We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tuscan dream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Tuscan dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, oozing charm. Spacious rooms with antique style decor, high ceilings and shuttered windows, many boasting views of the beautiful Tuscan countryside. A large terrace/garden area also overlooks the rolling green countryside - breakfast is served here, and you can enjoy a relaxing pre dinner drink in the evening, or just sit and soak up the atmosphere. An easy walk into town, but far enough away to escape the bustling crowds. Welcoming and efficient staff added to the pleasure of our stay. Excellent value for money for Italy.

Room Tip: The rooms with views over the countryside rather than the street are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dldmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    390
    90
    20
    17
See reviews for
158
875
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel combines old world charm with modern amenities. It is located within the old city walls, yet offers free parking (just make sure to get directions since access to hotel is permitted through one gate only). Lovely breakfast is offered in the garden with beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside. It's a pleasant walk to the center of town. Room was quiet, clean and of good size, bed comfortable. Room serviced daily. Wish i could stay longer.

Room Tip: Even the room facing the street was well insulated and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

After visiting Rome, we drove to Sienna and stayed at the lovely Palazzo Ravizza for 4 days. This lodging has a lot of pluses, apart from having ambience, space and a lot of history. The convenience of having a private and secure parking was great, allowing side trips to Assissi, etc. The room was spacious, had a/c, mini fridge, wi-fi, well decorated with a wonderful view. The only minus is that they need better lighting in the bathroom and an efficient hair blower.

We enjoyed the breakfast, specially being able to eat in their beautiful garden with views of the Tuscan vineyards and hills. In the afternoons, you can sit and relax, do some reading and have some wine. The location was perfect, accesible to everything, yet peaceful and quiet. The staff was very helpful too! I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again! Make sure to eat at Trattoria Da Dino, Via Casato di Sopra 71. We loved Sienna, and Palazzo Ravizza made our stay even better!

I reserved directly on line, and they were very effcient!

Room Tip: Request room that is quiet, with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda17NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night just before the Palio. The city was energized by the festivities and it was great to experience it. Everything was busy but the staff did a great job orienting us to fully appreciate it. Francesca was particularly good with getting us dinner reservations and helping to arrange transportation the next day to Castellina in Chianti. The nighttime clerk (sorry, did not get your name) was very good, too. She had limited English but we had little trouble learning about all to see in Tuscany from her. The hotel also a wonderful garden out back with a beautiful view of the valley below. It is a great place to sit, drink, and relax at the end of the day. We would not hesitate to stay here again and further explore this vibrant city.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackamas, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent 2 wonderful weeks in Italy - 10 of those days we spent in Sienna at the Holtel Ravizza. It was a lovely, quaint Hotel and very comfortable rooms. The hotel a lot of history. We got to know the staff very well and they were most accomodating. We really enjoyed the Continental breakfast every morning and then we would take long walks around the city. There was so much to see we did not even get to see all of the city. We also rented a car and the hotel had a private and secure parking lot which was very nice to come back to after a long day. We would diffently stay there again.

Room Tip: I can't think of any rooms in the hotel that would not be good. Suggestion go in April - weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Palazzo Ravizza is exactly what you dream of, when looking for a place to stay. It has ambiance, history, style and that special something that many Italian hotels lack, if they are not in the luxury class.
The room was extremely spacious, the bed comfortable, although too hard for my liking, the linen and cover high quality. The shower could use a little make over, but I didn't mind. The only thing that is a big minus is the breakfast: as almost everywhere in Italy, it is very poor. The coffee comes out of a cheap little machine, the taste is disgusting and the "buffet" ist rather poor. But since the Italians are not used to eating breakfast, it is excused - and the next bar to serve a great cappuccino and a croissant or whatever is always just around the corner.
The big plus is the view: you can sit in the lovely garden and just indulge in the finest Tuscan scenery.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjärred, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Sienna is a historical place that gives the visitor a feel of old, powerful and rich past times. Close to the city centre, within the city walls, there is a small hotel that gives you the feeling of being a little prince or a princess for one night. Big beautiful rooms with painted ceilings, 4 meters high and big windows with fantastic view. All comfort has been added without destroying the old rooms and there expressions. Nice and friendly staff. You can enjoy breakfast in the beautiful garden with stunning view over Tuscany landscape.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing