We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, beautiful views, fantastic service”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Duvall, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value, beautiful views, fantastic service”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Unbelievable the value for this beautiful hotel. Large room with nice bathroom. Excellent breakfast in elegant dining room (dinner was very good but more than we really wanted to spend). It's a little bit of a hike to the main part of Siena, but we liked walking off the meals we ate here in Italy anyway.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    836
    265
    102
    49
See reviews for
427
1,061
44
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Beautiful hotel, nice pool and great views from terrace of bar (perfect for breakfast, dinner or a late drink). It is 10 min from centre but it is a short bus from outside hotel or a 10 euro taxi. I would def go back to this hotel- it is molto bene!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac198477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Our stay at the Garden Hotel in Siena was really wonderful. Excellent service, very clean and hospitable. We would not hesitate to endorse it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2010

The Hotel Garden in Siena, Italy is a lovely oasis. Sitting on a hill with lovely gardens and a pool (in season). Very helpful front desk staff. Very nice breakfast and restaurant with attentive service. It is about a 20-30 minute walk to the Piazza dell Campo in old Siena.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel. The grounds and the pool were gorgeous! The problem we had was the room. It looked like a converted boarding school and the shower was not that fantastic. I have to say the dinner on the terrace was something I will remember for a very long time to come.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helpfultraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I stayed here with friends for five nights in mid-October and was very pleasantly surprised. It's not the easiest place to find but ask any cab driver (there are 53 officially licenced cabs in Siena, all working for the same company and all with their cab number clearly marked by the front passenger door) and they will know where it is.

We got there in the early evening and headed into Siena. The front desk (all of whom were very helpful and friendly and spoke excellent english) ordered us a cab and it was there within a couple of minutes. This was to be the case for the rest of the stay.

The hotel itself is located about five minutes from the centre of Siena and is on a hillside overlooking the modern section of the town. It's worth mentioning at this point that there are a number of inclines both up and down between the hotel and the old walled town and this is something to be aware of if you are planning on walking in to the town. The walk itself is around 20 to 30 minutes depending on the pace you take and the area you walk through is just like any other Italian town, but once you get in to the old town itself then it is like nothing has changed in centuries. My only major gripe about Siena would be that there is absolutely no nightlife at all!! None! Nada!

I should mention the spacious parking facilities the hotel has as well, as parking is at a severe premium in Siena and if you choose to drive there and stay at a hotel within the town walls, you may find that you have to park outside the walls in a public car park and that could lead to a long walk to and from the hotel.

I only have one major gripe about the hotel and that it that we lost all our water pressure on the last morning we were there. We had two rooms in an annexe and we experienced this in both rooms. I showed one of the maids who was passing what was happening and from her reaction I'm guessing this was not the first time that this had happened. As we were about to check out, it was not a problem but had we been staying there longer I can see this would have been a major issue as we told reception about this an hour before we left and despite them saying that they would send someone to take a look, we did not see anybody. That having been said, considering the price we paid for the rooms per night (around £80), this hotel was amazing value for money.

We could not have wished for more helpful and friendly staff and I would recommend this hotel to any traveller looking for somewhere to stay in Siena

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffnei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My wife and I stayed for 4 days in September 2010. The hotel is excellent, clean and well maintained. Our room was in one of the annexes which had the advantage of being quite quiet. The room was large and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was a large buffet with an excellent choice. On 3 days the weather was perfect so we sat outside on the beautiful veranda. The reception told us it was a 30 minute walk to the main square - that would be walking quite fast. Nice pool and spacious grounds with masses of parking space. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#13 of 40 in Siena
418 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
662 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#14 of 40 in Siena
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing