We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful town, disappointing accommodation”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Beautiful town, disappointing accommodation”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September with a group of 15 walkers on a Tuscan trip. It is located just outside the Siena town walls with easy access to the historic and glorious areas via multiple escalators through and over the wall. Its name - Hotel Moderno - is a misnomer. It may have been when it was established [modern, that is] but it is now dated, tired, with staff quite oblivious to the meaning of service or style. It was a disappointing venue and had few if any redeeming features.
Our reception was unfriendly, as if guests were a bit of a nuisance. The porter disappeared as soon as the group arrived, finding some urgent cleaning to do as far from the reception desk as possible. No staff assisted, and no one showed any interest in us throughout our stay. As part of a group we were committed to stay for a second night but would not have done so by choice. No doubt the tour company has a favourable agreement for group bookings.
Our room was of poor quality, with shabby furnishings. The bathroom window would not shut, the curtain rail fell off the wall, and the tiny, mould-encrusted shower leaked. The pillows were uncomfortable, the mattress was hard, there was no in-room safe and the door lock was an ancient variety that provided minimal security.
The breakfast room was pleasant, food choices were good - cereals, fruit, pastries, ample tea and coffee - but guests shouldn’t expect service. Empty platters took quite some time to be replenished. Oh, and this hotel didn’t manage to provide teaspoons…small point but typical of the attitude pervading the establishment.
As highly experienced independent travelers we appreciate that we don’t go on holiday to stay in a hotel room, but do expect reasonable facilities and service. Although the location was good, the weather was glorious, and the company terrific - we would definitely not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    131
    140
    73
    44
See reviews for
108
147
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I recently spent two unfortunate nights at this terrible hotel. Family members had stayed there and recommended it, not sure what they were thinking! I found it amusing that the hotel is called Hotel Moderno. It's anything but "moderno!" The hotel lobby is a hodge podge of bizarre art, furniture and stale, musty smells. This place has an identity crisis and needs a major renovation. We initially checked into our room, a small, dingy room with a tiny bathroom that was so old, it just looked dirty.. When I looked out the window, it overlooked some weird rooftop with a pigeon coup. I saw some creature (a rat I believe) running into the corner of the coup. We were checking out! When we tried to, the manager offered to show us a couple other rooms. They were noticeably larger, but still old and dingy. The room had a chandelier with 2 working lightbulbs (out of 8).

The room overlooked the main road and on our first night, after day long traveling, we were kept up by a steam roller on the street - not a fault of the hotel - but still a problem.

We smelled all kinds of wierd scents in the hotel - party old, musty and part paint. Yes, paint. One morning we were awakened by the strong pain odor only to find a painter working jsut outside our room. The shower was bizarre, with a folding door that was moldy and allowed water all over the floor.

If I had known of another nearby hotel, we would definitely have moved.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monalisa_1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siena hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My family and I had an awful experience at this hotel!! The service was absolutely horrible, the receptionists were extremely rude and unwilling to help, the rooms were smelly and very old, air conditioner did not work, the internet you have to pay for does not work, we had one very small window, with no view. It was very noisy all the time with people coming in and out, the walls must be paper thin.
The breakfast was disgusting.
Although the location is quite good, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, I would look around for anything else but this.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bennett_laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peschiera Borromeo, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

The only modern thing in this Hotel is his name. Old small rooms. Good location very near to the escalator to go up in Siena.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zazzo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Hotel Moderno is a basic European hotel. Small rooms with even smaller bathrooms. It was very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location at the bottom of the escalator up to the old city was unbeatable. Breakfast was typical and mediocre but the coffee was good. Wi-Fi in the bar area for 2 Euros/hour was a good deal too. Let's face it, I didn't go to Siena to see a hotel so I spent little time in the room. For the price, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tackabel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Not so happy with our stay at the Hotel Moderno, but before I get into that, I will say that the lady and gentleman at the front desk who checked us in were very, very sweet and kind. They were great.

Unfortunately, that was about the only redeeming quality about the hotel. The rooms are very, very basic, which is okay, but ours was really a bit depressing -- no real window, just shutters that opened up to a tiny atrium of sorts in the middle of the building. Very little natural light made it down. The bed was also incredibly uncomfortable, enough so that we woke in the night in pain from resting too long on one side on the hard mattress.

The hotel is just outside the Siena city wall, just across the street from the escalators up into the city. So the location is okay. Our room/bathroom was clean. The breakfast was the typical pastries and juice and coffee. But overall, we felt that the room (at least, the room we stayed in, anyway...a double with private bathroom) wasn't worth the 115 euro we paid, and we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malisams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We had a one-night stay here as part of a Cosmos tour. The hotel was in a reasonable location. The room size was surprisingly adequate. However, the beds weren't very comfortable. The bathroom was okay but the shower itself was terribly mouldy and very off-putting. It looked as though it had never been cleaned. Our tour guide did warn us that this was going to be one of the more basic hotels on the tour. We actually found the included meals there to be quite good, and it was the only hotel on our tour that had a toaster in the breakfast room! I'll mention the staff, who seemed to be very sullen and unhappy, and possibly tired due to it being the end of the busy tourist season for them. Overall, it was a comfortable if very basic stay here. I don't know if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippodreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Giardino
Hotel Il Giardino
#25 of 40 in Siena
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#12 of 40 in Siena
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#8 of 40 in Siena
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: Via B Peruzzi 19, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing