We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff at the Garden Hotel”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff at the Garden Hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This was our second visit. We had four nights last September and came back for a week in August this year.
We were delighted to see some familiar faces - particularly the bar manager Atla who is a star.

Everyone was so helpful, finding us fantastic restaurants, booking taxi's (which arrived in minutes) and all with a huge smile.

This time we paid just a little more money and booked a room in the main building. It was worth it.

All in all a great hotel and incedible value for money

Room Tip: For a few more pounds you can book a "superior" room. These are in ther main building rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Fantastic customer!!!

if there was a second time why not try a third, perhaps one of the beautiful rooms de luxe in Belvedere, fills us with joy to read reviews like yours, our efforts are rewarded daily.

We look forward to Siena .... again!

Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    827
    262
    101
    49
See reviews for
420
1,046
44
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seillans, France
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Siena and had a wonderful time at the Garden Hotel. You can easily walk to the centre of Siena, or take one of the buses. The swimming pool area is really large and the staff of the hotel were superb! Atla (behind the bar) is a fantastic character and the music in the bar is great. There was a nice crowd of people, from families with young children to older couples and it felt very very cosy.

We can definitely recommend staying this hotel, especially in August when you need the pool to cool down after a hot day in the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollandDutchcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you so much H.D couple,

you have described our hotel just as we would like to show us, a nice place for adults and children, with a spacious swimming pool, charme, an excellent restaurant and bar ..... also with a great bartender (Atla thanks you all) but especially "cosy", there are no better words than this...

Grazie mille!!
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Attractive main building, but most of the rooms are in the annexes, which are quite utilitarian. Our room was a reasonable size but didn't have much of a view. We were in the Casa Blanca annexe and the cleanliness of the room was excellent and the bed linen and towels changed every day. The shower didn't sit properly and kept flopping downwards and the water pressure wasn't brilliant. The staff were excellent particularly in the dining room where they were attentive, efficient and polite. We were on half board and the choice was somewhat limited - only a choice of two items for starter and main course and the one thing we found a little odd, was that dessert and coffee wasn't included in the half board tariff. You were given a seperate menu for desserts which were all 7€ each and coffee was extra. This, I don't feel is at all acceptable. That said, the food was of good quality and nicely presented and the situation of the tables on the terrace under the grapevines, with views across to Siena in the distance, were very pleasant. There is a nice pool but a lack of sun loungers. Wi-fi was expensive at 20€ per week and not that efficient.

It is a fair walk into Siena and in the extreme heat that we experienced of 35 degrees + would have been a very tiring and uncomfortable walk. We had a hire car so getting around wasn't a problem - without one, it would have been.

Breakfast is a self service buffet and the quality is pretty average. Scrambled egg, normally my favourite, looked very unappealing as it was overcooked and in large clumps. The juices were diluted and the coffee weak. There was a nice array of cakes, which were light and fresh, breads, yoghurts, fruit etc. There was quantity but not the best quality.

The following suggestions, I think would improve the quality of this hotel:

More sun loungers around the pool and seating in shady areas around the hotel.
Dessert and coffee included in the half board tariff
More irrigation in the planters and pots as the Geraniums were either dead or dying and the terraces looked a little scruffy and tired.
Breakfast quality could be improved, particularly the scrambled egg.

Overall, our stay was pleasant but could have been better and not quite a 4 star stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for one night to break a camping holiday at San Vincenzo and to see Siena, We booked about 10 months in advance with a special deal but when we arrived were disappointed to be taken to the 'White House' a newer building and althought it had a little garden like terrace we were in the bowels of the basement and felt a little cheated - However when we explained this to the receptionist - very nicely ! they showed us another room and upgraded us at no further cost and even apologised when we left. V polite and helpful staff.
The room we did stay in was lovely - you lost the terrace but it was full of character and felt a little bit special. Pool was lovely, the view from the Hotel of Siena is spectacular. Pre dinner drinks were included along with a snacks. Breakfast was buffet style - nicely laid out and plenty of choice. Would have liked to have stayed longer.
Siena of course is amazing but totally lost on our 9 & 12 yr old - we should have left them in the pool !

Room Tip: The oldest part of the hotel has the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmpound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Overall, the location of the hotel was nice - not too far from the historic city center, easily reachable by bus or by foot (20 min walk). Free parking available. WiFi was quite pricey. The standard double room however was a disappointment - air conditioner was very noisy, shower door broken with extreme force required to slide it open or closed. The bed was good. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food available. Hotel does have a swimming pool that is quite nice when you are visiting Siena in August (gets quite hot outside!).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barsuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Barsuki,

We are so sorry that the Standard room has not been appreciated, we would like to inform you that the Basic Standard room usually have always a competitive rate by the others categories: Classic, Superior and Deluxe rooms which enjoy greater comfort and accessories in the room. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast and sleep quality , of course like all our clients "the swimming pool" everybody love it.
I suggest next time to try one of our Superior or Deluxe rooms,

Our best regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli

waiting for you at the Hotel Garden in Siena, and this time, however, try one of our categories above do not disappoint,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Incredibly, this hotel has a 2 star rating. It should be a 4 star in my opinion. From the very first time we walked in the door we were impressed with the facility, the staff, the room, the terrace, the pool, the restaurant. We were on a tour with 15 other people. Everyone loved this stop. We've stayed at over 15 hotels in Italy and this is absolutely the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The hotel is situated about a 10-15 minute walk to the old city's gates on a large parcel of land surrounded by well established trees and gardens. The staff at reception all spoke good english and were helpful in organising things for us such as taxis and a wine tour.

There is a restaurant and bar here. We ate at the restaurant on a couple of occasions and highly recommend the bruschetta- it was the best we had in Italy! The breakfast spread is plentiful and includes all of the traditional european breakfast foods as well as bacon and yummy cakes.

The rooms were spacious and clean and also had air conditioning and a mini bar.

If we ever return to Siena we would definatley stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear happytraveller227

Thanks for your kind review,
We are glad you had time and found nice weather to chill out and taste the relax of Hotel Garden.
Our Hotel is the ideal spot to spend holidays in summer, when our guests can refresh themselves in our swimming-pool and our terrace, where you can have dinner and drink at the American bar.

On the same terrace our clients have breakfast, starting their day with our yummy cakes and a beautiful view to the city.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for a new holidays in Tuscany.


Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#11 of 40 in Siena
407 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing