We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regal, gracious, warm and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Regal, gracious, warm and friendly”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This outstanding hotel in a PERFECT location is an ideal spot to stay in Siena. The building itself is historic and quite grand, but with many sleek, modern amenities. The staff was warm and very helpful. Room was not huge, but high ceiling and very comfortable. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guests
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and compliments.
Our goal is to have all our Guest as happy, about their stay with us, as you are.
Hope to have you back real soon.

Warmest regards
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    165
    54
    24
    12
See reviews for
100
374
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We had visited Siena before on a day trip and this was our first stay in Siena. The layout and appearance of the Grand Continental Hotel was very impressive but we found our room to be quite blandly decorated, a bit dark and a bit on the small side considering that it was a Executive Double. Having said that it was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The breakfast was good but we didn't have any other meals in the hotel as they didn't really cater for vegetarians. Whilst the hotel staff were very efficient we didn't feel that they were as friendly and welcoming as some of the other hotels that we stayed in on this trip. We would stay at this hotel again when return to Siena as it is an amazing place. The location of the hotel is a few minutes walk from the Campo!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We take all comments very seriously, trying to improve constantly our level of service.
Please accept my apologies if your room was a bit too small and dark. I do not know if you shared this comment, on arrival with the front desk, we do have rooms on higher floors with great views both in Classic and Executive categories. Our staff always tries to give a second choice of rooms, if available, and whenever made aware of it.
As for the choice of vegetarian dishes, it is very true that we do not offer them on our menu but, on request, our Chef is very happy to prepare special regional dishes based on vegetables and pasta.
I am glad that in spite of these negative considerations above your opinion, on the property and Sienna as a destination, has remain positive and we do hope to have you back in town in a very near future.
Warmest regards
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Staying in the Grand Hotel Continental Siena is a marvellous experience. The location is fantastic, just a few moments from the Campo which makes participation in the Palio totally effortless. The building itself is beautiful, a happy blend of medieval and modern with lots of cool space to relax. Our room had the most amazing view: indeed on some days it was quite difficult to go out, we just wanted to gaze at the view! However what I will remember most is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We were quite demanding of help during our stay and each request was responded to so delightfully we felt as though we were family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a “positive” review on the property and on the level of service. It’s always very rewarding for all my team and myself, to receive kind words of appreciation from our Guests.
We strive every day to extend the best possible level of service and knowing that we achieved our goal is an extra bonus of professional satisfaction.!!

Warmest regards
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Continental after being in Rome, Orvieto, and Porto San Stephano. This quaint city was made even better by the hospitality of the staff at this hotel. All the staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in us having a good time.

The accomodations were very nice and felt so historical. We loved the bells tolling and the district parades through the streets. Our only gripe (if you can call it that, is that you get a better room cleaning if you tip the housemaids a sufficient amount. That's the only reason I did not give it 5 stars. We will return on our next trip to Sienna.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room away from the maids station at the ends of the halls. They are not quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and kind words of appreciation on our property and level of service.
It has never happen before that I had negative comments on the Maid service and on a “forced” incentive to obtain a better service. I will enquire and make sure that if you received that impression, it will NEVER happen again.
Warmest regards
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

SaporDivino Restaurant at Grand Hotel Continental is a truly wonderful dining experience
with an interesting menu. All food was well presented and executed. A complimentary
h'ordeurve was given. The dining room is classy and comfortable but casual at the same time.
Highly recommend. Did not stay here but everything looked wonderful and is in a great
position.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and kind words of appreciation on our property and level of service.
It has never happen before that I had negative comments on the Maid service and on a “forced” incentive to obtain a better service. I will enquire and make sure that if you received that impression, it will NEVER happen again.
Warmest regards
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

During our round trip in Tuscany with my husband this hotel gave us the best stay. We did not book in advance just walked in and spent one night here. Although we could not park with our car in front of the hotel, the location in the heart of lively Siena worthed this slight inconvenience. The decoration of our room was faultless, and we slept so well. Breakfast was amazing. Staff members were very nice, polite and helpful. We loved it so much that we definitely will come back next year for a longer stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest

I can “only” say thank you for all your kind words and compliments. We strive to make each Guest’s stay, a memorable one in Siena, and one to remember. My Staff and I are delighted that we succeeded in offering you a special moment with us.

Warmest regards
Giuseppe Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

First time in Siena and it was definitely worth the trip! The hotel is in a great location, just steps from Il Campo where you can do lots of people watching. The restaurant was great - service and food. Since we are Platinum Amex members, we got a nice wine tasting at the restaurant which was cool for our first Tuscan vino experience. As well as a fantastic view from our room.

The staff was very friendly (Laura) and gave great dining recommendations outside of the hotel. Great bar/pub down the street which is very busy and popular at night. We went to Castle Brolio - must see if you are interested in wine tasting, history and culture. Tons of great history overall. We were leaving just as Siena's Palio was beginning - great experience of the Sienese. Next time, I will plan to stay for the entire duration of this festivity as it was cool to experience even for a day. Siena is not a place for heels and you are in placed in the middle of a canyon, so lots of hills. Tons of wonderful characteristics of Siena and loved the 17 different neighborhoods all represented with their own code of arms and animals for each. Make sure to get a flag as well. Definitely will visit Siena again.

Room Tip: Get a corner room for the best views, space, and lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for your positive feedback and compliments.
In deed the Palio week end is a memorable time in Siena. If you wish to come back next year, please make sure the you enquire about availability early in the new year. Normally it is easier to get rooms for the Palio in August (15th&16th) rather that for the one in July (1st&2nd).
Even the few days before the Palio are special moments for the town and the rates are much lower!!
We shall be expecting you next year and grant you a special and unique experience.

Warmest regards
Giuseppe Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#8 of 40 in Siena
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,395 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Property: Grand Hotel Continental
Address: Localita Banchi di Sopra 85, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#8 Family Hotel in Siena
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Continental, a Sienese palace steeped in history, is part of Starhotels Collezione, Starhotels exceptional luxury hotel group. Grand Hotel Continental, the old town's only 5* hotel, has a privileged position a moment's stroll down cobbled medieval lanes to Siena's most important attractions, including the famous Piazza del Campo and the Romanesque-Gothic cathedral. Every one of our rooms and suites is a masterpiece, honed over centuries, designed for the tastes of the 17th century aristocracy and refined to meet the demands of the discerning modern traveller. From our beautiful classic rooms to the magnificence of our Royal Suite, our accommodation is unashamedly opulent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Continental Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing