We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take my money...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take my money...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

At first sight on a flyer seems to be nice but...
WiFi in the room is not true, you have to pay for it 5 euro per day... Scandalous.
When we came back at 11PM there was a guy at frontdesk who was smoking and staring at us. We said "good night" and he didn't say nothing...
Rooms are confortable and clean but really look like hospital rooms.
A nice thing is the private and securised parking for 12 euro per day

I will not recommend this hotel. I'm sure that there is bettter one for same price

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank le_gabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    494
    263
    66
    23
See reviews for
199
572
47
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Minerva for 3 nights room and bathroom were clean and spacious. Breakfast was good with lots of choices but staff a little lax at stocking up the choices, the coffee was lovely. Only downsides were we ordered twin beds only to find we had two single mattresses in one large base made up with king size bed linen, it didn`t matter too much to us as it was my daughter sharing with me, and the bed was a little hard, also our room was at the back of the hotel and there was concerts going on in a park close by until 1-00a.m. Luckily we didn`t have any very early nights, but it was a bit annoying. The city of Siena is worth a visit there is so much to see, even just to see the steep hills the narrow streets and the very tall buildings let alone the churches and beautiful cathedral (The Duomo). Would recommend this hotel I did our booking of hotel and flight with Budgetair which was very reasonable. We flew to Pisa depending what time you land the transfer to Siena can be quite expensive we had to have taxis for the 2 hour journey each way but there are buses and trains from there. If you can fly to Florence I think transport to Siena is easier.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline187902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Minerva for three night and it was a very pleasant experience. This hotel is very simple/ basic but it is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are not extravagant but the rooms and bathrooms are quite spacious. What more do you need? .We were too busy visiting the splendors of Siena and Tuscany!!

The hotel is fairly well located ( 15 minute walk to the Piazza Del Campo) and a five minute walk from the Piazza Gramsci ( for those who arrive by bus). The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. They were more than happy to help us get some tours set up in Tuscany as well a provide us with some recommendations on restaraunts. The breakfast buffet is excellent with a good variety of choices. The only thing that I disliked is that there is only one small elevator. So if you check in unfortunately at the same time with other travellers that have a lot of luggage you may wait for some time to use to the elevator

I would recommend this hotel to other travellers

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Image_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at Hotel Minerva for three nights. Our room was small, but included a balcony with a nice view. The breakfast buffet was good, with lots of choices, including fresh melon, pineapple. kiwis, and other fruit. We were surprised when the front desk did not have a corkscrew for our newly purchased wine, but they sent us across the street to a bar to have it opened. Then front desk staff then lent us a small tray with two wine glasses on it. Aha, redeemed. Booked through Olohotels, we found the place to be a good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tes321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Disappointing. Room was okay but lacking any positive sense. If you only want a place to sleep and shower this will do. But there are other places that will enhance your Siena experience for less. One positive was the excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was pleased with my stay at Hotel Minerva. My room was very spacious... but cleanliness of washroom was a bit under par. The staff was curteous... the breakfast was very simple. There was a charge of 5 Euros for the WI-FI... I would have loved for that to be included which is more and more standard in hotels. When I asked the concierge to the cost for a taxi to the train station, he quoted me 5 Euros... it ended up costing 10 Euros (with no traffic). My main disappointment was that the concierge failed to advise me that there was a train strike that morning... and still sent me over to the station. I know that these things happen... but as a hotel (especially one so close to the train station), this should be information that is promptly communicated to travellers... especially those to ask to get to the station. Althought I had a few issues... most were minor and I enjoyed my stay... would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josee v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is conveniently located just outside the old town walls, 5 mins walk from the main bus station, 7 mins from the central piazza del Campo. The train station is a 20 min walk away, or by bus from the centre or one that stops just past the hotel. The hotel is in a rather nice building with a spacious lobby. Pick up a town map from Reception. The twin room was small, with an even smaller cramped bathroom with a small shower cubicle squeezed into a corner. You will need your own toiletries as only a couple of small liquid sachets are provided. The juliet balcony looks on to lovely views of the back of the old town. The usual continental breakfast fare of cereal, bread, cheese, cold cuts, stewed fruit, cake is served in a large room, & includes warmed croissants & boiled egg. Tea/coffee is served on a tray in small china jugs with milk by the 2 smiling courteous waitresses, so you can have your daily caffé lungo (long coffee), so favored by non-continental travellers, as you like it, leisurely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with views of the Old Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Mar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Property: Hotel Minerva
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 72, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is a three star hotel in the historic center of Siena, overlooking from its position the city of the Palio. Hotel Minerva is located in the heart of Siena, the medieval city known around the world for the Palio and its age-old traditions, miracles and saints like Catherine and Bernard Tolomei, art, culture, food and wine. Just 10 minutes from Piazza del Campo and very close to the train station, the three-star hotel has 56 rooms, divided into Standard, Superior and Business, a meeting room and a garage. Perfect for business trips as a vacation exploring Siena and the most beautiful cities of Tuscany, Hotel Minerva is characterized by a warm welcome and an extreme attention to the customer. CHECK-IN 3.30 P.M. CHECK-OUT 10.30 A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing