We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very peaceful setting for this hotel and close to town. The decks were outstanding for eating or just hanging out. The rooms were large (by European standards) and well furnished with a nice size bathroom. The only disappointing thing was we couldn't get a table in the dining room for dinner because it was so crowded. However, the desk clerk told us of a restaurant just a short drive away and it was outstanding. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. We would have liked to stay here for several days, as the atmosphere was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear AJ,

Thank you so much for the recent stay at the Garden, I am so sorry for the table at the restaurant, august is so crowd at night, and our terrace like so much to all of our client.... but we always try and find a good solution for our customers.
I am hoping to see you soon again and "stay longer!!!"

my best regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked adjoining rooms that were allocated in the modern 'casa blanca' block but which were very clean and more than adequately appointed. Hotel offers as good a 'continental' breakfast as you'll find for non 'executive de-luxe' accommodation and has a drinks terrace with postcard views over Siena (reasonably priced too.)
Of course the reason you'll want to stay here are the pools which offer a perfect break from all those hill towns and the hot Tuscan sunshine. The pools are more than adequate compensation for the slightly out of town location ( level access stroll approx 20 mins,) which other than were you elderly or infirm shouldn't be a consideration. Parking more than adequate which given issues in Siena is itself a factor to consider.
Staff were always very helpful, diligent and polite.
All my family commented we'd be more than happy to revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KipKNoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stopped here for 5 nights at the end of July and had a lovely time. Upon checking in the first family room we were given had a small shower room, but when I asked if they had a room with a bathroom we were moved the next day.
Just a 20 minute walk from the city centre we found this hotel to be great for children as it had a lovely pool area which was relaxing after a morning sightseeing.
The breakfast was fresh and plentiful and you can sit outside on the terrace which is lovely as it overlooks the city.
In the evening we took advantage of the great views and just sat and had a drink on the Terrace, as the drinks were really reasonable and you can help yourself to the snacks provided for free which our children loved, have to say the barman was a credit to the hotel as were the rest of the staff. A really great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JOHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is really a 3.5. I visited this hotel while on a business trip in December. The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to answer many questions I had about the area. The room while a bit dated was very clean and the largest I have seen in many visits to Italy. If you visit in the summer this hotel has a nice pool and garden area. While the free breakfast was above average I would recommend to skip dinner at this hotel. My dinner was very expense and just OK. Go into town and get a nice meal for the price. Hotel Garden is located about a 15 min walk from the tourist section of Siena. I was OK with the walk in the morning but you should take a cab back to the hotel instead of walking back in the dark at night especially if you are traveling alone. if you are driving around Tuscany this hotel has a large parking area. Be aware there is a large commuter parking area just outside the hotel, this is not hotel parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 6 days in August. We couldnt ask anything else. It felt like home, but also giving a real taste of retro Italian environment. The pool is nice,the location is great , giving you quiet and nice view of Sienna, just 2 km from the centre. Highlight:the restaurant and the bar, with professional and very friendly staff and a unique Maitre!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Γιωργος Π
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just back from Siena....a beautiful city where our stay was made even more enjoyable by staying in this wonderful hotel. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, as its name suggests, but what made it so special was the friendly and helpful staff-nothing was too much trouble. They were lovely to our 7 year old daughter, who had a great time there (especially when enjoying the small children's pool). I'd recommend the hotel for couples as well as families........the hotel grounds are spacious, including the areas around the small and large pools, and the large outdoor terrace is a wonderful place to relax after a day exploring this stunning city.However, although the hotel is great, the staff are just fantastic!
Simply perfect!

Room Tip: There are different levels of rooms............we were in a superior triple which was certainly valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul30860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We emailed to the hotel directly for a 3 nights stay in mid-July, and were offered to choose amongst Standard room in Poggiarello building, Classic room in Casabianca and Superior room in Bevedere building (Villa main building). After checking the hotel's official website, I decided to take the Casabianca offer even it was not the cheapest one, it was because the room's photo shown on the hotel's website looked very nice, and the website introduces it as recently restored.

Having looked forward to our stay in newly restored accommodation, we were disappointed after we had arrived. Although the room was spacious, it looked very country style, and did not resemble the picture of a nice-looking Casabianca's room shown on the hotel's website. Furthermore, we found the room quite old and tired. There were chips on the wooden furniture everywhere and a fairly large puddle on the tile flooring near the bathroom door, that we inevitably had to step on it since it was very close to the bathroom door, it sagged and gave some creaks every time we stepped on it, which was unpleasant. The fitting in the bathroom also looked quite old, and the ventilation cover near the ceiling was very dusty, though the rest of the room seemed clean.

For breakfast, there were plenty of breads and pastries to choose from. They did offer fruits but plums and kiwis gone quickly. It was also very busy every morning during our stay.

We dined at the hotel restaurant on the first night and ordered prawns, mushroom risotto and fish. The risotto tasted fine but we should have picked something taste lighter for the summer hot evening. The fish was good. However, the prawn was too dried, may be we should not have ordered a fried dish in the first place.

As our stay was in the summer peak season, the parking area near the main building was full early, we had to park in the hotel's parking lots right outside hotel gate, which were not properly lit after dark.

The staff were all friendly and courteous. We were given maps of the Siena old city and the a map showing the scenic routes around Siena, which were useful.

If it were not because of room we stayed being below our expectation, it would have been a pleasant stay for our visit to Siena.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chan_XOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,455 reviews
1 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: £47 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing