarelle SNC, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo dei Priori 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Palazzo dei Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Siena
Best Western Siena
Siena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing