We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at Il Castagno!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Il Castagno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Il Castagno
Ranked #11 of 118 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Il Castagno!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

On a recent trip to Italy, my wife and I were happy to escape the crowds of Rome and enjoy the Tuscan countryside. When we arrived at Il Castagno, we knew we had picked the right place. It was just like the beautiful photos on the website. We stayed in the Leonardo room which was perfect for our needs, spacious, nicely appointed with modern bathroom and a great view out the windows. We ate in the restaurant and had a fantastic meal complete with Il Castagno 2011 Chianti Classico which was delicious. The breakfasts were excellent as well with everything you could want. Ana was a great hostess and made us feel at home. Next time we're in Tuscany we hope to stay here again!

Room Tip: Photos on the website of the Leonardo room are accurate - spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
94
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at this beautiful villa in late April and found it had everything we wanted.

The setting is stunning! I took daily walks on the property. It has it's own vineyard with delicious wines, an olive orchard, a gorgeous pool and beautiful suites. We ate outside overlooking the vineyards and a herd of horses for breakfast, lunch and afternoon drinks. The food was outstanding including the "chef surprises".

To add to the fun, my daughter and I took a cooking class. They accommodated just the 2 of us at our convenience. The Chefs, Francesco and Sammy, were so much fun, all the while enjoying an aperol spritz. Also Anna was extremely friendly and helpful in handling all my reservation questions and providing wonderful itineraries to enjoy the area.

We couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zanColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asse, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Il Castagno is a fantastic place in the middle of the Chianti vineyards and the scenic countryside of Tuscany. Siena is nearby as wel as the access to the main roads leading to Florence, Perugia and Montepulciano and Montalcino. Proprietor Ginevra and hostess Ana guarantee you a warm welcome and in the restaurant an experienced maitre d'hotel is taking care of you. The rooms are very beautifuly decorated. For those who want to spend a good time with family and friends near the swimming pool and/or for those who prefer to discover the surrounding wine regions, Castagno is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stay at this place for three nights and really loved the place, the rooms and the hostility. Staying at this place is one of the most relaxing and beautiful short-trip I could think of. The surrounding is just beautiful with all the vineyards and the view really is amazing. I am sure, you will love this place - especially going there as a couple.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wave0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was at the resort 2 times already, and that is more than sure, that I will be coming back there several times. Perfect location, views, great homemade food and unforgetable atmosphere!!
Hope to be back vey very soon!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AnnaMaster777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was our first time in Italy and Siena and it stole our heart. The entire experience was one of the best we have ever had and we have traveled the world. Starting with the incredible view, to the dedicated staff and beautiful accomodations it just doesn't get any better. We plan on returning and staying even longer. It is simply the best.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room and sleeping with the windows wide open is just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Sandy, TX
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was our first trip to Italy and we could not have selected a better place to stay. We stayed in many different types of accommodations during our trip, but this was by far our favorite! Located conveniently close to Siena, the 360 degree views surrounding Il Castagno are fabulous.

Our room was beautiful, with more space than we could have imagined anywhere in Italy, tastefully decorated and cozy, along with an oversized bathroom.

The staff were all extremely welcoming and made us feel at home. Ana, Francesco and Sami all made our time spent at Il Castagno amazing. There are many restaurants in Siena and the surrounding area that probably serve great food, but the food at Il Castagno was so good, we found that, after a day trip spent touring in Tuscany, we just wanted to return "home", to drink wine and enjoy a top-notch, relaxing meal.

We did not want to leave when our four night visit came to an end. We plan to return to Tuscany some day, and we will definitely stay at Il Castagno!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
5.1 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
4.0 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#3 of 118 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.7 mi away
Castello delle Quattro Torra
2.9 mi away
La Selva Agriturismo
La Selva Agriturismo
#16 of 84 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Castagno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Castagno

Property: Agriturismo Il Castagno
Address: Strada Provinciale Per Vagliagli 102, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hill in the Chianti region, an idyllic place surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, a step away from the mythical city of Siena ...Comprising 11 rooms, all decorated with beautiful fabrics, furniture and valuable paintings but nonetheless lack the modern amenities: flat screen televisions, wi-fi, air conditioning, central heating, mini bar, hair dryer, bath or shower .Each room is equipped with an independent alarm system.Breakfast is served in an annexe.Every morning you wait for fresh bread, croissants, jams, honey produced on our land, meats, cheeses, eggs, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, fruit juices ...In addition, it offers an à la carte to satisfy the most discerning palates.The view of the pool is priceless.Thanks to its position a light breeze will ease the summer heat and for those who like to relax in the water pool has a Jacuzzi.Agriturismo Il Castagno is an excellent starting point for discovering all Tuscany.The Chiantigiana crossing the region of Chianti Classico is just steps away.The highway that links Florence to Siena is just 2 km as well as the Siena-Bettolle that takes you on a moment in the Crete Senesi, Montalcino, Pienza or in Umbria, ...For your peace of mind the property is under video surveillance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing