We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but so noisy”
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chiusarelli
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice enough but so noisy”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights here. The room was very clean and had clearly been refurbished recently. The staff at the reception were really helpful and advised us on places to eat and go. Breakfast was nice it was not replenished regularly so it could be hit or miss as to whether there was fresh bread/ rolls. The position of the hotel is great as it backs onto the stadium so there is a chance I that you can see a match from the hotel's patio if Siena are at home. Also there are some nice restaurants close by and it only takes 10 minutes to walk into the main piazza. However this hotel is so noisy. We had a room at the front of the hotel and were woken constantly by the traffic and then the church bells which begin ringing at 7.00am. If you like to sleep, this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel and on the ground or first floor (there are no lifts)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiusarelli, Direttore at Hotel Chiusarelli, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel to stay in Siena!
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay.
Concerning the noise in some of our rooms, the ones facing the front, we recently tried to soften it with a soundproofing system.
You should also consider that, being in the city center, some noise isn't actually unusual, and also that Churches are prtty common in historical places like Siena.

We hope to welcome you again at our Hotel soon in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Francesca Rosi
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    452
    198
    48
    23
See reviews for
173
454
57
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and it was in such a fabulous location! Very clean room and the bathroom had obviously just been re-furbished. Breakfast was lovely, although you need to get down to the breakfast room early as they don't always re-plenish their stock of breads. People at the front desk were also very helpful and advised us of places to eat etc. The only down side was that we had a room at the front of the hotel which proved VERY noisy throughout the night, as well as being right by the main church the bells rang from 7am onwards. Overall, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front of the hotel if you like to sleep past 7am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in March and were very happy with the room and service provided by the staff. Breakfast was served daily in the restaurant and was more that ample for what we needed. The hotel is also in a great location just outside of the 'old town' although within 10 mins walk to the main piazza. There are limited parks available which we are on a first in first served basis (and free of charge.) The rooms were fresh and clean. The only negative aspect is that we had a room at the front of the building and the cathedral bells were a little loud in the mornings. Not really a reason not to stay here though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PT2_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel has some positive attributes: it's in a great location, the rates are reasonable for Siena, if you like soccer, you might be able to see a game from the patio or your room. But, it definitely has some negatives. I should preface this by saying I've traveled to Italy frequently; I know not I'm not staying at a Westin. First, if your room is on the top floor, be prepared for it to be almost unbearably hot if the temperatures are in the 70s or higher. The air conditioning (if it works) does little to cool the room. We resorted to opening the door, even though it opened right on to the stairway. Good luck trying to sleep. What was most disappointing however, was that when the temperature in the room was well over 80 degrees, the woman at the front desk told me that the room the air conditioning was on and it could not be that hot. Unfortunately for her, my travel alarm clock had a thermometer on it (in Celsius even), so I managed to convince her that something had to be done (so apparently she actually turned on the ineffective air conditioning). Second, cleanliness in the public areas did not seem to be a priority. It was not uncommon to walk into the breakfast room and see dirty dishes on every table. One morning I cleared a table myself because no staff could be found, although I could hear them in the back. Third, the staff generally just seemed sulky and ambivalent. We ate at the restaurant one night, and couldn't even get the waiter to come back after we finished our meal so that we could order coffee. Which brings me to ... four, the food at the restaurant was horrible. I had what purported to be risotto, but really was just rice, none of the creamy goodness that is risotto. I don't recall what everyone else had, but no one was very excited about their meals, so even if you're really tired, I'd recommend eating somewhere else. I had actually been excited about staying here as it featured in a novel I had just read, but I wouldn't book here again.

Room Tip: Top floors tend to be hot, street side rooms are a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViviBene14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I would not stay in this hotel again. No elevators, no free wifi, no parking, smelly bathrooms, cold staff. There was a loud ticking noise just outside our bedroom, so we had difficulty sleeping. However, the location was very good, just a 5min walk to the center, and the breakfast was ok.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiusarelli, Direttore at Hotel Chiusarelli, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,
We usually accept willingly any kind of comment by our clients, but I have to consider your review as not exactly truthful.
Normally we are paid many compliments about our kind and helpful staff.
Also, cleanness and care have always been our strong points.
All the rooms and their bathrooms are cleaned everyday with the best care, and we always use delicate perfumed detergents in order not only to refresh the ambiance, but also not to cause allergic reactions to our guests.
Our Hotel, unlike what you write, actually has a small parking lot and a small garage below it (about 11 places in total). You should understand that, being in the center of a medieval town, it is hard to own enough space for a lot of cars. Also, we never guarantee its availability, and we usually help our clients to find the alternative places in the nearby, both to be paid or for free.
Concerning noise, all our room’s windows and doors have been made soundproofing recently.
It is actually true that our Wi-Fi Connection is not free, but we never advertised it to be free, neither on our website, nor on all the other web portals where we are mentioned, and we have always confirmed that it was an extra-charge service for anyone that enquired about it.
Our Hotel is not equipped with an elevator, and it is actually impossible to install it at the moment, since our Hotel is an Historically Valued building dating back to 1870, and we are subject to severe planning restrictions by the Monuments and Fine Arts Office of Siena. We compensate this by bringing our guest’s suitcases upstairs to their rooms.

We hope that our comment about your review was clear and that you enjoyed your stay in our city anyway.
Kindest Regards,
Francesca Rosi
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Great location, superb staff, very reasonable rate. It's just around the corner from the bus station, and within the walls of the old city. The room was large and had an excellent view of the football stadium. We were lucky to watch a football match between Roma and Siena right from our hotel room window. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The only downside was that the shower curtain didn't work well with the odd tub/shower configuration, so we ended up with water on the bathroom floor. Regardless of this, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel is very comfortable and well located, a few steps from the historic center. The staff is very kind and helped us in all we needed when we was there and we could't leave the town, due to a snow storm.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEVILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Property: Hotel Chiusarelli
Address: Viale Curtatone 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing