We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 5 stars accompanied by poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not 5 stars accompanied by poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

After touring Tuscany twice in the last year I can truly say this is not a 5 star hotel in Tuscany. Before I checked into Siena I was saying at the Savoy in Florence which was a true 5 star experience. The room was sup-par and the service was horrible. Not worth the money we sent.

Relatively this hotel may be the best in Siena, but that just shows this town lacks luxury accommodations. You cam tour Siena in half a day, I would recommend staying in the country and only going to Siena to sightsee or eat.

Room Tip: Say somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europetraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guests

We do apologize for not been able to offer you the kind of service you expected.
I am not sure what kind of accommodation you occupied but this cannot in any case justify you disappointment on your stay with us.
We hope to be able to show you the standard and quality of our property and service if you will chose to stay with us again in the future.

Yours Sincerely

G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    154
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
92
349
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

This was hands down our FAVORITE hotel in Italy. With a perfect location right in the heart of this spectacular medieval town, it was like staying in a renovated cottage! The concierge here was by far our favorite. He scheduled everything for us, all transfers, allowed us to go on a private tour of the incredible wine cellar beneath the hotel, and recommended the most AMAZING restaurants. You must go to the Tullio ai Tre Cristi, a popular spot for the locals, as well as the Divo – you can even ask to sit in one of the caves! If you have some time, wander over to Il Campo – Italy’s most wonderful square in my opinion. My husband and I sat out at a Birreria or Pizzeria right on the square until close to 3am just people-watching. It’s fabulous!

If we ever come back to Italy, which we’re planning on it, we will for sure make another trip to Italy, and there’s nowhere else we’d rather stay than at the Grand Hotel Continental.

Room Tip: Ask if they have offer complimentary upgrades. Regardless, you WON'T be disappointed by the spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethbwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guests

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Grand Hotel Continental and we are delighted you enjoyed the city in its full capacity of art and culture. All the Staff and myself we thank you for your comments And we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My family and I toured through Italy in rainy April. We spent two nights at this hotel. It is supposedly a five star hotel, but it is not. It is old and has charm, but it is not in a class with the other old, grand hotels in Europe. For one, our room was overlooking the street, and there was noise all night long. It felt like there were people in our rooms making the noise. The staff was also not as helpful as I would have hoped. We wanted to drive around the Chianti area and go wine tasting. The front desk/concierge gave us directions, but never bothered to tell us that since it was April and raining, that none of the wineries would be open and that we were wasting an entire afternoon. We had also driven to the hotel. We had asked them if the address would work in the GPS, and they told us it would, (it didn't), then they gave us another location to put in that also didn't work. We wasted an inordinate amount of time driving around every time we had to get back to the hotel. The rooms are small, and we paid the same rate to stay at the St. Regis in Rome, which was so much nicer. I am told it is the nicest hotel in Siena. Too bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guests
I thank you for your comments and I shall investigate the matter of the closed wineries with the Front Desk agents on duty that day.
I am very sorry that you were not able to enjoy and appreciate our property. I do agree with you that The Grand Hotel Continental is not as luxurious as the St Regis in Rome, but it is difficult to compare two property of different architectural styles. The St Regis dates back from 1800, our property from 1600.
Our Palace is a classified building of the Mannerism Baroque period which went through a major renovation, which lasted 9 years, and was reopen on Mai 2002.
Each floor has a different decoration which reflect the noble palace it was in the 17th and 18th century.
You requested connecting rooms and we did not have much of a choice as the number of connecting rooms is limited and we only have 51 rooms and suites. We would have like to upgrade you to one of our “fresos” deluxe rooms or Junior suite but that was not possible due to your request.
I do agree with you that, sometimes, rooms at the front can be a little noisy. We are planning to replace the windows with thicker sound proof glass, however the noise problem coming from the street is a fairly new problem as to less than a year ago we had no complains!! It’s difficult to be responsible for the behavior of people walking the streets!
Driving into in historical city center where traffic is almost absent, may not be an easy task if you don’t take the right road first time round. We always send driving instructions, whenever we can, to the guest driving into town. Following the instructions is a must to be able to reach the hotel without any hustle.
Once again please accept our deepest apologies and we would be delighted to welcome you back to prove our commitment to make our Guest’s stays enjoyable and a memorable in Siena.

Yours Sincerely
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed there 3 nights in March and had a great time! The hotel is located in the historic part of Siena, about 5-10 minutes walk from Piazza del Campo. Historic Siena is pedestrian only unless you are a resident or city services.

The hotel is a converted palazzo on one of the main pedestrian roads to Piazza del Campo. Upon arrival our driver had to park in the piazza just across the pedestrian road from the hotel to unload us. The hotel porter handled our luggage. Hotel check in was efficient and good.

Our room was a standard classic double on the top floor tucked in the garret. It had its own private balcony snuggled in the rooftop. We did not use it as it was cold and there was no view. It was a nice hotel room: clean, comfortable and of decent size. The bathroom was large and clean with a separate bath and shower. For some reason, something in the room caused my allergies to kick in. I am quite sensitive to dust and I noticed that the walls of the room were padded for insulation. Perhaps that is it. Wifi is an extra charge.

The breakfast included in our stay was excellent! A wonderful selection of Italian prosciutto and salami, great Italian cheeses and bread. Great yogurt and I think there were hot dishes too though I did not try that. Of course, the Itallian espresso was awesome.

The location of the hotel is hard to beat. It is so convenient to be able to get out of the hotel and have beautiful Siena at your doorstep. We walked to Piazza del Campo every day. We explored the area for dinner spots. A short walk away, the Duomo di Siena is the most charismatic duomo I've ever visited. Next time I come, I would love to attend the Palio.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EngYew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest

I thank you for taking the time to write your positive and detailed comment on your stay with us.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the city , the hotel and your room and it was unfortunate you did not make use of your balcony. As you mentioned there is not much of a view of the city from out there but the balcony overlooks Palazzo Spannocchieschi, actual head office of the Monte Paschi BanK. The building, dating back from 1600, has dozens of faces of Roman Emperors sculptured under room which is right opposite the balcony!!!
We would be delighted to welcome you back to Siena at nay time and if you do decide to attend the Palio, make sure you do your reservation well in advance.
Warmest regards

G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barga, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Continental for only one night at the end of March 2012. As everyone has said the hotel's architecture is lovely and the position is most certainly superb. We ate in the hotel restaurant. The staff were fabulous and the food really good. We would most certainly eat there again. The restaurant is a little reminiscent of a hotel lobby and not as atmospheric as some of the other areas of the hotel, which is a pity. The room and bathroom were fairly ordinary - although the bath robes and toiletries were of an hotel of this calibre. We did have a very special price for the night, courtesy of a group booking. Even so, I would have to agree with other reviewers of this hotel that the noise from the street below is inexcusable. The double glazing is not adequate for the revellers that roam the street below the hotel at all hours of the night. We have stayed in many LHW hotels around the world and no matter how professional the staff, great the position and fabulous the restaurant food, the Grand Hotel Continental, for us, will not be in the same category until the noise problem is recognised and resolved with better insulation, ensuring a good night’s sleep. Such a shame.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlieps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Guests
We thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We thank you for the compliments dedicated to the staff and the quality of food. We are sorry you did not enjoy the atmosphere of our lounge restaurant in the former court yard of the Palace, which most Guests find a fascinating mixture of middle age architecture and modern design. As you mentioned we also have other rooms in the Hotel, a little bit more traditional, and we shall take in consideration offering an option of location for dinner.
As for the noise, and as we mentioned in other answers, we do one side of the hotel which is quitter then the other. The double glassing is up to standard, unfortunately the noise, from time to time, cannot be controlled. We are however considering the replacement of the glass windows which will be done fairly soon. We have already contacted the local Authorities and the Tourist office at the Town Hall so then more Police Patrols can run the city center streets , especially during weekends, to control and limit disturb the our Guest.
Be assured that we are doing our utmost to solve the problem.
Yours Sincerely
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Located in the heart of Old Town, the hotel is a converted 14th century building. They have done a beautiful job of "modernizing" the building while maintaining the integrity of the beautiful architecture. My room was beautiful with painted ceilings in Italian motif Location is central so you can walk to many sights. Staff was very helpful. While it is a bit pricey, I thought it was a worthwhile splurge. The rooms could do with a bit more reading lights.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauaidudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest
We thank you very much for your kind words of appraisal, on the Grand Hotel Continental, and we are very happy to have made your stay comfortable and most enjoyable.
We look forward to having you back in a near future and we thank you in advance for anyone that you may decide to refer to our property.

Warmest regards

G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a suite- room was beautiful but bathroom tired and dated-not good for this standard of hotel. It was very noisy position though on first floor-people talking loudly in street till all hours

Room Tip: Don't choose a room over the street! Very noisy at night and early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FitForLifeAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for your comments to which we always give our best attention and help us to keep up our very high standard of service and try to improve it, when possible.
I am not sure which suite you had on the first floor. Bathrooms are all in Carrara marble and arranged in the best possible way to fit into rooms that, 400 years ago, when the building was built did not have bathrooms.
Some bathrooms are indeed smaller than others and in some cases a few do not have a window.
We do apologize and regret that the bathroom factor did now leave you the best memories of our property.
As for the noise, we do have a very central location, partially free of traffic but some time with the noise of people running the streets. For quieter rooms the top floor would be much better as rooms and terraces are built into the roof of the building and you have beautiful views of the roofs of the city and the country side.
If you wish to give us more details on your identity we shall make sure that your personal file is updated with all relevant information so that, next time you choose to stay with us, you will be allocated the most appropriate room.

Yours Sincerely
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Property: Grand Hotel Continental
Address: Localita Banchi di Sopra 85, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#8 Family Hotel in Siena
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Continental, a Sienese palace steeped in history, is part of Starhotels Collezione, Starhotels exceptional luxury hotel group. Grand Hotel Continental, the old town's only 5* hotel, has a privileged position a moment's stroll down cobbled medieval lanes to Siena's most important attractions, including the famous Piazza del Campo and the Romanesque-Gothic cathedral. Every one of our rooms and suites is a masterpiece, honed over centuries, designed for the tastes of the 17th century aristocracy and refined to meet the demands of the discerning modern traveller. From our beautiful classic rooms to the magnificence of our Royal Suite, our accommodation is unashamedly opulent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Continental Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing