We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A very good budget hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is simple and comfortable, around a 10-15 minute walk from the Campo. I was lucky enough to get room 204, which had a truly spectacular view over the city. It was a twin room, but if you're looking for a double, make sure you ask for one with a view - it didn't cost me anything more, I just got lucky. I noticed that some rooms had the view and others faced a wall, and which one you get will make a big difference to your experience of the place.

One of the things that drew me to this particular hotel was the fact that it offered breakfast. I didn't know what to expect, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Croissants, bread, rolls, cereal, yogurts, fresh fruit, donuts, cheese, etc - it was lovely! You have to ask for a pot of either tea or coffee up at the bar and they bring it over though, there's no self service for drinks other than the fruit juices.

The rooms are plain, but I never minded that because they were perfectly fine for my needs. The value of this hotel was out of this world, it was one of the cheapest hotels I found in Siena, and is amazingly within good walking distance of everywhere you'd want to see in the city. Handily enough, it's also only a 5 minute walk from the bus station, which suited me as I don't drive. The convenience stores in the area are also cheaper than in the heart of the city, so you can easily pick up some cheap items before starting your day.

I would absolutely stay here again when I go back to Siena!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city, it doesn't cost any more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ais11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Minerva S, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Ais,

many thanks for your very nice commentary. we are very pleased that you enjoyed so much your stay at Minerva's.
All the standard rooms have the spectacular view you described, only the econimic rooms do not have view, that's why their rate is cheaper. For those who reserved an economic room, when it is possible we always offer an upgrade for a little extra money.
We hope you will come back to visit us again very soon.
Best wishes from Hotel Minerva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    573
    285
    73
    23
See reviews for
241
654
52
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

After reading some of the reviews my husband and I were a little worried, but having travelled to Italy a lot and visited various cities, we knew that Italian hotels are sometimes quirky! Arriving at the hotel mid afternoon we were greeted by Roberto, who was absolutely lovely. He gave us room 6. The room was fantastic, it was large and beautifully clean, the bathroom was huge and the shower very powerful, just what my husband loves. Towels and bedding were changed every day. When we opened the terrace windows we were greeted by the most fantastic views of Siena. Breakfast was also very good, typical continental but with plenty of everything. The coffee was to die for, everything from cappucino to cafe latte and plenty of it! The hotel was just ten minutes away from the centre of everything up a slight hill but nothing too drastic. The restaurant across the road from the hotel was excellent. The bus station was only ten minutes away and there is a direct bus from there to Pisa Airport. We arrived from Pisa by train, changing at Empoli but with only a couple of platforms was very easy to find the correct platforms. We weren't too sure about the distance from the train station so played it safe and took a taxi which only cost about 7 euro's. I would certainly recommend this hotel but book a superior room it is certainly worth the extra. Very good value for money. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a superior room, these are at the back of the hotel with fantastic views. Rooms 4, 5 & 6 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheilaP2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Minerva S, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Sheila,

thank you for your conìmmentary. I'm glad to read that you were positively surprised by our hotel.
We are waiting for another holiday in our fantastic city.
Best regards from Hotel Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is only about a 10-15 minute walk from Siena's Piazza del Campo. The breakfast is quite good. The rooms are on the small side but still comfortable. The views of Siena, especially at night, are breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cl0ser2thesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Minerva S, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear guest,

many thanks for your commentary. I'm happy to hear that your stay was good and that you were fascinated by the view from the window.
I hope you will come back to visit us again and our beautiful city.
Best regards from Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We got a room with a spectacular view of the city center.
The hotel is very well located, about 10-15 minutes walk from Piazza del Campo.
It has a parking place, the staff is very kind and helpful and the breakfast is very good, both for sweet and salty taste. Fresh seasonal fruit available and home-made cakes.
The room itself was a bit small but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom is very big.
We used it for visiting the city and as base camp for daily trips around Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky_Wilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Minerva S, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Nicky,

manu thanks for your commentary. I'm happy to read that your stay at Minerva's was good and we are waiting you for another stay in our wonderful city.
Kind regards from Hotel Minerva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I'd been slightly concerned based on some of the reviews on here and booked a 'superior room' to ensure a good view and a decent size room. The room was more than big enough (it felt huge compared to a small room we'd stayed in the previous night in Rome) and the view was fantastic, especially at night.
We'd arrived in Siena by train and took the big escalator up the hill then walked down to hotel although it would have also been possible to take a bus. To walk directly from the station up the hill would have been a struggle with suitcases in the heat but it was fine going back down at the end of our stay.
To get to the edge of the old town is a short walk up the hill and to get to the main sites is another 5-10 minute walk through the old town.
The hotel itself was functional, the staff were perfectly helpful (though not overly friendly), and breakfast was decent.

Room Tip: If you can find a good deal on a superior room go for it to get a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma1851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Minerva S, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear guest,

many thanks for your commentary. I'm happy you've been positively surprised by our hotel and we hope to have you again as our guest in a near future.
Best whishes from Hotel Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is located from walking distance to the historic center outside of the tourist zone. It's 10 minutes walk to the center. The hotel can be easily reached by car without having to pass through the historic center, and it has a private parking garage available.

The room wasn't very big, but it was clean and nice, and it had all the amenities we needed. The breakfast was very tasty and had a great selection of both sweet and salty alternatives.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, and they answered to all our questions.

This is a great hotel if you visit Siena or need a base camp for exploring the region.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Minerva S, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Dinky,

many thanks for your commentary. I0m happy that your stay at Minerva's was good, so I hope you will come to visit us again in your next trip to Siena.
Best whishes from Hotel Minerva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

SItuated 10 mins walk from Il Campo in Siena the location is good. With parking for 12 euro in the house its good for people coming with car. The rooms however are smallish, boring and nothing special. The breakfast is OK. But the hotel lobby is a catastrophy, its just boring, sterile. I dont know what they wanted, I think the want to be a posh hotel, the attitude from the staff indicated that, but they are in reality a small budget hotel. If they got to grips with that and actually tried to be a good small hotel they could be great, as it is now it is a sleeping place, nothing more.,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almgren4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Minerva S, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Almgren,

I'm sorry that hotel was not what you expected. It's the property who decides the external aspect of the rooms and the lobby, so I can understand that maybe someone couldf disagree with their taste, but the aim is not to appear a posh hotel. We only try to do at best our work and make our best to have our guest sarisfied of their stay: sometimes we succeed in doing it and sometimes not. That's all.
Best regards from Hotel Minerva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,043 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,079 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Property: Hotel Minerva
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 72, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is a three star hotel in the historic center of Siena, overlooking from its position the city of the Palio. Hotel Minerva is located in the heart of Siena, the medieval city known around the world for the Palio and its age-old traditions, miracles and saints like Catherine and Bernard Tolomei, art, culture, food and wine. Just 10 minutes from Piazza del Campo and very close to the train station, the three-star hotel has 56 rooms, divided into Standard, Superior and Business, a meeting room and a garage. Perfect for business trips as a vacation exploring Siena and the most beautiful cities of Tuscany, Hotel Minerva is characterized by a warm welcome and an extreme attention to the customer. CHECK-IN 3.30 P.M. CHECK-OUT 10.30 A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing