We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our trip to Italy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montechiaro Estates & Wine Experience
Ranked #32 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Reviewed 2 July 2012

On our drive from Florence through Tuscany, we stopped at the Montechiaro vineyard for a wine tour and tasting. I highly recommend it! Alessandro Griccioli was a wonderful host and is very knowledgeable about the production and marketing of wine. The Griccioli family has lived on the property for years and were able to tell stories of the history of Tuscany and the change in their lifestyle over the years. This wine tour was the quintessential Tuscan experience and is a must if you travel to the Sienna area!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just got back from a great family holiday at La Capannina. A really beautiful spot in the hills around Siena, and the Griccioli family were extremely welcoming, friendly and did all they could to make sure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Only regret is that we were a little too early in the season for the swimming pool. Next time! We particularly enjoyed playing tennis in the cool of the evening with stunning views of Siena in the distance. Fabulous.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank anna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed in La Capannina - lovely converted barn with pool - breakfast everyday on the terrace overlooking the farm. We were looked after well by the Griccioli family - we were shown round the garden of the main house with lovely views towards Siena. Alessandro and Pietro were very helpful. The wine we bought from the estate was excellent and we ordered more for delivery to our home in England - already delivered! Plenty still to see in the surrounding countryside when we go back.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed in La Capana for a week in July 2011. We were a family of eleven plus one friend. My Italian is not good enough to answer the individual questions but we found everything to our taste. The house itself, the facilites, the garden first class. The view to Sienna was unrivalled, particularly in the evening and at night. The swimming pool was much larger than those of any other villas that we have rented in the past and was sufficiently far away from the house so that the smaller children could shout and scream (as children do) without being a nuisance to anyone.

While being isolated the house was within easy distance of Sienna and one of our party walked in to town and back (for exercise) every morning before breakfast ( a longish walk and only for the fit.

We were there in a heatwave but with the fans provided it was cool enough to sleep.

The visit to the winery on the estate was a bonus. we orderee two cases and are still drinkiing them. The extar virgin olive oil is probably the best hat we have ever tasted.

The only negative were the mosquitoes but next time we shall be armed with anti-mos from the start. All twelve of us voted that it was one of the best holidays that we have had and would like to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Solomon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

In May 2011 I spent a magical week in one of the MonteChiaro Vacation Villas. I was greeted by the Griccioli brothers - Alesssandro and Pietro -- big smiles -- a bottle of wine -- a Villa on the hillside overlooking the MonteChiaro Vineyards and Olive Groves -- and a view of Siena in the foreground! Their sensitivity to my "first dream trip" to Italy elicited many ideas of ways to spend my holiday! Their family history from the 1300's was fascinating -- family crest - family estate - castle nearby!! -- Their grandfather who brought mastercard to the Bank of Italy -- real estate holdings/knowledge -- were a fascinating back drop to help me understand the "business community" in Italy! As a technology professional -- I was quite imipressed with the sophistication of their global technical "connection" which enhances their "community and brings the world to their doorsteps" - interesting visitors from near and far -- to enhance my over-all experience. I look forward to returning to the MonteChiaro Villas again -- and "reconnecting" with the Griccioli family -- who EXCEL in hospitality "customized" to their guests needs!!~
Thank you Alesssandro and Pietro
Bonnie Manter - New York City, New York

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bonnie0090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Alessandro is an immaculate host and his family's vineyard is just devine....
We were fortunate enough to have Alessandro show us around the Montechiaro Estate on our visit (his knowledge on wine-making amazing) and both the Adults and children (my daughetr celebrated her 7th birthday here and was given large princess keys to the estate and made to feel very special indeed) in our party were fascinated with not only the wine making facilities, but also the lovely grounds where they grow their own vegetables.
A lovely lunch at the Estate was organised and well catered for with local wines and food in abundance. I highly recommend this experience to anyone visiting the Siena region, this is a "true Italy experience".. Ciao.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank JoannaFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank lieke11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
3.5 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#18 of 40 in Siena
439 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
4.6 mi away
Residence Le Meridiane
Residence Le Meridiane
#14 of 94 in Siena
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Borgo Villa Certano
Borgo Villa Certano
#1 of 3 in Costalpino
34 reviews
6.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Poggiarello
4.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montechiaro Estates & Wine Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montechiaro Estates & Wine Experience

Address: Strada di Montechiaro 3, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Price Range: £54 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montechiaro Estate is located 10 km from Siena. It lies on 160 Ha of land, 10 of which are vineyards surrounded by 2000 olive trees. On the edge of a small 17th century village centered around the Griccioli family Villa, all the farmhouses have been lovingly restored in a simple, authentic style. These houses were renovated and furnished with special care to preserve the wooden beamed ceilings and tiled floors. The views are outstanding, particularly of Siena in the distance and of the Chianti rolling hills with vineyards and olive groves.Guests enjoy use of their own private pool in the garden, while tennis, horse riding and mountain bike hire are available nearby. Home-produced organic wine and olive oil can be purchased from the Cantinetta di Monteriggioni in the Monteriggioni Castle and at the main Montechiaro estate, were Alessandro, wine producer and sommelier, will let you experience his "Montechiaro wine experience", sharing his wine and passions in a unforgettable winery tour and tasting. Available also for external clients who want to discover organic Chianti wines, extra-virgin Tuscan olive oil and other genuine local produces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Montechiaro Estates & Wine Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing