We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming old world hotel”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming old world hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for one night in this charming hotel. Best of all is the garden and the fabulous view overlooking the fields of tuscany. Would highly recommend it, but make sure you have a room with a view

Room Tip: Get onbe with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    402
    91
    20
    17
See reviews for
166
897
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
288 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent sized, classically decorated rooms, with superb views over the Tuscan countryside beyond the city walls if you can get a garden view room. Comfortable very large beds, in very clean rooms.

Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast selection, taken in the garden in warmer weather. Our only gripe was the very poor coffee which none of our party liked.

Excellent location inside the walls, with its own parking, although not the easiest to get to. 10 to 15 minutes walk will get you to the main sights. Excellent spot if you are attending the pantera contrada dinner which is held outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis_England_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Palazzo Ravizza is a hotel, just a few steps from the old city centre, offering parking space, which is a real advantage. The room we stayed in, was rather small but elegant ,with a beautiful view of the garden and the hills in the distance. It was decorated in blue colours and it was comfortable and clean. The bathroom, which had a bathtub and a window, was quite spacious. The staff at the reception desk were really friendly and extremely helpful!
However, our disappointment was great when we saw the breakfast, which was poor and totally inappropriate for a hotel of this kind. Coffee from a machine in Italy?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgos_Kalamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent location near the city centre, the hotel is very peaceful with lovely garden boasting amazing views of the valley. room was very attractive and comfortable but TV lacked channels. our room was facing the front street which was loud if the window was open but no noise if closed. staff were really friendly and helpful. Private parking available which was free and very helpful. perfect for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chap_Abroad2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our first time in Siena...beautiful medieval town in the heart of Tuscany ( my husband did not even know existed :)). What a great surprise.!!!!. I did not know where to start on finding a hotel..after researching a few, Palazzo Ravizza caught my attention, why! AMAZING VIEWS . DO REQUEST A ROOM WITH A VIEW. makes all the differences... feels like you are staring at a postcard.

The Hotel is situated close to Porta San Marco (Porta means gate) Oh Yes, Sienna is surrounded by a "medieval wall" therefore there is 6 gates to access the old center... (so if you book a hotel..and you are driving in yourself, make sure you get not only the address but which gate you access from) ... so Palazzo Ravizza has gorgeous views to the vineyards and ravines just outside Siena, you can enjoy breakfast in the morning or a glass of wine in the afternoon in their beautiful garden/terrace looking at the breath taking views.
Room is simple, high ceilings so it looks bigger... it feels you are staying at an old castle, thick walls, strong furniture, antiques...low doors etc. Wifi all over the hotel, complimentary. Hair dryer, shower. Siena is surrounded by vineyard...so we found that the mosquitos really liked my husband... just pick us some repellent, (Hotel did not have) which they sell in any pharmacy.
Staff is helpful and very nice.
The old city center is all walkable, the Hotel has a parking which you can access from the Hotel.
We will definitely go back.... (did I mentioned that JFK stayed here as a student... the history of the Hotel is quite interesting... if you go, get one of their little brochures...) Enjoy.

Room Tip: book a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nala1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I would probably have given this hotel a 3 1/2 rating, but bumped it to a 4 as a 3 wouldn't have been fair. My lesser rating than other reviewers may have been due to a one off reception attendant and to the fact we had just left the magnificent Palazzo Magnani Feroni in Florence. I do however, try to keep the hotel rating and room rate in mind when I review. The location is ideal, within a 5-10 minutes walk of the town centre and the view is absolutely lovely. We had a room overlooking the beautiful Tuscan countryside and I could have spent hours sitting in the lovely garden. The breakfast was ok and again, it was a delight to eat in the garden. The room itself was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom though was really small and the plumbing noisy. We were there just for one night so while it didn't bother me, if you are staying longer, check for a larger bathroom - I do appreciate historic buildings don't have as much space, but just be aware with your room choice. Our check-in wasn't bad ... Hello, here's your key, there's the elevator and come back within 10 minutes and I'll tell you where to park. Perhaps this is a one off as I heard other guests receiving more info on breakfast location, maps etc. on check out, a different lady was very nice. The hotel corridors felt a bit institutional as opposed to other historic hotels . All in all, this is an adequate hotel with an amazing view and location. For the price, it is a good option for Siena.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a view of the countryside. If you're on the street side, you face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I spent 11 nights in Florence, Tuscany and the Cinque Terre. Palazzo Ravizza was our favourite hotel out of 5 we stayed at during this time. The staff were so welcoming, the room was great, the bed so comfortable and our wet room/bathroom was large and well equipped. I especially would like to thank the lady who helped us reach the hotel after our sat nav sent us the wrong way - I didn't get her name but she was so calm and helpful and provided detailed instructions over the telephone to make sure we reached the hotel safe and well. Having said that Palazzo Ravizza is not difficult to find it was just that our sat nav had a meltdown!!
We especially enjoyed breakfast which was plentiful and served in the garden which had the most amazing views of the tuscan countryside. We also sat in the garden during the evenings with a glass or two of wine prior to the short walk into the centre for our evening meal. This hotel is great, the staff helpful, the rooms comfortable and best of all not too over priced. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AG&MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing