We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice vintage hotel...”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is very nice with great gardens and a unique view of Siena, when you book you room make sure you ask in which building they are offering you, if you are not in the main building you should ask for a lower price, the other rooms are not the same, even tough they are nice enough, it is not the same, all of them were very clean and spacious. The breakfast and the service of all the staff was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler4Leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,132)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

While on a spring trip of Tuscany, my husband and I stayed at Hotel Garden for two nights. The hotel was located within walking distance of the beautiful walled city of Siena. If you needed transportation, a bus was available. The hotel was large and the front desk was helpful in giving information. The guest rooms were small, but adequate. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a great shower. We were out most of the time, so really just used the room for sleeping and getting ready. The hotel had a great bar area and outside patio that made our stay special. The bartender, Aldo, was a gem, and went out of his way to make his customers happy. Each evening there were snacks provided, and the weather allowed sitting outside to enjoy the sunshine and scenery. One evening after sightseeing all day, we were tired, and Aldo offered to make us club sandwiches and salads. I would rate this hotel good for Europe, but the patio and Aldo would be the reason for putting it above average.
A few notes on Siena....what a lovely city to walk around! There were many shops and restaurants and historic sights to visit. It's a definite place to stop while on a tour of Tuscany.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room in the main building and it was small. We had a lovely view, but looked o...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbills50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and were given a ‘superior room’ which was spacious, modern light, and comfortable with a nice bathroom. Some of the rooms are in a separate block - the only problem with the location was that we had to carry our cases down a flight of tiled steps to reach the room then up again when leaving - there was no lift or staff on hand to help. The main block with reception, restaurant, bar, sitting rooms is very pleasant with sofas, carved wooden furniture, tables, etc. The hotel is surrounded by shady gardens and a terrace with lovely views across olive groves looking towards the city and surrounding hills. It took us about 20 minutes to walk to the historical city gates from the hotel and a further 10 mins to reach the Campo in the centre. Some people got the bus from just outside the hotel which seem to run regularly. We really enjoyed staying here and after the first night, we ate in the hotel restaurant, which was excellent – a good choice of dishes, very well presented and cooked, reasonably priced. Good variety in the breakfast buffet including bacon and scrambled eggs as well as the continental choice. Friendly, helpful staff throughout the hotel and generally a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bardpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here between 9th and 16th May. Got a taxi from the station for 8 Euros. Lovely welcome, beautiful room in main building but asked to swop to a room with a view to Siena. Staff vey accommodating and we changed room the following day with a lovely outlook. Easily walkable into town. Booked a couple of tours through the hotel which was very easy and the staff were very helpful.
Highlight was the fantastic bar staff. Campari Spritzers made by Atal were the best. Atal and his colleagues made us feel very welcome and we loved the abundant free bar snacks every night.
Would definitely return.
Hope the new bar that was being fitted on our last night is looking spectacular!

Room Tip: We had room 333 which has lovely view towards Siena
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We've had a wonderfull stay. The staff was most polite and they made us feel at home with a nice personell touch. Everything was clean and the hotel had a great location. We were able to walk to the city center of Siena in 30 minutes. It was a nice stroll.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I think this is mostly my fault for booking on a 4 star hotel in Europe. But I can say a few things: it has no elevator nor bellboy to help you get down our bags (heavy) for 15 large steps to our room. Under the bed was filled with dust, our terrace looked like it was abandoned for a month, all dirty with leaves on the floor and filled with dust, the restaurant was so expensive and bad-tasting, and they even charge for wi-fi. I've been staying in top B&B's everywhere in Italy, and NEVER plan on goibg back to this "so-called" hotel, just awful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank AbrahamGBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Garden from 05 May 2014 to 11 May. The staff always greeted us with a warm welcome and was very helpful. There was no language barrier. The location is great for cars as there is plenty of free parking. Bus access to the old city walls is very close and convenient. The breakfast is included and substantial, there is no walking away hungry or thirsty, a great way to start the day. The afternoon appetizers in the bar are substantial and plentiful with no charge and the drinks and wine are reasonably priced and Atla is one of the friendliest bartenders we have come across in our travels. The patio with a view from the dining room and bar is delightful providing a wonderful view of Siena. The evening dining room has high quality and good service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear PeterB,

thank you so much for the recent stay at the Garden Hotel of Siena, just amazing review!!!
“Feels like home away from home” we do not need more info about.... so cute!!
We are just waiting for your next visit, come back soon!!

my best regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#14 of 40 in Siena
426 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
674 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: £50 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing