We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 8 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Il Palio
Ranked #40 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Staff was kind & friendly. Location is second to none. If you are looking for an affordable and pleasant place to stay in central Siena, this is it! I would definitely return and I recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloPalio, Direttore at Piccolo Hotel Il Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Gary,
thank you for this advisor.
It was a pleasure for us to have a guest like you!
Best regards,
Staff Piccolo hotel il palio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a school trip, and the location is excellent- very central in Siena and within walking distance of the main sites. The bedroom was clean, even if the furniture was simple and quite dated. The major let-down was the bathroom. It was tiny, and the toilet was literally in the shower, with a useless bidet taking up valuable space. There was no fan or ventilation so all moisture stayed in the room, probably the cause of the mould on the ceiling and walls. I never dared touch the shower head and my room-mate found a slug that had crawled up through the loose drain whilst she showered.
Breakfast is not great, especially if you do not like Nutella, as that was most of what was on offer, but in this price range it is probably to be expected.
In short, great location, and renovation and cleaning to the bathrooms, and possibly new furniture, would fix the main problems

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lexie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel many times, and I haven't one single complaint about the staff. The rooms might not be the best, but this can always be improved upon. Good service cannot be improved upon, as it is worthy of a five star hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank unimperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloPalio, Direttore at Piccolo Hotel Il Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Dear Guest,
thank you!! It' s a pleasure to work for guests like you.

Best regards,
Piccolo Hotel il Palio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was a nice location to stay in Sienna. Very convenient to bus and short walk to all you would see in Sienna. The price was great, the breakfast typical for Italy. I would have rated higher except that the street noise was a bit load. The other reviews would have stated this as well. If you are one who does not need to go to bed early, this will not be an issue. The street noise does go away during middle of the night. If you are going to be out of the hotel and viewing the city most of the day, this is a good hotel for you. If you are planning on relaxing in a hotel room then I do not suggest this location.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank CheckNBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We've just come back from 3 nights in Siena, this hotel was just the job for a short stay. It is a budget hotel, has a very traditional feel. Yes! It needs a refurb, everything is very dated and used but our room was spotless, bedding and towels were spotless too. The only bad thing I have to say is we were at the front of the hotel and the everyday noise from outside was horrendous, if you stay here ask for the back of the hotel.
There's a fridge and a hair dryer in the room, we also had a fan.
The location is excellent - especially if you are going to the il Palio

Room Tip: Ask for the back rooms - away from the noisy road outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Did not pre-view this hotel, it was bundled in with a select travel package. My first impressions were how quaint, until I walked into our room and almost vomited from the smell. The shower was covered in mold. The lack of upkeep is its downfall because of it great location to the city center and the charm of the structure itself.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloPalio, Guest Relations Manager at Piccolo Hotel Il Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Sir,

we apologize for your complain. The hotel was under maintenance and now all the problems are solved. If only you asked for a change of the room to the reception-desk any time, they wuold changed immediately the room.

Looking forward to your next stay to give you our best room.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I was a guest of this property for just two days during a business trip and really had a comfortable stay. Staring with location of the building to the bed in my room, everything was of my choice. Property is very clean and artistically decorated. Rooms are designed according to the need of travelers. Washroom was big and functional. Food was different, but I liked it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
873 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ai Tufi Hotel
Ai Tufi Hotel
#32 of 40 in Siena
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
#35 of 40 in Siena
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#37 of 40 in Siena
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Il Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Il Palio

Address: Piazza del Sale 18, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: £67 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Hotel Il Palio 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in former Convento de Tre Mori dating from the 1400s; set in the historic centre of town near the Piazza del Campo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Il Palio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing