We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding desk and breakfast service/Superb view from garden room”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding desk and breakfast service/Superb view from garden room”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Found this fine small hotel for our first (and last Siena) visit in 1989. It was in Karen Brown/s "Italian Country Inns & Villas". Now we are talking about staying there next year in Room 31! Desk Staff is extremely pleasant and informative. They rightfully love their extraordinary city and helped us fall in love with Siena again. Do get a garden view and opt for the "Superior Double". Really enjoying Siena is in great part about location-PR is perfect for going everywhere without steep streets.

Our thanks and best regards to all the staff of Palazzo Ravizza.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarketTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    407
    91
    20
    17
See reviews for
174
917
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Learned about it form Rick Steve's guide. Lucky got the last room liked it so much stayed another night. all of the staff spoke impeccable English. parking on site a real bonus, take your espresso/cap on the Garden terrace, a fabulous value in our opinion, staff would arrange anything, including moving all of out stuff from room a to b on the second unplanned night, unprompted at that. They even arrange your cancellation of the camera tickets I would have certainly incurred as gps not accurate and I initially parked in the Duomo square!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cowhairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Very conveniently located hotel within Siena, with friendly staff.

The hotel is itself is (of course!) quite old and the facilities (including mattress, AC, etc.) can also improve.

If you are traveling with GPS, call the hotel in advance for directions, we followed the GPS, and ended up having to go through extremely narrow streets (possibly pedestrian only street) and very sharp turns. There is a much easier and pleasant route, make sure you ask beforehand!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongTai_Tai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This place was fantastic in every way. A true Palazzo with such character. All the staff were really helpful and professional. We usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels in Italy but decided on this one based on the reviews. Our room was huge and so lovely, it overlooked the garden and the views were breathtaking. The breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from as well as one of the best cappuccino's in Siena. We loved our 3 days here and plan to return again next year.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden. Room 6 is really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. We picked this place because it was inside the city walls and had parking for our rental car. We could not be happier due to many other reasons. The garden in the back was perfect for relaxing before dinner and watching the sunset. Our room faced the same direction and was nice and spacious. The breakfast was very good, and you could sit out in the garden and enjoy the morning. It was very easy to find, coming in the San Marco gate, there were signs all along the way. The desk made reservations for us at a few great restaurants. Couldn't be happier.

Room Tip: Facing west is best... amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barleyman-SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The Palazzo Ravizza is so wonderful that I was reluctant to leave the room to see the lovely city of Siena! We arrived by bus from Florence (a nice short trip). I recommend taking a taxi to the Palazzo (right across the street after you get off the bus). We arrived early but the friendly lady at the desk made us so welcome. Our room was very large with a big marble bathroom and a fantastic view over the Tuscan countryside. After Venice and Florence this was such a beautiful quiet place to rest and enjoy Tuscany. The breakfast is amazing. Warm homemade breads, cheeses, sausages along with sweet rolls, fruit, yogurt, tomatoes and much more. All the public areas are a delight to explore as well. If you can book ahead be sure and get a room that overlooks the countryside. I'm sure you will feel as we did that this will be one of the highlights of your Italian vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyinOctober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed here one night after our all-day tour of Tuscany. Our tour guide dropped us off right at the door of the hotel. We had considered several other places, but decided to take a chance here based on TA reviews and our tour guide's suggestion. We are really happy that we did! The grounds are beautiful, it's on a hill overlooking the outskirts of the city, and the room we had was huge! I think it was the biggest room we had on our whole trip. The floor was mosaic tile, with a really beautiful design. The bed was comfortable and large. We were on the first floor, next to a large sitting room with a piano and a small chapel (which was locked). Our room looked out over the street in front of the hotel, which was quiet enough.

Breakfast was really good also. The dining room area was full, so we sat on the enclosed terrace and looked out over the hills on the back side of the hotel.

At the lobby, you can buy 1/4 and 1/2 liter pitchers of house wine, or bottled wine by the glass. The price was quite reasonable, and we might have taken advantage of this had we stayed a bit longer.

There is a small room where you can put your baggage after you check out and before you leave town. It's relatively open, so I would not leave anything really valuable here.

Everyone on the staff that we talked to treated us very well and respectfully. Nobody was rude or insulting to us.

The price was somewhat high, but Siena is not the most economical place to stay anyway, and we were here only one night.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room that overlooks the back terrace if you would like a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#7 of 40 in Siena
105 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing