We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style, but charming...”
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chiusarelli
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Siena
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old style, but charming...”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is certainly not up to date but it has everything you need and the staff are helpful. The rooms are large and clean but the decoration is rather dull. Breakfast was quite basic too. Also, beware there is no lift! The hotel is convenient for visiting the main highlights of Siena and from front facing rooms the Duomo can be seen... the back overlooks the football stadium.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Londonjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    458
    201
    48
    23
See reviews for
176
461
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

simple & homey. choices for breakfast are good & filling. room is just right & we had a veranda. the porch area downstairs is pretty & ideal to have coffee & just relax. staff is accommodating. pleasant hotel interiors although it's unfortunate that we only got to do an overnight stay here as we needed to move to florence already the next day. it's quite a walk to places of interest but it's a good exercise. it's also close to bus stations. overall it was a pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johanna0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

great experience. great location. great value. great staff. ok breakfast.
we had a 3 night stay in hotel chiusarelli during the month of august 2013 and I can highly recommend this hotel. only 6 parking spots so you must be early if you need to park. otherwise, paying soccer stadium parking available right behind hotel. location is ideal as it is right on the outer edge of walled historic town. Comfortable sized clean rooms.The staff, in particular, is very friendly , professional and courteous. Barbara has great local traditional recipes to share...

Room Tip: rooms facing rear will be more quiet but view of soccer stadium and parking. however, all windows se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel has a good location for walking to the piazza. It is a basic hotel with very small room. The beds were not very comfortable and it backs on to the football field so be careful if you want quiet during the football season. There is limited parking and the spots are very small but we had a small rental car so it was not an issue for us. If you have mobility issues be forewarned that you have to take your suitcases up the stairs to a very tiny elevator and help is not available. it is clean and basic and the location is very convenient if you like to walk. Staff were not rude or polite just doing the basic tasks without much enthusiasm. definitely do not eat at the restaurant as there are so many good ones with better prices within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Set in the outskirts of the walls, this hotel fits in well with the Italian style hotels. big entrance, marble floors to keep cool. Mattheo on reception - very helpful about getting into town.
In our room we got a fruit platter & prosecco as we were on our honeymoon.
The second day we stayed we went on a wine tour provided ny My Tour(Reception at the hotel booked this for us) to Chianti & San Gimignano. An insight but no tour of vineyard. Sommelier didn't speak very good English, but through drawings and accents. Guide had good knowledge. Only spent 20 mins at vineyard most of time travelling. Can buy the wines in the local towns for a lot less. San G was beautiful, but typical Italian driving left me feeling travel sick.
Breakfast: Italian croissants are more like brioche but lovely. Salami, ham & cheese. Variety of juices and coffees. Watermelon.
Very small parking. Only 4-5 cars.
Bedroom: large room with views onto football stadium (nothing on while we were there). Bathroom was a bit pokey and needed a bit of updating. Bed was too hard for me, but two nights here is absolutely fine and exploring the city is amazing.

Siena is a beautiful city. Did lots of wandering. Try and find "supermarkets" for water as they are cheaper, in the square you can pay €2 a bottle. We ate in the sq one night which was lovely although still very warm. Went to the oldest church (on the hill) followed by sanctuary then to the fontana which was at the bittom of the hill. We thought we had a long walk up, but saw sign for escalator! Made it a much easier journey and came out near the piazza del campo. Loved this little city!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCopeland2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, easy to walk into the main areas of Siena. A basic room, but perfect if you are going to see the town and not spend your time in a hotel room. It seems to be a trend in Italy that they send their staff on holidays in the busiest tourist season, which is a little strange to us in Australia. Unfortunaly the restaurant was closed as a result of this. Had wifi and air con which was most important to us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandPMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanaken, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have stayed only for two nights in this hotel, and I picked it mainly due to it's location. I knew where to look since I've lived in the city before.
The location of the hotel is perfect, it's about 5 minutes walk from the Piazza del Campo, which is the center of the city, and the best place to be when you want to go out. It is also on the edge of the area you can drive with your car, since the center is closed from most cars.
The room had nothing special, be aware of the different kind of power outlets than what you could find in the rest of Europe - this is the special Italian one.
The bathroom was ok, both the room and the bathroom were clean and nice.
The breakfast was included, it was quite good.
The free internet access costs you a free registration through your facebook (or other social media) account, but I've had no problems with it so far. Once you've done it, it's quite fast too.
The air conditioning in the room was not perfect, we could not really change anything on it, but thank God, it was set up to a cooling level that was just comfortable for us.
The hotel itself is located next to the Stadium, where you can park your car (about 20-25 euros/day) or you can leave it at the free car park of the Fortezza, which is about 800 meters away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voltunkegyparan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#26 of 40 in Siena
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#20 of 40 in Siena
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Property: Hotel Chiusarelli
Address: Viale Curtatone 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing