We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“try to book rooms in back of hotel !!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
charlstonsc
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“try to book rooms in back of hotel !!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

this is a pretty little gem just outside of the walls of the city, but an easy walk into same. the view from the rooms in the back of the hotel, as well as the garden outdoor seating/bar area are magnificient ! service is attentive and friendly, from the check in, to the bartender, to the breakfast servers. the only complaint about this hotel is that if you get a room in front, be prepared for lots of noise.

Room Tip: book in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    395
    90
    20
    17
See reviews for
163
888
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Palazzo Ravizza for 3 nights in October and absolutely loved every single minute of our stay here. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! Although our room was on the small side, it had a stunning view over the Tuscan countryside, and the bathroom was spacious with all the amenities we needed. The room was extremely clean, nicely decorated, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfasts were the best we had while in Italy with a vast selection of breads, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cereals, and juices. The croissants were warm and flaky, and the coffee machine made the most heavenly cappuccinos!! The location of this hotel couldn't be more ideal. It is just a five minute walk to Il Campo and the Duomo, and there are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance. One of our favorite restaurants was San Giuseppe. The food was out of this world! You have to book at least a day in advance, though, as this place gets busy and is a favorite with the locals! The garden at the back of the hotel is the perfect place to sit, relax, sip a glass of wine, and watch the sun slip behind the hills. We did this each night we stayed here, before heading out to dinner. In the summer months you can enjoy breakfast in the garden too, but by October it was a bit too chilly to sit outside in the early morning. We also loved the nooks and crannies in the library area on the ground floor, where you could read, access the free wi-fi, or sit around and chat with other guests. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. All in all, our experience here couldn't have been any better. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank planetclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed at Palazzo Ravizza in September 2011. We had also stayed here in 2006 but feel that the quality has dropped a bit. Our room was extremely small and the bathroom was a closet. In fact, with the hotel room door open, we could not even see the bathroom door and thought that we had been given a room with no bathroom! We felt that the previous level of service, food, and options were better years earlier.

The hotel is definitely located in a convenient place within the walls of Siena, and of course its convenient parking makes it quite unique. The breakfasts in the garden are also nice. The front desk staff are polite but sent us to the same exact 2 restaurants that they did 5 years earlier. We sought out and found other ones that were much nicer during our several day stay. They appear to be catering more and more to an English/American clientele. This is not bad but the experience was starting to almost feel like an English-speaking, Americanized version of Siena.

I have stayed in 4 different places in Siena and Palazzo Ravizza is certainly convenient and inviting, but I would only stay here again if it was really important to be within the city walls and have free parking.

Room Tip: Regular rooms are small; if you want a good one you should upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This hotel is located just inside the city walls and is a short stroll from the campo and good restaurants. the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are well appointed, quiet and clean. The back garden area is beautiful too. The only downside was the breakfast which didn't offer many options especially given I am gluten and dairy free; I brought my own soy milk and gluten free bread but the only suitable toppings were salami and jam - some lean meat or boiled egg may have been nice.
Overall I am happy with the choice we made and I wouldn't say no to staying there again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Staying here is like being in a dream. Our large room had an old-world feel, with wide floorboards and high ceilings. The windows opened over the patio and the view was to the west over the Etruscan countryside beyond the city walls. Staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast offerings were excellent and diverse. The location is great. A cocktail on the patio at dusk is heaven.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trehugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

What a supreb hotel: excellent location, very quiet and comfortable rooms, and a garden and view of the valley unsurpassed!

We enjoyed everything and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Thanks to "Request Italy" our recent trip to Italy turned out to be very special, and memorable. Our stay at Palazzo Ravizza in Siena was just wonderful. The location was great, and just a short walk to many beautiful sites, stores, and restaurants. "Request Italy" was able to get us an upgrade to a superior room at the Palazzo Ravizza at a very reasonable price. Our accommodations were beautiful and charming. We loved strolling on the grounds of the Palazzo which overlook the Tuscan countryside. "Request Italy" provided us with much information to help us plan our daily activities in and around Siena as well as sending us to great restaurants. We would certainly recommend "Request Italy" to others who want to make their vacation in Italy an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing