We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star for location”
Review of NH Siena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Siena
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Five star for location”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Really good hotel. Location excellent, reception staff very helpful, room is typical for a hotel of this type. Breakfast excellent.

Wifi does need to be working far better than it does in this day and age but overall it gets a big thumbs up.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    604
    274
    82
    46
See reviews for
205
627
37
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are quite big and the hotel it s near the center (piazza del campo).

The breakfast was wonderful with all kinds of sweets!!

Very very beautiful holiday and thanks to n&h!!!!

The staff was very kind and avalaible!!


Good bye tripadvisers!!;)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eidolon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and me expected much more from this hotel
The only PRO in this hotel is the reception and restaurant staff
As for the negative stuff:
1. No air conditioner (it doesnt work, but they lie to you first by telling you they control it from reception)
2. The rooms are not clean, and they are not like the ones from the photos
3. The beds are very bad, believe me, they dont even put a quilt or something, the only thing you get is a hard sheet (again, the AC doesnt work so they already know you wont need a quilt)
4. The rugs all around the hallways are messy, with dog urines, as well as dirt.
5. The internet access is a mess, it doesnt work, sometimes you get lucky, but as soon as you think it is working, it goes off
6. Nobody is going to help with your luggage, you are going to get to your room all by yourself.
7. The bathrooms are not clean, they got stains all over them.
8. The staff from the clean service is rude, I ask one of them about the laundry service, and with a bad face and angry tone he told me in a rude way he couldnt help me, oh and he turn around.
9. By the way, they dont have laundry service always.

I could go on and on, I've stayed in all kinda of hotels, of all prices and qualities, and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had in one.

DONT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LauraDVdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Usually I like the small hotels better than the regular chain hotels, but for our stay in Siena we decided to stay in the NH Excelsior. The stay was very pleasant, with friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Breakfast was nice, as well.

The location is great. Within 10-15minutes walking you're in the Campo de Fiori. Also, if you're driving, the staff gives you pointers for a free parking lot close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Yayra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Me and my family stayed at the Excelsior Siena during our vacation, we come from Hawaii and to find such great hotel and hospitality was fantastic. We were very impressed how clean and well managed the hotel was. During our stay we had the chance to interact several times with the hotel manager, I believe the name was Giusepe Papalardo...he really made us feel at home. Giusepe is a true professional ....he gave us a 5 star service for all our needs. We also invited him to come to Hawaii.....that's how great he was. Please ask for him next time you visit the hotel.
THNAK YOU, Giusepe and the Excelsior Siena. We''ll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

When you go to Sinena where you have to walk around,
you have to be careful about the transportation.
This hotel is very close to the Bus Terminal and walk there with luggages.
You can enjoy stroll around the charming old town too.

The rooms are well kept and the staff are very friendly.
I had a wonderful stay at Excelsior.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonoya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This NH Hotel is very similar to the others in the chain.
Positive:
1) Good location, easy walk to the train station,
easy walk to all attractions.
2) Beautiful Lobby
3) Nice room, clean, adequate size, nice bathroom & toiletries
(I like the orange soap and sponge)
4) Great breakfast buffet

Negative:
1) Lousy internet, the basic internet is included in the room price,
it is very slow and spotty. Works better in the lobby than the room.
They offer high speed internet for an additional price. To me that's
a game, if you advertise free WiFi, you should provide
the best you have, not try to charge me more for something when I get here.

2) The TV is worthless. It is a 19 inch box, something we had in the 70's,
with 15 channels, none in english. After walking around all day it is nice to
relax in the room before retiring and watch a little TV. That is impossible in
this hotel.

Basicly the NH Hotel is not bad, they are just not great. We stayed in several,
and they all had nice clean good sized rooms and a good breakfast.
But to me the WiFi and TV are important, so I would look around before I stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unckyherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Siena

Property: NH Siena
Address: Piazza La Lizza | Stadium, City Centre, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Siena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the rolling hills and plentiful olive groves of the sweeping Tuscan countryside, Siena's NH Siena (previously NH Excelsior) welcomes visitors with a striking blend of natural elegance and historic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your NH Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Excelsior Siena
Nh Excelsior Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing