We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, located near San Domenico”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chiusarelli
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good hotel, located near San Domenico”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good hotel with ample room and comfortable bed. When I went in March, I had the double room for 50€/night, breakfast included, which is absolutely worth it. Breakfast is a bit scarce, but has the basic things you would ask for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roburetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    449
    198
    48
    23
See reviews for
171
449
56
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Good location only 5 minute walk from the San Domenico church. Room was average reasonable size but on the front of the hotel so quite a lot of road noise. Breakfast is good, continental style, self service. We would use this hotel again due to it's location. Don't stay here if you want lots of facilities but do stay if you want to be close to Historic Siena at a reasonable price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nettieboms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
355 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In our two weeks touring Italy this and hotel Piazza Bellini in Naples were the most beautiful that we stayed at. Staff are a bit stiff, but maybe it's the clientele they usually deal with , not 60 year old backpackers as us. Wonderful breakfast included in room rate. Nice walk to all the sites.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on reviews here at TripAdvisor as we stayed in Siena for 4 nights. Location-wise, Hotel Chiusarelli is very nicely located, although central location also meant that parking facilities were not the best as we were travelling with a car. They had no parking places available, so we used the public (free of charge) parking space at some 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

Location aside, service at the reception was "ok", but nothing particularly good. Even the smiling faces seemed to be gone, which is rare in Italy. Neither were we impressed by the breakfast, which was affected by the renovation in the breakfast facilities. But also they seemed to have some not-so-freshly-baked products on the table.

Hotel room was decent, but quite a lot of noises from the other rooms could be heard through the walls. We asked for iron and ironing board from the reception, but that is not allowed in the hotel due to security precautions.

All in all, if you are not looking for 4-star (let alone 5-star) stay in Siena, Chiusarelli is well-located, but if I was to stay in Siena in the future, I would probably choose another hotel since I like to have a little bit better breakfast and also appreciate smiling faces at the reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vellu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great hotel, in a great location (close to the historic heat & piazza gramsci bus station). Rooms large, clean and comfortable. Roberto in reception was very friendly and helpful, had a good laugh with him. The only downsides are that there is no lift which can be tricky without luggage and the breakfast is very simple and not refilled regularly (or generously) so get there early!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the football field which is quite and tranquil
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarajevo-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had a 6-night stay at this hotel, excellent location (to the old town centre of Siena), easy parking nearby, clean and quiet room, lots of variety for breakfast, I didn't try their restaurant but if you are hotel guest you enjoy 10% discount (remember to ask for the discount card at reception). If you book from their site and if you are sure of your travelling dates, there is a pre-paid option from which you can save big time. It's a 3-star hotel, don't expect bell boy carrying your luggage, but the staff members working at the reception desk are extremely helpful and friendly.On the first night we put the extra blankets on top of the cotton blankets (at night once windows are closed the A/C is automatically on, but if you don't like A/C you can ask the hotel to turn off) when sleeping, then the housekeeping lady, instead of just folding those extra blankets and putting back to the wardrobes (which others will usually do), incorporated the extra blankets between the sheets and the bed-covers so that we had the bed well made for the rest of the stay. This was an extra step taken and required more efforts from the lady (if you ever tried to make a bed like the hotels usually do), she could just simply ignore our needs and put aside the blankets, I am very much impressed by her thoughtful act, and would like to send compliments to the hotel management/owner for having the luck to have excellent staff members like this lady and the team at the reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cammie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Horsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a spacious comfortable hotel at a very reasonable price. The rooms are spacious and clean. The location seems to be on a busy street but we had a room facing the street and it was very quiet. You can park up outside to drop your bags and passengers off, then drive to the back of the building and park safely in the football stadium car park (15 euros/night). There are lovely restaurants nearby and the old town is at your doorstep. There is a lovely terrace for a night cap (reception serves drinks) and there is a garden room for the buffet breakfast. Really loved it. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
3,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#14 of 40 in Siena
1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Property: Hotel Chiusarelli
Address: Viale Curtatone 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing