We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful. Phenomenal.”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2009

My husband and I were in Siena over 4 years ago and fell in love with the town and Palazzo Ravizza. When we planned our babymoon, we knew that Italy was a must and that we had to go back to our favorite hill town, Siena. The staff, amenities and charm of this hotel are undeniable. My only regret is that we were there when the weather was cold! We had a room overlooking the garden and it was gorgeous.....I cant wait to return for a summer vacation in Tuscany. You must stay here! Short walk to the Duomo and hill tower with fabulous eating SO close (Nona Ginos- go there! It is 50 meters away from the front door!) The staff was so sweet and helpful. I cant say enough nice things about the quaint rooms and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delgroove64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Palazzo Ravizza in Siena from 2/17 to 2/19. This was our second trip to Siena as well as our second time staying at PR however much like our first trip, it did not disappoint. Upon check-in, we were advised that our room had been updraded at no additional cost. The room that we were upgraded to had absolutely gorgeous views of the valley. It seemed almost surreal looking out the window to see such stunning views. The staff at the hotel was more than accomodating and very friendly. We cannot wait to return to Siena and PR hopefully next time when it is warm so that we can enjoy the patio area. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfrancis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

This is an interesting place with the best front desk staff I have encountered in a long, long time. Their names are Francesca and Nathalie. A terrific location and parking was included in what might be the most expensive public parking city in Europe.
Our room was good but I had to upgrade to get it. The first room I saw had awful and completely worn out chairs(#16).
Breakfast was less than expected. Coffee from a vending-tpye machine was poor. No meat or cheese!
The pluses outweigh the negatives but only with a good rate, which I secured.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinoperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We stayed for two nights during a rainy cold November weekend and were pleased with the hotel. After driving past the front entrance twice (it's tough to spot), we eventually got settled and took advantage of the free parking. Can't remember what we paid, but we were upgraded to a suite with a gigantic bathroom (including a two-person jacuzzi tub!), large closet with safe, bedroom with painted wood ceiling, and a small sitting room with a flat-screen tv and a charming (but decorative i.e. nonworking) fireplace. The views were spectacular. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location is excellent. Breakfast, on the other hand and as other travelers have remarked, was underwhelming. And apparently the restaurant is closed until they find a new chef. Overall, we would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahamasviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2008

Driving up to the front door you may wonder what this hotel just inside the old town of Siena will be like, but once inside you may be pleased by the charming decor, marble steps, tall ceilings, and most importantly wonderful views from the back of the hotel over the Sienese countryside. So do ask for a room with a view! The rooms are comfortable, but bathrooms are small (with a shower only in mine) and noisy (from next door, unless you are in an end of hotel room), if clean and functional. Breakfast is fairly basic but fresh and served by a friendly lady. The front desk people were always charming and spoke good English. It is a few hundred metres' walk into town, but along amazing mediaeval streets. I looked carefully at the other places to stay in Siena itself, and decided that this hotel's combination of location (just near the town's edge, so more accessible), views (which hotels in the middle ot the town may miss), quietness (except for the bathrooms) and pleasant staff made it probably unbeatable. I would definitely stay here again, but ask for a room with a view and no nearby other bathrooms!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Palazzo Ravizza is like staying at your eccentric, wealthy elderly aunt’s mansion. A pretty spectacular place, but slightly worn about the edges.

LOCATION: Within the city walls, easy walking distance to all the sites, just beyond the beaten tourist path.

ROOM: We paid 150 euro but got off-season bumps to an enormous “superior” room that normally costs over 300. Our room had lots of funky old wooden furniture pieces and a step up to the bathroom that might prove disastrous for midnight bathroom visits. Overall, we loved the room except for the bathroom shower with its awkward bi-fold door--it covered only 2/3 of the shower, resulting in pools of water on the tile floor. We feared slipping, as well as electrocution when using the blow-dryer. Walls are a bit thin—we heard some of our enthusiastic neighbors honeymooning next door. We heard Vespas out front at all hours. I’d recommend bringing earplugs.

INTERNET: We got good wireless two floors up, despite instructions that it might not reach that far. The cost: 5 euro/2 hours, 3 euro/1 hour, or 2 euro for 30 minutes. We agree with previous reviewers that free wireless would’ve been nice.

BREAKFAST: Nothing fancy, but decent fuel for your day. Apparently some folks didn’t like the little automatic espresso maker, but we thought it was fine—and we hail from latte’ land USA. To clarify (and I checked), all food and beverage in the main breakfast room is included with your stay. Order something off the standing menu on your table, or step into the bar room next door and order a hand-made coffee drink--and you’ll be charged.

PARKING: Nice secure parking area out back, but getting your car there is a challenge. Driving a car from Siena’s rental car agencies is even harder. Since you can’t motor through the walled town, you have to make a huge “C” around the outskirts of Siena through a confusing series of round-abouts, freeways, and odd streets. Make sure you get specific, detailed directions from hotel staff before you go or you may have trouble. Don’t drive during rush hour and make sure you have plenty of good maps and even a GPS. Once you’re out of Siena proper, it gets much easier, but within the city area...crazy stuff. I personally wouldn’t rent a car out of Siena again.

FRONT DESK: Some staff proved more helpful than others. You may want to ask for auto directions from your evening staff member; if they don’t offer enough information, ask a different staffer in the morning

MISC: The front lobby area consistently had an odd gas-stove odor. Fortunately the smell didn’t go much beyond the entrance zone.
The hotel allows Siena university students use of the piano lounge upstairs. Stop by to listen and visit with these delightful kids if you get the chance. They’re a unique pleasure of a big university town like Siena.

SUMMARY: Palazzo Ravizza’s a big, funky place that nearly reaches its potential. Go if you like lots of space, aren’t too fussy, and have a car. Just make sure you know exactly where to drive that car.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ArtistJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We stayed at the Palazzo Ravizza for 5 nights in a spacious room and great bathroom with an incredible view of the country side. Unlike the previous reviewer, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and that was probably in response to us being friendly and enthusiastic about our stay. The breakfast was just adequate but with a day full of delicious gelati and pizza to choose from who cares! I think that it is worth remembering that this is a 3 star hotel so of course it is not as shiny as a 5 star but we found it charming. Great location, easy walk to everything, perfect for Siena.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank joolesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#5 of 40 in Siena
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental - Starhotels Collezione
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £78 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing