We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Booked a couple of nights here for the palio in 2011 and wasnt expecting very much.
Pleasently surprised, fairly inexpensive and only a short walk into the centre of town.
If i was returning to siena i would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Kiel,

we are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel and town.
best whishes from Hotel Minerva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were in a hurry to explore Siena so when we ran into this hotel we took it and it was a good choice. The view from the room and balcony was unforgettable. The staff were friendly and the breakfast is good, I likes the open doors to the street, almost having outdoor breakfast.
We did not try the kitchen, who wants to have dinner in a hotel when you have downtown Siena in a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony at the back !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Frans,

many thanks for your comment and we are happy to know that you liked our hotel.
We hope you will come to visit us again.
Best whishes from Hotel Minerva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Maybe we were just lucky, but our room at the Hotel Minerva had a balcony with an amazing view of old town Siena. I could see that not all rooms had a balcony, so if you go, ask for a room with a balcony, and not on the street. The room was adequate in size, clean, and had shutters for blocking out the light. Parking was 12 euro per night, but inside the walls of the old town, that's the price you pay. The lobby is quite large, has one Internet computer, and paid wi-fi throughout. Breakfast was excellent, Everyone at the front desk spoke adequate English, and were helpful, even furnishing an adapter plug and corkscrew. The wine in the fridge wasn't the best, but was nice to enjoy on arrival while sitting on the balcony, enjoying the view.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony! Reserve the parking if you have a car, there isn't anything else available, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chadwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Chadwrite,

many thaks for your beautiful words about our hotel We are always very pleased to know that our guests enjoyed their stay in our hotel as it is our first goal and all the efforts of our employees go towards this point.
Best regards for Hotel Minerva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Good points:
-clean and spacious rooms
-close to city center

Bad points:
-hotel personel's english is not good. Espacially ladies working in breakfast saloon
-high cost of parking
-low performance according to price

Briefly, there are better hotels to stay in...

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Libertene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Libertene,

we are pleased that you appreciated our rooms and the location of the Hotel.
As far as for the language spoken by the maiden, in high season, we need to have the cooperation from people who works with us only for a couple of month and it is not easy to find people who speaks English.
As far for the parking, please note that we are one of the few hotel in the centre of Siena reacheble by car. Nearby the Hotel there are public parking where you can park for only 1 hour, or there are paying parking whose cost is 1.70€ per hour. So our price of 12 Euro for one day semms to us quite reasonable.
Kind regards from Hotel Minerva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is on a quiet street away from the city center but within an easy walk. The room was small with two twin beds and a tiny bathroom with a small balcony which had a nice view of the city. Breakfast was included, and was the standard European continental. The desk staff was fairly helpful with giving us directions and helping us make dinner reservations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Maryo,

we are happy to hear the you enjoyed your stay at HJtel Minerva and we'd like to thank you for your comment about us.
Best whishes and we hope to se you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

we found the overall cleanliness of the hotel good. We booked a SUPERIOR DOUBLE room wish turned out to be a match box with a court yard that made you feel like you were in a bird cage that was never swept with NO privacy. We also went from reception at ground level to our room at -1 level. the worst room in a months travelling in europe.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheryl z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Sheryl,

we are sorry you did not like our room. Please note that all our Superior rooms are on the floor -1. Usually the majority of our guests apèpreciate the balcony of those rooms, but of course we do not have the pretentiousness all our guest to like our rooms. Even if our mission is to satisfly every request of our guests.
sorry we did not reach the goal in your case.
regards form Hotel Minerva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

It was a nice surprise. The hotel could do with some renovation but room ( we were 2 adults+2 teenagers ) was big enough. The breakfast was copious and was near enough to the centre but also in a quiet area . Staff was very friendly. And tried their best English. We would use it again if we go back to Siena.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorenetaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#21 of 40 in Siena
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#10 of 40 in Siena
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 72, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: £52 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is a three star hotel in the historic center of Siena, overlooking from its position the city of the Palio. Hotel Minerva is located in the heart of Siena, the medieval city known around the world for the Palio and its age-old traditions, miracles and saints like Catherine and Bernard Tolomei, art, culture, food and wine. Just 10 minutes from Piazza del Campo and very close to the train station, the three-star hotel has 56 rooms, divided into Standard, Superior and Business. Rooms are not soundproofed. Meeting room and a garage. Free Wi Fi. Perfect for business trips as a vacation exploring Siena and the most beautiful cities of Tuscany, Hotel Minerva is characterized by a warm welcome and an extreme attention to the customer. CHECK-IN 3.30 P.M. CHECK-OUT 10.30 A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing