We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Siena!”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We chose the suites and it was worth it. The rooms overlook a quaint patio area with a great view beyond. Suites were very comfortable, charming and spacious. Service was friendly and helpful. Great experience. Just a short walk to the main attractions.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms, but loved our suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alocuzzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 days at the end of March 2012 and were absolutely delighted. We arrived by car and found the hotel easily. The car parking is excellent and the hotel is set in one of the oldest buildings in Sienna. Beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel offering stunning views over the Tuscan countryside. The staff were exceptionally helpful and gave us advice which contributed to a great experience. Breakfast good. Value for money superb.

Room Tip: Front room view of nice square. Back room view over gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is the perfect hotel for a visit to Siena. The rooms are very nice, the breakfasts are wonderful, the staff is excellent, the views are to die for, the garden is a gem that provides a getaway to relax every afternoon, it is inside the walls of the old city but close to the Porta San Marco so easy entry, and it has its own parking. Everything is well within walking distance and the walks on the city streets are especially enjoyable. There are a number of very good restaurants within a ten minute walk and there is shopping all along the way.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks over the Tuscan view. Also, make sure you enter the old city by the San Marc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrsantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Big, nice rooms. Beautiful gardens. Free parking and WiFi. Overall excellent location and hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank els007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The incredible Tuscan view combined with a piazza full of character is what you are getting here.
The ambiance will make you forget the slight quirkiness of the room. Excellent!

Room Tip: We got lucky and had a room overlooking the garden and beyond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We simply loved this hotel, it's amazing! The building seems to be an old palace, and it is all well renovated, cosy, clean, comfortable!! We enjoyed a lot our stay.
Our room had style, the bathroom's door did not appear from inside the room, because the painting on the wall hidded it. The place is very quiet, the staff was wonderful and helpful, the breakfast very complete and tasty, with fresh breads and coffees. The courtyard is the best part: from there you can admire a wonderful view of the Toscana's fields! And also sit there and relax with a glass of wine and some bruschettas.
The price is excellent for the stay and we were upset of staying only one night in this wonderful hotel and in the gorgeous city of Siena. But we'll return, for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laetitiaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

A charming hotel, architecturally stunning and rich with history, on the edge of Siena with picture postcard views of Tuscany. Location wise the Palazzo Ravizza is like getting two vacations spots in one; city in the front, countryside in the back. Location and views are what you are paying for when you book at the Palazzo Ravizza because the rest of our stay was a mixture of hot and cold; the rooms are warm and the service is frigid.

Great Location: On the edge of the wall, the hotel is still within the city but not on top of the action. We loved the location because we were still able to walk to everything but away from tourist central. It was like retreating to a country hotel at the end of the day without the car or cab needed to get to a country hotel. We walked everywhere we wanted to visit in Siena, including to and from the bus stop in about 20 minutes time. There are hills and cobblestones throughout the city, and a surprising number of cars for a city that claims to be carless, so guests who do not wish to navigate the streets with luggage should take a cab when they arrive. People driving should be warned that GPS will take you to the front of the hotel, straight through Siena, which will yield a 170 euro fine without the proper authorization. The parking lot of the hotel is in the back and outside of the city wall. Our favorite restaurant on our two week stay in Italy, Osteria Nonna Gina, is steps away from the hotel. We’d return just for that!

Room: We were tempted to book the garden suite, but decided to splurge elsewhere and were very happy with the decision. I did not have the opportunity to see the suite, but our standard room was nearly half the price and had something the garden suite at ground level did not; an excellent view. Room 35 on the third floor was a good size, the bathroom had a full tub although the shower head is awkwardly placed, and the bed and linens comfortable. The olive oil toiletries were nice, although like every hotel we stayed at in Italy there was no hair conditioner. If you are in need of a hairdryer bring your own; the one in the room is useless. The closet was a good size and we were able to store our luggage in there and out of our way. The ceiling, wood beamed and decoratively painted, added to the charm of the room. The wooden shutters kept every ounce of light and sound out of the room, including the 7am church bells. Unfortunately the room got unbearably stuffy and hot if the shutters were left closed, so a compromised had to be made; sweat to death or wake up with the sun. Other guests also commented about the lack of adequate temperature control in the room so this was not limited to just one room. The weather was cool during our visit; I cannot imagine how hot the rooms would get in the summer months.

Garden: We would have spent a full day in the garden, breathing the fresh air and watching the clouds and sun move over the Tuscan countryside. Unfortunately, weather didn’t allow for that type of enjoyment of the garden. We did, however, get a few hours to relax in what is undoubtedly the best feature of the hotel. We recommend getting a liter of the simple yet easy to drink house red wine from the lobby for 7 or 8 euro and enjoying it in the garden. It appeared that only one room has a balcony, so the garden is a great alternative, allowing guests to get outside and savor the views.

Breakfast: Breakfast was an excellent selection of breads, meats, cheeses, jams, and yogurt. Eggs are available for an extra charge, but the provided continental breakfast was perfectly fine. The wild berry jam is excellent, I wanted to jar some up and take it home. The only disappointment was the coffee, an instant machine pushing out cheap and tasteless espressos, lattes, macchiatos, and Americanos.

WiFi: Free and open, although at one point something got screwy with their service and it was asking for a password. It took the hotel staff a few hours to figure out how to disable the password feature to allow people to utilize the WiFi again. The service worked fine in our third floor room, however there was no signal in the garden.

Service: Everyone was very professional, but the service felt cold, not the warm and friendly welcome we received at other hotels on our trip. The hotel website claims to provide concierge services, but they are unwilling, and frankly unable due to what felt like understaffing, to assist with anything beyond the basics. With the number of rooms at the Palazzo Ravizza there should be two people at the front desk during the day, not just one. The staff didn’t go out of their way to help guests with anything more than checking in, checking out, handing out a map of the area marked with some recommended restaurants, and letting people in and out of the parking lot. Anytime we asked if a restaurant, tour, or site was worth visiting we were told “oh, that’s nice,” or “it’s okay,”- not helpful at all. If anything, there were policies that actually made us feel unwelcome, specifically signs alerting guests that there was no picnicking in the garden and a corkage fee if you wanted to drink your own wine on the terrace. There was a bar and house wines available, and some cheese and salami plates that didn’t appear to too gourmet. It would have been great to enjoy the garden with some sandwiches and antipasti from a good restaurant or the grocery store. Something as small as allowing guests to use the garden more freely would go a long way to creating a warm and welcoming environment and encourage guests to mingle.

The Palazzo Ravizza has all the makings of an excellent hotel; great location, gorgeous building, spectacular views, but falls short of being a spectacular place to stay. If you are on a tour, have your whole trip figured out, and don't need the service or assistance of the hotel to make your stay in Siena more memorable then this hotel is adequate for your stay. If you rely on the hotel to make recommendations then stay elsewhere. The Palazzo Ravizza needs to hire extra help at the front desk to provide the level of customer service people booking a stay at this cost expect. Providing better customer service, allowing guests greater use the facilities, and addressing temperature control issues would elevate this hotel from good to great.

Room Tip: Forget booking the garden suite, the standard rooms are on higher floors and have better views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vagablondechelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#2 of 40 in Siena
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,546 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £81 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing