We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chiusarelli
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Yeppoon, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Location was good. Rooms were a little small but not too bad, clean and good quality. Decore was interesting. Breakfast was good and in an interesting location (once you found it). Service was adequate. Enjoyed walking down to the fort from the hotel in the mornings.

Room Tip: Maybe try to get rooms facing away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    463
    201
    48
    23
See reviews for
179
463
60
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right on the edge of the old town, 10 minutes walk to the central Campo. It's a great location meaning that it is nice and quiet without being miles away. The rooms are clean and pleasant, and breakfast is limited but nice. Wifi is free but sporadic and has a complex login which doesn't always work.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good hotel with ample room and comfortable bed. When I went in March, I had the double room for 50€/night, breakfast included, which is absolutely worth it. Breakfast is a bit scarce, but has the basic things you would ask for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roburetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Good location only 5 minute walk from the San Domenico church. Room was average reasonable size but on the front of the hotel so quite a lot of road noise. Breakfast is good, continental style, self service. We would use this hotel again due to it's location. Don't stay here if you want lots of facilities but do stay if you want to be close to Historic Siena at a reasonable price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nettieboms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In our two weeks touring Italy this and hotel Piazza Bellini in Naples were the most beautiful that we stayed at. Staff are a bit stiff, but maybe it's the clientele they usually deal with , not 60 year old backpackers as us. Wonderful breakfast included in room rate. Nice walk to all the sites.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on reviews here at TripAdvisor as we stayed in Siena for 4 nights. Location-wise, Hotel Chiusarelli is very nicely located, although central location also meant that parking facilities were not the best as we were travelling with a car. They had no parking places available, so we used the public (free of charge) parking space at some 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

Location aside, service at the reception was "ok", but nothing particularly good. Even the smiling faces seemed to be gone, which is rare in Italy. Neither were we impressed by the breakfast, which was affected by the renovation in the breakfast facilities. But also they seemed to have some not-so-freshly-baked products on the table.

Hotel room was decent, but quite a lot of noises from the other rooms could be heard through the walls. We asked for iron and ironing board from the reception, but that is not allowed in the hotel due to security precautions.

All in all, if you are not looking for 4-star (let alone 5-star) stay in Siena, Chiusarelli is well-located, but if I was to stay in Siena in the future, I would probably choose another hotel since I like to have a little bit better breakfast and also appreciate smiling faces at the reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vellu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Property: Hotel Chiusarelli
Address: Viale Curtatone 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing