We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We've had a wonderfull stay. The staff was most polite and they made us feel at home with a nice personell touch. Everything was clean and the hotel had a great location. We were able to walk to the city center of Siena in 30 minutes. It was a nice stroll.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    801
    259
    100
    46
See reviews for
398
1,016
42
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I think this is mostly my fault for booking on a 4 star hotel in Europe. But I can say a few things: it has no elevator nor bellboy to help you get down our bags (heavy) for 15 large steps to our room. Under the bed was filled with dust, our terrace looked like it was abandoned for a month, all dirty with leaves on the floor and filled with dust, the restaurant was so expensive and bad-tasting, and they even charge for wi-fi. I've been staying in top B&B's everywhere in Italy, and NEVER plan on goibg back to this "so-called" hotel, just awful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AbrahamGBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Garden from 05 May 2014 to 11 May. The staff always greeted us with a warm welcome and was very helpful. There was no language barrier. The location is great for cars as there is plenty of free parking. Bus access to the old city walls is very close and convenient. The breakfast is included and substantial, there is no walking away hungry or thirsty, a great way to start the day. The afternoon appetizers in the bar are substantial and plentiful with no charge and the drinks and wine are reasonably priced and Atla is one of the friendliest bartenders we have come across in our travels. The patio with a view from the dining room and bar is delightful providing a wonderful view of Siena. The evening dining room has high quality and good service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear PeterB,

thank you so much for the recent stay at the Garden Hotel of Siena, just amazing review!!!
“Feels like home away from home” we do not need more info about.... so cute!!
We are just waiting for your next visit, come back soon!!

my best regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I can't stop 'raving' about the Hotel Garden!

We had a bit of a problem locating our room. A gardener 'took notice', stopped what he was doing, and 'escorted us to the door'. I was quite impressed that an 'auxiliary' employee would have such concern; this 'accommodating attitude' proved to be 'the standard' of everyone of the staff. (I, appreciatively thanked/congratulated/shook-hands & patted-backs a lot during our stay)

On placing our reservation, I noted that this was a 'special holiday' for my wife and I. We entered our room to find a lovely bottle of wine, 'compliments-of-the-house'.

Returning, after a long day of 'sight-seeing', we made our way to the deck for cocktails. The bartender served our drinks and announced that, 'nibbles' are on the bar if you care for any'. There had to be an assortment of nearly twenty different 'hors d'oeuvre & antipasto', each one 'amazing'! The sun setting over Siena, sitting in the gardens with 'cool-jazz' playing softly helped to make this a 'memory-of-a-lifetime'!!

As evening slipped into night-time, we made our way to a table for dinner. In a 'state-of-euphoria', I was not interested in scanning the menu; so, I asked the 'head-waiter', on his second inquiry, for his 'suggestions'. Fortuitously, I followed his guidance. A bevy of waiters met our every need, without being 'obtrusive'. Everything was perfect!! Tiramisu and espresso, followed by a 'night-cap', crowned 'a-day-I-will-always-remember'!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junco_partno200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Buon giorno Mr. Junco

thank you very much for the recent stay at the Garden Hotel in Siena, and so nice to had such a lovely report.... all the staff that you have meet is always working to meet your needs and to satisfied all of yours specialminds.... from the Gardener to the Bartender!!!

Thank you so much, and do not forget to introduce our place at friends or relatives who are planning a trip to Italy

My best regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Garden is nice pleasant place. Stuff was very professional and friendly during the check in. Hotel is very nice, close to downtown- nice garden- large parking lot... Pool.. ....!!!But- later we had minor car accident in the area and we couldn't really deal with the situation as we didn't speak Italian. Thanks to the Hotel Garden staff member - I presume manager on Duty Gianluigi Rubbioli everything got solved- he managed to have our car repaired in one day -local car shop....Saved our holiday- went out of his ways to help us. Thank you- Gianluigi;))) M

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Michaela K,

thank you very much for the recent stay with us at the Garden Hotel. We are so happy to read your review about us, and I still sorry about the happen with the car..... But we solve it in time!!
I' m hoping to see you soon again here in Siena and do not esitate to contact me personally, you so nice!

My personal regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Okay, the walls are a little thin, but after that, this place has everything to offer. Huge grounds where you can just get lost in some garden with a bottle of wine. If you want a view, just keep climbing up the outdoor terraces and you will have the countryside in view, pull up a lounge chair and grab another bottle of wine. If you prefer to stay near your room sit at your outside patio. The restaurant was good, the staff friendly, for 100 euros, it's really pretty amazing what you get. Room was also spacious with nice bathroom. I would easily stay here again. Doug, from NY.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dugan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Dougan1,

thank you very much for the recent stay with us at the Garden Hotel. We are so happy to read your review about us, becouse is the same feeling that we would like to give to all our guests..... nice and romantic atmosphere nice with a good bottle of wine, realx and good music to enjoy till late up on the terrace, that's the really way to enjoy our place.

We waiting for your next visit
my best regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We enjoyed our time here at Hotel Garden. The views from the main hotel off the patio are very lovely. The hotel is a bit further than I thought from Siena, but with the bus stop real close to the hotel, it made getting into Siena's walls easier to to.

Rooms : Our room was located outside the main hotel area, I believe it was in the Casablanca? We were not initially impressed with walking to our room, since the building we were in was not very well kept or very clean. The smells leading up to our room were overwhelming, like they were trying to cover up something, but our room thankfully was very clean with no strong odors. It was a nice sized room with a table and two chairs on the lower level of the building and dated in decorating. Shower is very small. The beds were a bit on the hard side, but average in comfort. They have room darkening blinds which were wonderful, although we slept in way later than we wanted to and almost missed breakfast our first day! So set an alarm!

Amenities: The grounds are beautifully landscaped and I believe they have a pool. The weather was cooler, so we never even considered the pool. I never saw any workout facilities either. They do have a spa which I did not take advantage of. Their prices are a bit high. Breakfast was a buffet, not overly impressive, just average for Italy's standard. I liked the coffee machine!

The staff is very nice and super helpful. If you don't mind taking the bus in to the main area or walking a bit extra, this hotel for the price is nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Jennifer F,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Garden Hotel in Siena. As you noted we always try to make you feel better than at home, giving you the opportunity to take advantage of all of our services in complete freedom.
The panoramic terrace and its bar open until late at night, the restaurant open daily for both lunch and dinner, and recently also the pool is open every day with complimentary towels.
The odor that you smelled to the rooms did not want to cover any mistake is only a strong disinfectant used to ensure a careful cleaning that sets us apart as can well see from revirew made ​​by other customers.

Thank you again for staying,
I expect soon to Siena

Our best regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing