We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Old Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Rockport, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Old Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Not many hotels here, and this one is closer to the train station. Hotel has marble floors and is very noisy, The door gets closed and you hear it all over the hotel! Rooms are OK, but not very clean! The breakfast is OK, but when something runs out, it stays run out!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Tatonka,

many thanks for your commentary. We are aware that we have some problem of noise, but as I explained many times, we are in a historic building and dramatic refurbishment are not allowed. As far as the cleanyness of the rooms, we have the maiden in the morning and a bellboy in the afternoon, so it is sufficient to ask the reception and someone will clean again the room.
The same for the breakfast when something runs out, if it not time to close the service, if you asxk my colleague she will put other thing to eat.
A warm regarf from Hotel Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    524
    270
    69
    23
See reviews for
211
601
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Large rooms with views over Siena from our balcony. However they were very sparse and cold, and the interior furnishings were awful (hospital like) with large unslightly shutters to keep out the afternoon sun. Wifi doesn't work in room, in fact, we found that wifi hardly worked anywhere in the hotel.
The beds were really hard (but that's pretty much everywhere in Italy) and they creaked every time one of us turned so being a light sleeper i kept on waking up during the night.

Situated just outside the city walls (and literally just outside the ZTL) it was easy to find but difficult to get to without accidentally crossing into the ZTL. Although there's parking out front, it's always taken so it's hard to check in and then park the car. I dropped my partner off to check in, find the parking whilst i double parked out front. Parking is 12 euro a day, not pre booking is required just let them know you are after parking at reception.

The location was decent, it's not in the heart of Siena but maybe 15min walk but we found a street of really good restaurants which were decent priced just inside the walls. Also it's close to the bus station for intercity buses. (the train station is actually quite a far walk and not as conveinent as the buses)

If you need laundry done, there's a laundromat is inside Siena and then one outside the walls on Via Simone Martini. They're both about a 15min walk to the hotel but the one inside Siena is a relatively flat walk whereas the one outside the wall is hilly. But we found the laundry very expensive (10-15 euro a kg) better to save it for any self service ones in larger cities.

The customer service at Hotel Minvera is hit and miss, we found some staff really friendly and helpful and other staff to be exact opposite. Good thing is breakfast was pretty good, large range of food.

Given all the pros and cons, we found this was one of the cheapest hotels within a decent walking distance with parking available. If this is what you are after Hotel Minvera is acceptable.

Room Tip: it seems like pretty much all the rooms have a balcony with views but double check when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest,

many thanks for your commentary. For the aspect of the rooms, many of uur guests are happy with it, of course we do not have the pretentiousness that everybody like our taste.
For the parking: we are one of few hotel in Siena which has a garage next to it. The parfking in front of us, are always busy because they are public and everybody can park there: they are not our parking, unfortunately.
In any case I hope that you appreciated the wonderful view from your room and the fact that you can reach any point of interest in about 5/10 minutes walking.
We hope that you will come back to visit Siena and us in a next future.
Kind regards from Hotel Minerva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a lovely few days in Siena staying at the Hotel Minerva, the view from our room over the town was stunning, service was really friendly and they sent back the shirts I left in the wardrobe promptly with no fuss at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Rico,

many thanks for your commentary. We are pleased to know that you emjoyed your stay at Minerva's.
We hope that you will come back to visit us and our beautiful city.
Warm regards from Hotel Minerva's staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were travelling and hadn't planned on spending any time in Siena - we called ahead and asked if they could accommodate us - a room for 4 (with 2 small children) and a room for 2 -- we lucked out -- the room for 4 was large and very quiet - kids were able to sleep very well - and we got a room with a wonderful view and balcony.

The breakfast was great - staff very professional, and cordial. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony that looks over the city and if you are travelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Anna,

many thanks for your commentary. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Minerva and we hope that you will come back to visit us again in a next future.
Warm regards from Hotel Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The first thing we noticed on arriving into our room was the noise level. The floors are tiled and the walls seem to be paper thin with the result every noise from the corridor and adjoining rooms could be heard. We were able to hear the conversation in the next room. When the toilet was flushed in the next room it was if it was in our room. At 6am I was woken by LOUD banging noises like furniture being moved and doors banging. The only thing I could think it was was the staff preparing for the day and setting up the breakfast room without any regard for guests. The noise continued non stop with doors banging etc. until I got up at 7.45. Hotel is within walking distance of the main square, room was clean and functional, staff are courteous and helpful, and breakfast was good however not a good hotel to stay in if you are even the least bit sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5ylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Sylvia,

many thanks for your commentary. It is not possible the noises you heard in the very early morning were coming from the breakfast room, as you saw, the breakfast room is just next to the lobby and the rooms are on the opposite side (in the back part of the hotel) so the noise came for somewhere else.
IOn any case you could have phined the reception to make present the problem and the porter would have checked for you the source of the noise,
I'm happy that anyway you liked your room and our staff.
A warm regard from Hotel Minerva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I recommend taking the bus rather than a taxi when you arrive at the GARE SNCF. It's a close commute and not to mention at a very cheap price! The bus stop is about 3-5 minutes away from Minerva and there are many lines running through.

Hotel Minerva, compared to others, is a larger hotel. It is at the beginning of a slightly inclined road. Upon check in, they will ask you for your passport to take record of all guests staying at the hotel. From my experience, this is done throughout Italy. However, I know some hotels will only ask for the passport of the person who booked the hotel. Minerva, however, asked for both of ours.

When we got to our rooms, it was very clean with what looks to be new furniture. What we loved most about the room was our breathtaking view overlooking the Siena housing (trust me, very beautiful at night!) and our Air Conditioner! Being it was extremely hot to travel in the Summer, we were blessed by a room with the strongest AC we could ever ask for! We LOVED how there was some kind of jazz concert playing at night because we heard the music from our room throughout the evening until about 1am. We turned our lights off (so no bugs can come in), opened our windows and just relaxed with the music playing in the background. VERY relaxing and romantic! Siena at night, AMAZING! The room was very spacious and larger than other European rooms/hotels we have been to. No Carpet! Lots of cabinet space with extra pillows and blankets should you need it. Good bathroom and shower. Your stay comes with free breakfast, so that was a huge plus to get our day started and our Espresso!

The only thing we didn't like about the hotel/rooms was that the bed was VERY squeaky. Whenever we would toss and turn it would squeak and make noise. This part was not relaxing at all, especially after a long day of walking around. At least the Jazz music helped us. Also the bathroom door squeaked as well so you can definitely hear someone going to the bathroom in the middle of the night. Lastly, either they have very thin walls, or people are just very loud coming through the halls. We woke up to talking, could have been house keeping or guests. We also heard what I think was people dropping their luggage. An unexpected loud noise to wake up to was not pleasant. The talking started around 8:45am and I only know this because I couldn't get back to sleep.

Room Tip: Try to request rooms away from the elevator or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nsison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear guest,

many thanks for your commentary. I'm please that you appreciated our view from the rooms and the hotel services.
I will control the bed and will cfhange it if it so noisy.
Unfortunately the corrdidors are nartrow and it'easy to hear people screaming: I beg your pardon for that.
We hope that you will come back toi admire once again our amazing view of Siena.
Best wishes from Hotel Minerva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

don't take room 214 no view cant open shutters of windows unless you like to be looked at constantly , so noisy you cant get to sleep because of the noise from houses across from you and rooms above and next door , plumbing wakes you every time anyone uses toilet near you as the sound of the flush is deafening , feel sorry for the breakfast staff who work their butts off but if you don't go close to 7.30 or so there isn't much left after that yogurt always first to go it seems shame as well as hotel seemed ok but the room was dirty and I was in perpetual darkness as I couldn't open window at all. I arrived awaiting this bell boy id heard of and all I got was a huge heavy key tossed down by a balding receptionist and told room was on first floor after a bit of a wander about I found it would never go back usually go to Hotel il Giardino or Hotel Athena when I am in Siena

Room Tip: say no to room 214!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazzabhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear guest,
I'm sorry for your bad experience, but I remind you that you reserved an economy room, that is cheaper than the other rooms because it does not have any view. Either in expedia or Booking there are photos of the economy room, so that the guests do not have expectation for the view on the city.
so next time, if you weant the view and a more confortable room I wrmly recommend you to book a standard or a Superior room.
Kind regards from Hotel Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Property: Hotel Minerva
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 72, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is a three star hotel in the historic center of Siena, overlooking from its position the city of the Palio. Hotel Minerva is located in the heart of Siena, the medieval city known around the world for the Palio and its age-old traditions, miracles and saints like Catherine and Bernard Tolomei, art, culture, food and wine. Just 10 minutes from Piazza del Campo and very close to the train station, the three-star hotel has 56 rooms, divided into Standard, Superior and Business, a meeting room and a garage. Perfect for business trips as a vacation exploring Siena and the most beautiful cities of Tuscany, Hotel Minerva is characterized by a warm welcome and an extreme attention to the customer. CHECK-IN 3.30 P.M. CHECK-OUT 10.30 A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing