We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

During our stay we asked for a lot of information, directions, help with finding nice wineries and so forth...
The front desk staff was always ready and happy to help! They had full knowledge about the city / roads; great hints on restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile reception at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear cris F,

thanks for taking time to write this great review! We are really pleased to help all our kind Guests in order to make their holidays really unforgettable! Tuscany help!!
We look forward to welcome you again soon at The Garden of Siena for another great stay "under the Tuscan Sun"

Kind regards,
Gianluigi Rubbioli & the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    791
    257
    98
    46
See reviews for
395
1,003
41
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
924 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We drove to Siena so staying in the Hitel Garden was a good call - it's quite easy to find and you don't have the problem of it being in a no go area in the city itself. The hotel has a lovely setting on a hill overlooking Siena and the Tuscan countryside.

We checked in and were in one if the annex buildings - room 172. We had been travelling for some time and were hungry so went to the restaurant inside the hotel for dinner. The food was fine but nowhere near as good as you find in the city so unless you are shirt of time or just don't want to go out it's OK.

Our main problem was with the room and facilities. We've never stayed in a room with such thin walls - we could hear every word our neighbours said and when they switched the TV on it was as if we had it on in our room. We wanted to have an early night and a bit ion a lie in but neither were possible from the sounds from next door. The water in the room was luke warm at best so we could only take quick showers on the 2 mornings we stayed. Finally the air conditioning would only send out hot air into the room. I know it was only the end of April but Siena was very warm and we needed some AC.

So whilst I'm sure if you get a good room in the main hotel itself it's a very good choice but we didn't and we had one of our worst experiences in a hotel for some time.

Room Tip: Avoid room 172 if you want to get some sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Neale1810,

thank you for staying at tha Garden Hotel and for taking the time to write your review.
We do always value both positive and negative feedbacks, as this ensures we continue to grow and evolve our services and products.
We apologize if you found some problems in room but is really impossible for us starting on the AC in April, we will do it just at the end of May.
The 172 in a connecting room that's why I think you can ear the noise from the other room, in this case always let the receoption staff know about, they are always available and pleased to help our Guests if they need assistance.
If you were unsatisfied with your room, we could have surely set a room change for you: maybe just a call to our Reception would have made your stay more comfortable and pleasant: our aim is always to satisfy our Guests in the best possible way.

However, we are very concerned to learn that you left with an unsatisfactory impression of our hotel and we would be really pleased to welcome you again at Th Garden Hotel, so that you can enjoy all the services of our Hotel at its best, so please do not hesitate to contact us directly for assistance or for reservations.

Our Best Regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in February for 3 nights. The hotel is just outside Siena but that it no issue as it is an easy walk in. What I liked about this hotel was that it was quiet, there was a good selection of breakfast items, that it had amazing views of Tuscany and the room was a decent size (we had the double superior room). The staff were also friendly and helpful. What I found lacking was the shower was extremely small (the smallest we had on our honeymoon and we traveled for just over a month) and we had to pay for wifi (which we did not have to do at any other hotel we stayed at). We also went to the hotel restaurant, which is extremely convenient and great if you are tired. However, the portions are small and it is expensive for what you get. I would recommend going into Siena for dinner.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear ShereeT,

we would like to thank you for staying with us at the Garden Hotel and for taking time for your kind review.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our Reception Staff and the Hotel location and we would like to thank you very much for that.
We are sorry to hear that you had issues about the WiFi and the shower, I would like to apologize for that.
We hope to welcome you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact our customare services for information or reservations,

My personal regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for 3 nights last month with our 7 year old Son. The staff was excellent and helpful. Breakfast had a good selection, and the hotel was nice and tidy. The hotel has a great view of Siena, and is a 20 minute walk to the city center. The rooms were fine, and the price was good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenorthcascades1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear thenorthc,

nice hearing from you, we hope that you have enjoy in full all the Hotel services, all the staff is making all the best to give you a pleasant stay away from the noise and the stress!!

Hope to see you soon in Siena Again
my personal regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have stayed in this wonderful place for 3 nights. As soon as i came there i felt a great calmness and relax. Beautiful garden, fresh air, songs of birds instead of an alarm, very helpful and attentive staff and i'm very gratefule to all of them for their kind help in all my requests! A very nice clean and cozy room which is cleaned every day, and i was really glad to find there a body oil (mine was tacken at the airport since it was in a bottle of a bigger size than it is allowed, a very strange rule but whatever). Good breakfast from 7-10 am (both for those who get up early and late). Just 20 minutes by foot to the city center, also i liked small beautiful cozy streets in the hotel area. It'll be great for those who are looking for a calm pleasant walk before going to bed. If you want to enjoy your every moment of staying in Siena i recommend you to stay in Hotel Garden where you will feel yourself like at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuliya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Yuliya S,

ringraziamo vivamente per il vostro recente soggiorno al Garden di Siena, leggendo la vostra review si apprendono velocemente tutti i nostri punti di forza, la vicinanza la centro, la pace che si respira in questo piccolo angolo verde della città e la qualità e professionalità del personale che quotidianamente è al vostro servizio, veramente grazie.

Vi aspettiamo presto
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Hotel Garden is quite possibly the greatest place on earth.

We were a little underwhelmed with Siena upon first arriving and were actually debating a flight home, this was before we came across our little paradise known as Hotel Garden. We decided to stay there on a whim and five nights later we were clutching our hotel keys at the front desk reluctant to leave what had become our second home.

The food was incredible! The dinner menu is small but all the dishes are varied from one and other so there is something suitable for everyone. Our idea of a perfect night was eating dinner on the restaurant terrace watching the sun set over Siena.

Breakfast was heaven; they serve everything under the sun and more - I've never eaten so much bacon(pancetta) in my life.
They also serve delicious food and snacks throughout the day at the bar, so be sure to grab a delicious sandwich along with a quick chat from the lovely Atla!

All the facilities at Hotel Garden are excellent and the decor and interior have clearly had some thought put into them.
Our room was lovely and very reasonably priced, it had everything we needed and even a little terrace.
Their pool area is beautiful, clean and so quiet and relaxing, we could have stayed their all day.

Most importantly,
All your staff are wonderful people who clearly put a lot of heart and soul into their jobs and go completely beyond the call of duty.
Hotel Garden should be incredibly proud of their establishment and have earn't every kind word written about them on here!

On another (slightly creepier) note - it's lucky we left when we did as we were one cappuccino away from falling in love with Roberto.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GraaceD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear GraceD,

thank for your stay at the Garden Hotel, what a nice review:
"Hotel Garden is quite possibly the greatest place on earth" nothing more to say, you already said everything, just come back and let me know when!
Roberto & Atla thank you very much!

my personal Regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

with galahotels i had an hotel in siena with best price
the hotel was very close to the centre of siena
the staff of galahotels has been very fast from the moment of request until the book confirmed
strongly recommanded

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Pasquale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Pasquale,
thanks, it is so nice to hear that you found Hotel Garden in Siena nice and enjoied your stay with us.
I hope to see you again this summer when we will have our swimming-pool and our huge panoramic terrace open.

Thanks & have a nice day

Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#14 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing