We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to be close to but not in Siena; mainly v. gd experience”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location to be close to but not in Siena; mainly v. gd experience”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wonderful views of Siena, just wonderful. Worth staying for that alone. Small pool, slightly odd opening hours (we were a bit out of season).

Food a bit variable in the restaurant - very good one night, only just about OK the second night. Variable staff also.

Comfortable but not memorable room in an annex.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear LondonMed,
thanks for sharing your review with the other travellers.
Our Annexes are a distinctive trait of Hotel Garden, made if 125 rooms with 100 rooms settled in the two dependances. Tha allows you to have a room in the garden which surrond the whole property.
If you sleepl in Belvedere or Poggiarelo you can nearly jump into the swimming pool in few seconds!! Not bad!
I wish to see you again to show you other rooms of our categories and choose together the best accomodation for you.

Regards

Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    802
    260
    100
    46
See reviews for
398
1,018
42
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

From the terrace you have a magnificent view over the city.
Breakfast and dinner are excellent and the staff is very friendly and attentive.
The rooms are clean.
You can walk to Siena or take the bus, which stops nearby the hotel.
We certainly will come back here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Ellie B,
Thanks for the nice words, i am glad you enjoied our huge terrace, our rooms and our location.
The nice weather allows guests to have a nice walk to the city walls, through Camollia Door into the Old City and enjoy the beautifull points of interest. For those who do not like to walk, as you kinldy suggested bus and taxi are easy to get.

Regards
Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Not sure what the bed in this room is made of but you could probably build a nice road or something from it. Also I thought that charging for wifi was bygone but I guess there is a lot about this has been hotel that is still in place. If you want a cheap room as far from the attractions as possible and can sleep on the ground, this place is for you. I would stay anywhere else in Siena before I try the Garden Hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Andrew B,
actually..being out of the pedestrian area means being out from the chaos, means no need to look for an expensive car parking around the city walls and means to have the possibility to enjoy our swimming pool and our tennis-court and to park the car at the hotel all for free...not bad for being out from the city walls.

The matrasses are all orthopedic, but do not worry! ....for those who like to sleep on the floor, no problem! our rooms have NO carpet, but nice floor or wood-parquet....very comfortable.

Thanks

Regards

Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A large impressively appointed hotel: we had a room in the annex which was spacious, clean and quiet. The grounds of the hotel are more or less a park in their own right with fine views and walkways.
Breakfasts were perfectly adequate standard fare, but we thought the main breakfast room was a little understaffed or poorly managed, as basics (eg tea, yogurt, piece of fruit) often ran out on the buffet tables and had to be asked for and there were sometimes queues for clean tables and always a lengthy queue for the inadequate coffee machine.
The hotel is definitely situated on the outskirts of town: unless you are very fit and unencumbered by, say, young children, you will need to get a bus or a taxi there and back to the main sights of town. Perhaps this location helps to keep the hotel rates down, as they compared favourably with much less grand accommodation elsewhere in Tuscany.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are a little way from reception and breakfast, so if you have a problem with that, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This grand old lady sits on a hill just outside the city with a spectacular patio that overlooks the city, with a staff that's very friendly and helpful. Our room was the typical European style (small but comfortable), small bathroom with an even smaller shower (you can just turn around in the stall), nice swimming pool but not heated, very nice buffet and they also serve lunch and dinner. Nice small bar at far end of restaurant. Easy to reach town square as bus stop just outside entrance to hotel. Reminder thought, last bus to this area is at 8:10 p.m., Wanted to trade in rented car and staff arranged for car rental to come to hotel and pick it up otherwise I would probably still be looking for Hertz office. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
326 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We arrived here, checked in and went straight to the terrace offering a panoramic view of Siena to have a picnic. A waiter brought us a chilled bottle of Le Rime, Banfi wine and we were in heaven. Check-in was easy, the front desk staff pleasant. We were given a map of Siena and directions on how to reach the city center, which is about a five minute drive from the hotel. We had a car, but a city bus also is an option. The view is one of the best parts of the hotel, the gardens are nice and the staff helpful and pleasant. The hotel itself however, (even though we were upgraded to a superior room) is a little run down and in need of a face lift. I'm sure that, in its prime, it was lovely. Our room (184) was not in the main part of the hotel, but a short walk away. While the décor was pretty, with plaid bedspreads and padded headboards, there was also water damaged wallpaper and rusty railings. It came with a fridge, safe, closet and extra pillow and blankets. Our view overlooked a grassy courtyard, which was fine until one night, around midnight when guests talking loudly in a room adjacent to us, kept me awake. After not sleeping well the first due to it being hot in the room (the AC blew hot air), I went to the front desk to complain. I thought the A/C was broken, but was told they "weren't allowed" to turn on the AC yet. The next evening, I ended up opening up the bathroom window (it had bars on it) to get some air in, which is why I heard the people talking outside my room (their doors were wide open). The room itself was small with 2 twin beds. The bathroom was nice- large with a bath, marble sink and floor and olive oil toiletries. Breakfast was fine- there was a selection of breads, coffee, juices, eggs, meats etc... The fluorescent lights in the dining room are blinding. We ate dinner there our first night there. Dinner was okay- I am sure there are better restaurants in Siena. The Bavarian crème dessert was good and the servers warm and helpful; they do have a nice happy hour with a bunch of little snacks at the bar. I wish I would've read the Tripadvisor review which recommended to request a room in the Main Hotel and if that's not available, to ask for a reduced rate. The décor in the main part of the lobby was pretty, with painted ceilings and antiques. There is adequate parking (in a gravel lot), as well. We paid about 100 Euro per night, which didn't seem too bad. I booked it online.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Main Hotel. Our room (184) on a courtyard was noisy (due to other guests).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent stay - pleasant and competent staff, lovely room with great views. Lovely swimming pool which I used every day (which I had to myself most of the time because it was a little chilly if you didn't jump straight in - it was mid May after all). I always thought breakfast was more than adequate and on Sundays they give you little pastry treats as well.

People seemed shocked that it is a 25 minute walk from the city walls - but a cursory glance at a map will show you where it is.The views of Sienna are spectacular from the ample balconies and worth the stay alone. And top tip if coming from station: go through to the shopping centre and take the 13 escalators to the top -it'll save a lot of agony!

If you bird watch there are hoopoes and beeaters close by as well as fantastic numbers of swifts and hirrundines.

Loved it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmcotian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing