We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place in Siena”
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good place in Siena”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel is not modern anymore, but it is clean, the staff is helpfull, the breakfast is okay. Best of all: the location is perfect. you can go to the historic citycenter by escalator wich is in front of the hotel. You can park free in the street. Parking in the hotelgarage is 10 euros. Nearby also a parkingplace but this is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiaOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    131
    141
    73
    45
See reviews for
108
150
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Moderno as we decided last minute to overnight in Siena and had no booking anywhere. Avoid if you are looking for somewhere nice as a couple, it has certainly seen better days and is anything but modern! However,the good points. It was cheap,parking was free,the front desk were very welcoming and offered us a good rate for the rooms,and the location was good. The 24 hour escalators up to the town centre are just across the street. The price we paid was a fraction of what the hotels right in the centre were charging,but we were only ten minutes walk away.
If I'm honest it wouldn't have been our first choice but we were tired and it had availability. It would certainly be a good choice if staying on a tighter budget or if arriving by car. And as much as the rooms were from a different era,they were spotlessly clean,and that is always a good thing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolaaand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Ronco, Switzerland
Level Contributor
330 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

It was quite difficult to find a hotel in Siena so when we found the Moderna we accepted it.
It is in a convenient location, just across the street from the escalators that take you up to the historic center. Free parking, breakfast not too bad.

Rooms are rather old, from your bedroom you can hear the shower running, toilets being flushed etc. Beds were very comfortable though and room rate was ok. You can't expect much for what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, very noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriciazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

While it is hard to find hotels in Sienna, particularly in August because of the Palio, this hotel is expensive for what you get. The location is decent and they do offer parking (at a fee) but the hotel has lost whatever charm it may have had 20-30 years ago. It is very outdated, not in the charming, old way that Italy has, but in a standards. The carpeting needs to be cleaned, changed and the bathrooms are atrocious- towels that feel like dishrags- water that seeps out everywhere-. And in the summer, the AC is not really AC but air that blows. This may have been a nice restaurant many, many years ago, and the pictures are somewhat deceiving. Moderno needs to get a new decorator and clean up their act. (or change their name- this is not moderno, its uglio)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1966Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siena hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

it is basic, but they front desk people were friendly to us, and we didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moddin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I am writing this review some time after my stay as I reviewed some hotels for my favorite site. as I recommended the stay in other hotels I began to believe people like me who are counti9ng on this site to provide an accurate and helpful review must be warned.

i traveloed italy with my son and wife on a day to day basis , changing hotels each day in the country side. some hotels where good some where avarage but moderno stood in it's own accourd- as a tourist hell on earth.

we came by the hotel driving around siena looking for the first hotel that we can find near the siena center and tourists attraction. not to wate time we made a swift cheack in to a room. the clerk metion something about the room that can accomodate 4 people comfortably. very nice. thank you for letting us know that the room is specious.. ???
not speding much time we went out to site seeing and indeed siena is a top place to be.

late in the evening we reurned to the room which was smelling like a very old funitured room. which was not surprising, the place in antique. really.
no where in sight where the nice clean modern room shown on hotel's fotoes through out the internet !

opening the window to vent a bit didnt do much good but let the trafic sound from the main road just below to enter the room. noisy and bothersome.

we weny to shower. a wunderfully big batheroom with a very big bath. all pale green in color and really really disgusting shade of pale green. when starting to shower a sad sad fact came into mind. no shower curtain. ???? by the time you finish the shower all the bathroom is one shalow swiming pool. no mop. no floor mat , no feet towel, nothing.

well , we didnt really made a fus over it. and went to sleep only to be waken up by the room service woman to take an exrta bed blanket from one of the closets in our room.

perhaps i need to refrase that. in our room the extra blankets where stored in case another guest in another room would need a blanket.

WHAT THE HELL ???

when we did try to sleep we came to locate the worse fiture in our room. there is a gap between the door and the floor. tat gap is of a wooping enormous half an inch. you healr everyone that pass on the corridor. sadly there was no cvarpet in the coridor. and yes - the guests leaving at 4:17 am did wake us up. not much sleep there much to the aid of a school group of 16-18 years old who really had some fun. and noise.

needless tos ay we decided to make an early run for our lives. at breakfast we had to deal with a reall sour waiter harrasing a group of old german speaking gentlman and ladies. as i do not understand german and italian i have no idea what happened there.
breakfast was actually ok. if u can get the waiter to serve u long enogth to get some cofee that is. unavaiable and avoidant.

when we chaked out from the hotel we where denmanded to pay a 4 grown up fee for the room. a fast inspection in my family staus and members have came upo with the usual known to be 2 adults and 1 child when conforted with that fact the clerck pointed out that he did say it was a four people bedroom ! and started telli9ng us that israeli people are rude , argumentative and noisome and bothersome.

not to ruin our vacation over some measly euroes we diceded to pay and move on.
we went into the room to take the lougege but with no porter to be found we had to move our stuff alone. coming down we found the clerck to be yelling at an elderlie german couple and being really relly rude to them. shortly afvter the rest of that german speaking group came into the reception area and lou and behold ! reception shouting man became much more nicer ! but it did not help , shortly after the group's spokesman strated shouting at the clerk. i asked one of those old gentleman what happened and it turned out that bthey where a group that bbooked the holtel for some more days but demanded to leave today and have their in-advance-charge-on cancellation refunded
due to paper thin walls and a group of relly bothersome teenagers staying on the floor with them.

Making a hasty retreat we left for better hotels and nicer service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank amotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We found the lady at the front desk, even with little English, friendly and helpful. The room we were initially shown was at the front on the main road, with a shower curtain. When we requested one at the back, it had shower doors. No view - except over a parking lot, but much quieter than the main road alternative. Everything was exceptionally clean. Typical old style European bath towels, made of thin flat cotton - but it does the job. Bathroom also very clean.

Free parking made it for us, as the alternative all day parking was even more expensive than that in Venice. Friendly guy who carried our luggage and poured our arrival beer later in the bar, was also great.

Breakfast - nice granola and lots of choice of yogurt. Very fresh homemade cakes the first day - looked a little tired on the second. The slice I had that was topped with pine nuts on Day 1 was very good. Fresh crusty, breadrolls and two types of sliced meat - salami and mortadella - both delicious - and constantly replenished. Plenty of cheese. Coffee on Day 2, when we requested cappucino, was good.

Wi-fi, despite using the right username and password, kept dropping. Not critical, as I don't go on holiday to surf the net. One waiter was not very friendly, but seemed the same to everyone - Italian and non-Italian speakers.

Very easy getting the the main historical centre using the free public escalators.

Hotel has no pretensions of any kind - even a little worn at the edges, but what it offers, it does well. Can't comment on the impact of groups, as there were none there while we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for garden room with view of garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBarbieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Giardino
Hotel Il Giardino
#25 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#26 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#13 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#14 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: Via Baldassarre Peruzzi 19, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing