We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views from Floor to Ceiling Windows”
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights while on a bike tour through Tuscany. The view overlooking the city was absolutely fantastic! Windows were floor to ceiling - like living in a Lorenzetti painting! City lights at night and sunrise from my balcony were highlights of my trip. I experienced no problem with noise during my stay. Hotel is quaint, old-fashioned style, typical budget type. Basic, but friendly - this is not the Ritz. But the views - stupendous. Easy 10-15 minute walk to city center and plenty of shops nearby.

Room Tip: Request a city view wtih balcony. I think I had Room #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Navy,

many thanks for your commentary. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Minerva's and we hope that you will come back to visit us again in a next future.
Warm regards form Hotel Minerva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is a great value. It is situated about a 10 minute walk from Piazza del Campo with a pretty view overlooking the city. Parking was offered right in the hotel which is a real plus in these old cities. The hotel is fairly plain in décor and the rooms were very simple but good size. There is even an elevator. No other attractions within the hotel. However, I appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel; there were no musty carpets or furniture. The breakfast was also included, while it was a typical European breakfast with break, yogurt, cereal, and meat and cheese, it was easy and included. There were a couple of restaurants within a minute walk.

Room Tip: Choose a room above floor zero for noise reduction. There are great blinds to block out the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Markyg,

many thanks for your commentary. I'm happy to read that your stay at Minerva was good.
We hope you will come to visit us again in a next future.
Warm regards from Hotel Minerva's staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Not many hotels here, and this one is closer to the train station. Hotel has marble floors and is very noisy, The door gets closed and you hear it all over the hotel! Rooms are OK, but not very clean! The breakfast is OK, but when something runs out, it stays run out!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Tatonka,

many thanks for your commentary. We are aware that we have some problem of noise, but as I explained many times, we are in a historic building and dramatic refurbishment are not allowed. As far as the cleanyness of the rooms, we have the maiden in the morning and a bellboy in the afternoon, so it is sufficient to ask the reception and someone will clean again the room.
The same for the breakfast when something runs out, if it not time to close the service, if you asxk my colleague she will put other thing to eat.
A warm regarf from Hotel Minerva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Large rooms with views over Siena from our balcony. However they were very sparse and cold, and the interior furnishings were awful (hospital like) with large unslightly shutters to keep out the afternoon sun. Wifi doesn't work in room, in fact, we found that wifi hardly worked anywhere in the hotel.
The beds were really hard (but that's pretty much everywhere in Italy) and they creaked every time one of us turned so being a light sleeper i kept on waking up during the night.

Situated just outside the city walls (and literally just outside the ZTL) it was easy to find but difficult to get to without accidentally crossing into the ZTL. Although there's parking out front, it's always taken so it's hard to check in and then park the car. I dropped my partner off to check in, find the parking whilst i double parked out front. Parking is 12 euro a day, not pre booking is required just let them know you are after parking at reception.

The location was decent, it's not in the heart of Siena but maybe 15min walk but we found a street of really good restaurants which were decent priced just inside the walls. Also it's close to the bus station for intercity buses. (the train station is actually quite a far walk and not as conveinent as the buses)

If you need laundry done, there's a laundromat is inside Siena and then one outside the walls on Via Simone Martini. They're both about a 15min walk to the hotel but the one inside Siena is a relatively flat walk whereas the one outside the wall is hilly. But we found the laundry very expensive (10-15 euro a kg) better to save it for any self service ones in larger cities.

The customer service at Hotel Minvera is hit and miss, we found some staff really friendly and helpful and other staff to be exact opposite. Good thing is breakfast was pretty good, large range of food.

Given all the pros and cons, we found this was one of the cheapest hotels within a decent walking distance with parking available. If this is what you are after Hotel Minvera is acceptable.

Room Tip: it seems like pretty much all the rooms have a balcony with views but double check when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear guest,

many thanks for your commentary. For the aspect of the rooms, many of uur guests are happy with it, of course we do not have the pretentiousness that everybody like our taste.
For the parking: we are one of few hotel in Siena which has a garage next to it. The parfking in front of us, are always busy because they are public and everybody can park there: they are not our parking, unfortunately.
In any case I hope that you appreciated the wonderful view from your room and the fact that you can reach any point of interest in about 5/10 minutes walking.
We hope that you will come back to visit Siena and us in a next future.
Kind regards from Hotel Minerva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a lovely few days in Siena staying at the Hotel Minerva, the view from our room over the town was stunning, service was really friendly and they sent back the shirts I left in the wardrobe promptly with no fuss at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Rico,

many thanks for your commentary. We are pleased to know that you emjoyed your stay at Minerva's.
We hope that you will come back to visit us and our beautiful city.
Warm regards from Hotel Minerva's staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were travelling and hadn't planned on spending any time in Siena - we called ahead and asked if they could accommodate us - a room for 4 (with 2 small children) and a room for 2 -- we lucked out -- the room for 4 was large and very quiet - kids were able to sleep very well - and we got a room with a wonderful view and balcony.

The breakfast was great - staff very professional, and cordial. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony that looks over the city and if you are travelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Anna,

many thanks for your commentary. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Minerva and we hope that you will come back to visit us again in a next future.
Warm regards from Hotel Minerva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The first thing we noticed on arriving into our room was the noise level. The floors are tiled and the walls seem to be paper thin with the result every noise from the corridor and adjoining rooms could be heard. We were able to hear the conversation in the next room. When the toilet was flushed in the next room it was if it was in our room. At 6am I was woken by LOUD banging noises like furniture being moved and doors banging. The only thing I could think it was was the staff preparing for the day and setting up the breakfast room without any regard for guests. The noise continued non stop with doors banging etc. until I got up at 7.45. Hotel is within walking distance of the main square, room was clean and functional, staff are courteous and helpful, and breakfast was good however not a good hotel to stay in if you are even the least bit sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5ylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Sylvia,

many thanks for your commentary. It is not possible the noises you heard in the very early morning were coming from the breakfast room, as you saw, the breakfast room is just next to the lobby and the rooms are on the opposite side (in the back part of the hotel) so the noise came for somewhere else.
IOn any case you could have phined the reception to make present the problem and the porter would have checked for you the source of the noise,
I'm happy that anyway you liked your room and our staff.
A warm regard from Hotel Minerva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#21 of 40 in Siena
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#10 of 40 in Siena
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 72, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: £52 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is a three star hotel in the historic center of Siena, overlooking from its position the city of the Palio. Hotel Minerva is located in the heart of Siena, the medieval city known around the world for the Palio and its age-old traditions, miracles and saints like Catherine and Bernard Tolomei, art, culture, food and wine. Just 10 minutes from Piazza del Campo and very close to the train station, the three-star hotel has 56 rooms, divided into Standard, Superior and Business. Rooms are not soundproofed. Meeting room and a garage. Free Wi Fi. Perfect for business trips as a vacation exploring Siena and the most beautiful cities of Tuscany, Hotel Minerva is characterized by a warm welcome and an extreme attention to the customer. CHECK-IN 3.30 P.M. CHECK-OUT 10.30 A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing