We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of NH Siena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Siena
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Having stayed in other NH Hotels and not been disappointed, we booked a 2 night stay in Siena. We were NOT disappointed, check-in was swift, the room immaculate, yes it overlooked the bus station but the double glazing was sufficient to keep out the noise. The breakfast was very good, my wife requires a gluten-free diet and the hotel staff provided GF bread and rolls immediately. Siena is an historic and therefore a very touristic city, when you have an hotel in such a location you must expect for it to be well populated and when groups arrive there are likely to be delays, There was a problem with a tour group checking in when we arrived which had apparently been caused by an agency. The hotel staff were fairly harassed and took a little longer to sort the problem out. It was eventually solved to everyone's satisfaction. Having read comments by some previous guests, I do wonder if they should have been allowed to leave their own countries.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longfellow1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    604
    274
    82
    46
See reviews for
205
627
37
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is located just outside central Siena and is easily accessed by car. It is an easy walk to the Campo. The room was modern although showed signs of wear and tear but was of a good size ( for Europe ). The bathroom was very good with a spacious shower and plenty of storage space for your toiletries. However, space for storing clothing a bit more limited for those things that one wants to put into drawers. Noise level variable as there is a stadium adjacent to one side of the hotel. Breakfast was very good although if several large groups present then staff had trouble keeping up. Overall a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the side of the hotel closest to the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chester C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

First, a general comment about visiting Italy:You don't need / want a travel agent! Between tripadvisor, Rick Steves' book on Italy (a must have) and the internet you can do this much better than a travel company, IMO. Our tour guide which we got from Rick's book was the very best!! Tours by Roberto was one of the best things that happened to us in Italy. Roberto and his American wife handled not only our tour of the wineries but also stops at little towns with full explanation of it's history, lunch included! Roberto was our tour guide with 3 other couples, what a gem he is! Anyway back to the hotel....
This hotel, we were told was rated 4 stars. Don't rely on stars. At most it was a 1 1/2 star. Our agent booked us for 4 days stay. The hotel is right across from the major bus stop, noisy and dirty and late at night probably not safe. The hotel itself was packed and lacked any resemblance to Italy, it looked like a cheap chain hotel. The rooms, yes we switched rooms for a leaky bathroom, were terrible. The beds were thin and moved if you tried to sit up and read because they were on wheels and not attached to the head board. The best we can say is that the breakfast was good.
Siena was a blast, wine tours, piazza people watching and shopping, we will return but not stay at this hotel!
Next: On to Monterosso in CinqueTerre region....

Room Tip: Make sure the shower / tub does not leak and try the thin beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
far away
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Returned last night from a wonderful wonderful two weeks in Umbria/Tuscany. Wonderful but not here at this hotel, I can truthfully say that this hotel was absolutely the worst we found! First hint? The steps to the entrance broken and cracked, check-in took 25 minutes despite reservations, as mentioned elsewhere no bartender during hours, the bathroom doorstop is fixed right where you can stub you toe when entering, the breakfast room crowded and noisy, the elevators inadequate. The hotel is a trap for tour buses but can offer very little so when they do catch a few groups since there is no space for all the people, movement between floors is impossible, and the staff cannot even clear the dining room at mealtimes. I wouldn't stay here again if NH were to pay me-a Four star hotel with all the amenities of a HoJo in the Boondocks! Sienna has very much more to offer then this tired rundown dump.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1scruffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We booked for six nights and after a friendly and efficient check-in we were given a room on the 5th floor or top floor. The room was very modern and super clean like the rest of the hotel. Our bath room was as large as some of the apartments we rented in Italy! The double bed was so huge we could hardly reach across to touch each other.
The very large breakfast /dining room sometimes caters to large tour groups so it can be hectic in the morning. However, the hard working friendly staff keeps the large excellent buffet supplied and the tables cleaned.
For location it is hard to beat. It is located on Piazza Gramsci is where the bus station is located. If you are taking day trips out to the surrounding hill towns you can catch the bus right in front of the hotel. The ticket counter is located under the Piazza. Also, you can catch the local bus to the train station there as well ( buy ticket at the tobacco shop across the Piazza).
We enjoyed this hotel and its friendly staff so much it was hard for us to leave.

Room Tip: Room 504 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

well located and practical hotel with helpful and friendly staff. within easy walking distance to the centre of Siena and right next to a food and clothes market. the only real negative is the bus depot by the hotel as you can hear them turning their engines over before 6am depending on where your room is. I was on the 1st floor overlooking the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

When easy access by car and walking into the center of Siena are priorities -- as they were for us -- NH is a good choice. Otherwise, NH is very worn down and patronized mostly by bus tours that fill up the lobby with large groups of people. In general, every room is pretty noisy. Traffic was an all night affair for our front hotel room whenever we opened a window and construction noise invaded our daughter's back room during the day when she and her husband opened the window for a little sunshine. But worst, we had a blinding morning glare in our 5th floor bathroom that was impossible to shut out – no blinds. Breakfast was included but barely edible. On the other hand, the restaurant Nanni is a block away and great for every type of meal including breakfast & great coffee.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Siena

Property: NH Siena
Address: Piazza La Lizza | Stadium, City Centre, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Siena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the rolling hills and plentiful olive groves of the sweeping Tuscan countryside, Siena's NH Siena (previously NH Excelsior) welcomes visitors with a striking blend of natural elegance and historic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your NH Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Excelsior Siena
Nh Excelsior Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing