We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Palazzo Ravizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay at Palazzo Ravizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We showed up in Siena without reservations in December 2011, and walked into the Palazzo Ravizza. We ended up with a huge twin/king room on the top floor with a walk in closet and large bathroom for 80 euros!! Great value for the money. Reasonable location in Siena (which is small to begin with and easy to walk everywhere). Great complimentary breakfast with large selection of breads, meats, cheeses and pastries. Really great service from concierge re: tourist spots, restaurants etc. Loved it here!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    390
    90
    20
    17
See reviews for
158
876
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

The Palazzo Ravizza was a comfortable and quiet place to stay in Siena. Our room had plenty of space and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful, with warm whole grain bread in addition to some fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheese, meat, and very good automatic coffee. There is a lower breakfast room with a view of the adjacent valley. The property is beginning to need some work, but so far is not a problem. In the breakfast room there is a photo of a beautiful clock that sat on a small mantle saying Stolen, 2004. After 7 years, they might have replaced it.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an arm chair
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wineprof91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood, Texas
Level Contributor
247 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I have a lot of great things to say about this property and one thing to watch out for. It's a very old and beautiful place especially the view out back. Probably one of the prettiest views I have seen in Tuscany. From the chairs and wine by the wall to the grapes growing near the parking lot to the frescos on the ceiling, it's by far the most Italian charm we had in all our hotels. Staff was very nice, breakfast was wonderful and to just walk the garden is lovely. Watch out for the way you book online though. I honestly don't know if it was deceiving or if I was just not savvy enough to book a hotel in Italy. The price was about 160 Euros (approx $200 with all fees) on a room and the pictures on the website showed large rooms with pillars and frescos. When I checked in I got a very tiny, closterphobic, low ceiling room in what Americans would call "the attic" and a lot of steps to get to it dragging a suitcase (no elevator). When I opened up the brochure they had in their lobby and showed them the pictures (same ones I saw on the website) she said "Those rooms are 300 Euros) (about $450 with taxes). I asked how I could have made such a huge mistake and she said that if I look on my reservation email they sent me, the letters "lof" were on there. I asked what that means and she said LOFT! So then my next question was that on the website they never showed a loft, only the bigger rooms so that's what I thought I was getting. There clearly was a mis-communication here on my part as you cannot talk to them on the phone and since you aren't there, you don't really know what you are getting. She said those bigger rooms were booked so they gave me "lof"! Well that's like being in the attic at Grandma's house so make sure you are getting a real room. The second night there, they allowed us to switch to the nicer rooms, they even took our luggage up and down those steps for us and once we got in there; IT WAS HEAVEN!

Room Tip: Other than the loft rooms, I can't imagine any room in this place not being a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TREVI36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paxos, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed here for 2nts early Dec on way back to Greece. Nice old colonial pension hotel with high ceilings & everywhere you turn there is a beautiful old antique piece of furniture.

Nice gardens which overlook the stunning Tuscan hills.

Great location & staff were fantastic & very helpful.

All in all a great choice for Siena & with private gated parking.

The only thing I would say was a negative, no way of getting a tea/coffee outside of breakfast hours, not even facilities in the room, but nice little cafe opposite which appeared to open all day.

Room Tip: Superior rooms get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paxosconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

After arriving by train we took a taxi (13 euro) to the Palazzo, for a while we thought that the driver was taking us the long way around until we realised that Siena is a walled city and access points through the wall is limited, vehicle usage inside the city limited.
Reception staff were excellent helpful with maps etc and only too happy to organise tours for us and pre booked our cab for the morning we left.WIFI is free.
Our room was large with a ornate ceiling ,very clean and comfortable, airconditioned with views to the front street.we could close the wooden shutters to keep out noise.
Breakfast had more than enough variety, cold meats etc.
The view from the back garden is spectacular looking over the countryside.
Some may say that it is expensive we did not worry about the cost what we wanted was the experience of staying here a experience we very much enjoyed,particularly after the tourist had left for the day, and yes we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlstonsc
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

this is a pretty little gem just outside of the walls of the city, but an easy walk into same. the view from the rooms in the back of the hotel, as well as the garden outdoor seating/bar area are magnificient ! service is attentive and friendly, from the check in, to the bartender, to the breakfast servers. the only complaint about this hotel is that if you get a room in front, be prepared for lots of noise.

Room Tip: book in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Palazzo Ravizza for 3 nights in October and absolutely loved every single minute of our stay here. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! Although our room was on the small side, it had a stunning view over the Tuscan countryside, and the bathroom was spacious with all the amenities we needed. The room was extremely clean, nicely decorated, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfasts were the best we had while in Italy with a vast selection of breads, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cereals, and juices. The croissants were warm and flaky, and the coffee machine made the most heavenly cappuccinos!! The location of this hotel couldn't be more ideal. It is just a five minute walk to Il Campo and the Duomo, and there are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance. One of our favorite restaurants was San Giuseppe. The food was out of this world! You have to book at least a day in advance, though, as this place gets busy and is a favorite with the locals! The garden at the back of the hotel is the perfect place to sit, relax, sip a glass of wine, and watch the sun slip behind the hills. We did this each night we stayed here, before heading out to dinner. In the summer months you can enjoy breakfast in the garden too, but by October it was a bit too chilly to sit outside in the early morning. We also loved the nooks and crannies in the library area on the ground floor, where you could read, access the free wi-fi, or sit around and chat with other guests. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. All in all, our experience here couldn't have been any better. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank planetclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing