We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We chose Palazzo Ravizza because it is located within the city walls of Siena and has secure parking (we purchased a new car in Germany and drove to Italy so this was a high priority). We stayed in the tower room with beautiful views of the hotel's garden and the Tuscan countryside, as well as great sunsets.

When we arrived early, the receptionist warmly welcomed us and stored our luggage while we went out to explore the town. It was about a 10 minute walk to the spectacular Duomo and about 15 minutes to Il Campo or medieval public square.

We highly recommend Palazzo Ravizza.

Room Tip: Choose the tower room for spectacular views. The elevator only goes up to the 3rd floor so you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExoticExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

The tone for our stay was set immediately, by the graciousness of the hostess at the front desk, upon our arrival. What a wonderful mix of a homey old style hotel, with fast internet in the room. This hotel is within the walls of the city, which places you in walking distance of everything. Their breakfast offering was wonderful and the front desk guidance on restaurants, directions, etc. couldn't have been more right on. Add to that lovely sitting areas and a small bar, where you can get something to sip. Finally, my favorite spot, a beautiful traditional garden with tables, where you can look out for miles on the glories of Tuscany.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank MOTHEROFBRIDE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I stayed four four nights here and found the hotel and staff to be wonderful.
Thanks to Travelocity we saw the photos of the garden and its fantastic view over the Sienese hills to the west. Lovely sunset with a glass of wine or early morning breakfast outside.
The first 2 nights we had a huge beautiful town side view (we always wait too long before doing things!). Every room and the common areas are full of original antiques and art. There's a lovely common room with a Steinway grand. In fact one afternoon 2 opera singers entertained there while practising.
When a garden/hills view room became available we moved over. Two huge windows could, are were, thrown open to behold the gorgeous view. The 15 foot ceiling was decorated with a very nice fresco. We even had an upstairs loft with 2 single beds if someone was travelling with kids.
The gardens were very nice. The gated parking lot below the gardens was roomy and easy to access.
The breakfast was very good. Their homemade oatmeal bread was incredible. Croissants to die for. Nothing hot but everywhere in Italy we stayed the hot stuff-scrambled eggs, bacon and some sort of weiner --we passed on anyway.
Staff we very helpful. Free wi-fi, computer, great book exchange and a terrific little bookstore.
The palazzo has great history and location.
Easily the best place we stayed and well worth the price.
By the way Siena and environs are awesome.
Hugh and Kim M-- Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughandKim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I can see a renaissance palace existed here in the past. A few remnants of the bygone splendor still visible in the grand salon, wide stone staircases, vaulted ceilings and tiled floors in the hallways, breakfast room, lounge and some common areas. The rest of the palazzo screams tired and needed some upgrade. I peeked in a lot of bedrooms as they where left open by housekeeping during checkout time around ten-ish in the morning. They all looked like ours- worn with sheets that needed replacement. The bathrooms were tight and the amenities very basic. The landscaping in the garden is not well-maintained. The plants needed some pruning and TLC. The greenhouse was dilapidated. I smelled a whiff of dog poo while seating on a wicker in the garden. The breakfast extension room downstairs had cobwebs, dust and dirt. There is no door between the laundry and the breakfast room. Machines were spinning loudly while we were eating breakfast. Breakfast food choices was limited. On the positive side, the views from our bedroom was spectacular. The concierge service was first rate. A major upgrade and restoration here may entice back the count and the countess.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We just got back from 5 nights in Siena as part of our trip to Italy. I selected the Palazo Ravizza and was definately not sorry. It is perfectly located with parking just steps outside the city gate a 5 minute walk to the Duomo. Our room was fantastic with a balcony that overlooked the whole valley with breath taking views. The room itself was large and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good with fruit, pasteries, cereal and juices. The garden of the hotel was a lovely oasis.

Just a warning to anyone driving in using GPS. Call the hotel first as the GPS takes you through town which is closed to traffic and you can be fined. The hotel called the police for us, explained, and they waived the fine.

I would definately stay here again when I return to Siena.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the balcony. There is only one and it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCtraveler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

my husband and I just returned from a 31/2 week trip around Italy. Our time at he Hotel Ravizza was the highlight of our trip. the location is perfect, just outside the city gate near the Duomo. Our room was lovely and included an excellent view of the Tuscan countryside.The hotel has a lovely garden where they serve a bountiful breakfast. they also have a parking lot and are very capable of giving to directions to those who want to explore the area. The staff is top notch. take a taxi from the train station and go to their recommended restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsmchugh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very good value for money! Overall decoration (common areas and rooms) was consistent with the time and history of the building itself and the surroundings. The old style breakfast was delicious and generous. I felt transported back in time and I loved it! The place really did it for me especially as price was very reasonable and location was very convenient. I would definitely recommend it to those appreciative of history and traditional settings. This is not to be confused with lack of comfort. The rooms are spacious with pretty much all the ammenities needed. You just shouldn't expect a chain like hotel. Thank God for that!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#2 of 40 in Siena
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,538 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £81 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing